We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm and friendly but TINY room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este

Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly but TINY room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We spent four nights her while visiting our daughter over Christmas. We were welcomed warmly and taken up two narrowish flights of stairs to our room which looked north along the main street of the town.
The bed was comfortable, the bathroom excellent but the room was so small that it was quite hard to negotiate the bed - what it would have been like if we'd had skiing kit as well as ordinary day-to-day baggage I can't imagine.
The buffet breakfast was a bit expensive at 10 € but offered the works: boil-your-own eggs, cold meats and cheese plus the usual croissants, pain-au-chocolat and baguatte, all wonderfully fresh even on Christmas day.
All this was at the same price, even over the Christmas period, and nowhere seemed to be price-loaded because of the holidays.
Both our hosts speak English fluently and are very friendly. This is a nice small family hotel but . . . the bedrooms are small.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beaulieu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    21
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
10
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vercelli, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We reserved at the last moment, due a change in our holiday programme, just for one night, so we were not waiting for a special confort. In fact, the best quality of this old, but renewed hotel, is his position: in the very center of the village, just beside the church. Our room, located outside the building a few steps below, was small, but clean and very quite (the village does not offer a night life). Small bathroom, like the most of them in France. It is ok for a short staying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank isobicel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

The hotel is in the centre of the town, within easy walking distance of many restaurants and only five minutes walk from the ski lift. Our room, at the back overlooking the ravine and the mountain, was very comfortable, though storage space was a little tight. A good bathroom with a reasonable-sized bath. The breakfast was very good and the owners friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: St Gervais is a quiet town, but the hotel is in the centre so a room at the back will reduce the cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank broad6bean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

We spent New Year in St Gervais and really appreciated the Val d'Este's central location in the town. Our room was comfortable and had plenty of storage for all our ski gear, but overlooked the front of the hotel so sometimes we were disturbed by street noise. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hijean05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Andelys
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

We spent three days at the hotel which we enjoyed very much. our room was in an annexe at the back of the hotel and was very quiet. The bathroom was large and the bedroom quite a good size. I found my bed a bit sunken in the middle but slept very well; The breakfast was excellent with everything you could think of to eat and you ate it in a lovely room overlooking the street in the heart of the town. Wonderful walks from the hotel. Didn't touch the car at all during our stay. The public car park was free which is very unusual these days. The restaurant was extremely good and we ate very well.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxyNormandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

This was our first trip to this area and we were delighted with our choice of hotel which was in the centre of the village, so very convenient for bars, restaurants , shops, etc.. The Montinis could not have been more helpful and everything about the hotel was fine. We had a room at the back with wonderful views over the mountains - this was very comfortable and the en suite bathroom was large with constant hot water. The continental breakfast was amazing with so much choice which made it excellent value. This was a summer holiday and the area offers so many activities for this time of year as well as for winter sports. We look forward to returning to St. Gervais and the Hotel Val d'Este.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirby Hill, North Yorks
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Although we have visited St Gervais a number of times, this is the first time we have stayed at the Val D'Este and were delighted with this charming little hotel. Having read some of the other reviews, we felt compelled to give this hotel the praise it deserves and I honestly don't know how some of the other guests could rate this hotel so poorly. The hotel is located right in the centre of the small town of St Gervais & is within easy reach of everything. We booked directly with the hotel without any problem and the owners could not have been more helpful or accommodating.

We had a room at the back of the hotel with a beautiful view overlooking Mont Joly. The room was quiet, charming, spacious, warm and clean with plenty of hot water on tap - just what's required after a hard day's ski-ing!

Breakfast was a plentiful continental affair with lots of choice including ham, cheese, eggs, bread, crossiants & pastries, juice, coffee, tea etc and although it was extra - we knew this at the time of booking.

We met another group of guys ski-ing who have been coming back to this hotel for over 10 years, which tells you all you need to know about this place.

This little hotel belies its official rating and we'd have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and we're already looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Junkie063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Gervais-les-Bains hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
Hotel Liberty Mont Blanc
#7 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Regina
Le Regina
#3 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Ferme de Cupelin
La Ferme de Cupelin
#1 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
5.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Feline Blanche
La Feline Blanche
#4 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Val Joly
Le Val Joly
#11 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le Monte Bianco
Hotel Club mmv Saint-Gervais Le ...
#2 of 16 in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este

Property: Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este
Address: Place de l Eglise, 74170, Saint-Gervais-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Saint-Gervais-les-Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Val d'Este reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing