We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be coming again!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Aigle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel L'Aigle
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Valmeinier
Certificate of Excellence
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“We will be coming again!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here for the first time. 4 Nights. As a group of 6 we have skied together for over 25 years. This is one of the warmest and friendly places we have stayed. The staff team were enthusiastic and helpful, nothing seemed to much trouble. The food was really excellent, and dietary needs proved no problem and individual needs were well met.
A happy and relaxed stay with excellent service from a really nice team.
The hotel is perhaps in need of a bit of TLC, but the rooms are basic and clean. Location is great, right opposite the lift just over the road. Really nice village and we had a really good time here.
We have all said we will come again for a full week or maybe more, one of the really nice places to stay with a really welcoming feel to it.
If you want 5 star don't come here, but if you want, friendly, relaxed, happy and excellent food then this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Higher up for lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Paul B
,
Thank you very much for your great review!

Our staff work very hard to make sure your holiday is both enjoyable and memorable so your feedback is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    63
    15
    7
    16
See reviews for
67
22
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed for three nights and can't recommend it enough. Food, staff and location where great. Everyone was so helpful and friendly and the evening meals where excellent quality. A good we'll run hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Mark W,

Thank you very much for your 5 Star review!

It’s great to hear when our customers have enjoyed their holiday. Our in resort team work very hard to exceed customer expectations and really do appreciate your feedback.

We hope you consider Snowcoach for your next winter holiday.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

So kind, so genuine, none of this 'can I help you sir' with a false smile. Honestly it was like meeting up with the distant family that you haven't seen for a year.
PLUS POINTS
Highly motivated young staff, work as a great team
Staff member (different one each night & INCLUDED the hotel manager) sat at evening meal table to chat, share food/wine and serve our meal & give pointers to local activities.
Great food, variety each day.
Something arranged each night (sledging/bowling/games/fancy dress)
Tea and cakes at 4pm :-)
Great manager who is a genuine people person
Great location, cross road, up set of steps, on slopes/lift
Plenty of space to store/get changed for skiing
AREAS FOR IMPROVEMENT
Fix outdoor jacuzi
THATS IT!
Thanks for a great stay, loved it, great memories and my whole family are fully recharged.
Dec, Elaine, Jack & Lucy Dillon

Room Tip: All are standard skiing hotel rooms, basic, clean, but hey, on a skiing holiday you only sleep in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Declan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Declan D,

Thank you very much for your 5 Star Review!

The team in the L’aigle have continued to get great feedback and do whatever they can to make our customers stay enjoyable and memorable.

Regarding the Jacuzzi, this is getting fixed and will be in operation by the end of next week.

We hope to welcome you back sometime soon.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed there from 3rd Jan for 4 nights, 9th or 10th time I have stayed.
This year, lots of great things to say. New management team, by far the best I have experienced at the L'Aigle. Whole team was great but the manageress and assistant manager couldn't have been more helpful and werre hugely professional.
New chef again, excellent food. Had a great meal every night.
Excellent coach trip from Watford, the new coaches introduced last year are very comfortable and I am not a small person. The chalet has a wonderfully open lounge and is a great place to meet and mingle. There is a sauna, nice to use, but the hot tub was out of action again. In fact, the hot tub is the only thing IO could criticise on the 5 days spent there.
I really don't understand it when people are negative about this place. Great location, doorstep skiing in a great ski resort. Excellent value, and thats one of the reasons I keep going back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Frank W,

Thank you very much for your 5 Star review! It’s great to hear when our customers have enjoyed their holiday. Our in resort teamwork very hard to exceed customer expectations and really do appreciate your feedback.

The hot tub is an ongoing issue which the team are trying to resolve, an engineer has visited the hotel on several occasions but it seems the part needed is proving difficult to come by. Saying that, we have been advised that it will be fixed within the next few weeks – fingers crossed!

We look forward to welcoming you back for your 10th or 11th visit.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Valmeinier. Snowcoach. Hotel L'Aigle. It's simple. It's basic. Thus many things depend on the attitude of the Snowcoach staff.

So this year, 3rd January; a smooth drive out, 2 good drivers. 12 hours on a coach; love it or hate it, the drivers make the journey.

At the hotel, some new ski kit! I hired brand new unused skiis and was on the hill by 10.30. 5 full days skiing for just 4 nights accomodation. That's the advantage of the overnight coach. Unfortunately my time constraints meant a short break only for me this year out of the 8 times I've used Snowcoach and L'Aigle in previous years, usually managing 8 full days skiing for a weeks holiday.

But what made my break so good this year?- the staff team at the hotel! Led by manager Adeline and assistant manager Josh, the crew this year were working flat out to make the Snowcoach experience the fun, value for money, basically comfortable skiing holiday experience that Snowcoach epitomises.

Some years the staff had been dire. I know; I was there.

But this year with this particularly brilliant team at the hotel, you can't go wrong. Grab a break at L'Aigle while you still can.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingvisit0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear FlyingVisit0r,

Thank you very much for your positive review!

Our team at the L’aigle have been working very hard to give our customers the best experience possible after a very busy start to the season. They have since continued to receive positive feedback through questionnaires and hotel reviews.

We hope that you will consider Snowcoach again for your next winter break.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Just returned from Valmeinier last week, coach journey both ways excellent. Have travelled with Snowcoach since 2009. Staff were helpful and attentive, food was great all week. Plenty of snow. If you want a bargain budget ski holiday, book with Snowcoach!!
Geoff McLain (Southampton)

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Geoff M,

Thank you so much for your positive review, it’s great to hear praise for the Company and for the team at the Hotel L’aigle.

We hope that you will consider Snowcoach again in the future.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Or so it would seem from the mixed reviews… but personally I love it!
We have travelled 4 times with Snowcoach now, three being short breaks, where for a very low cost for 4 night’s accommodation and coach transport you can get 5 days of skiing which, if you ski hard, is plenty for most people. The main benefit for me is once I have put my luggage and ski equipment on the coach (no extra cost for either) I can relax without having to worry about plane delays, will the luggage go missing, will the transfer arrive… and all the same things for the return journey. The hotels are a little tired maybe, but the meals are good even if no real choice in the evening (4 courses though) with the hot drinks and cakes after skiing very welcome. And plenty of free wine too! The staff have always been friendly and willing to assist. This year at Valmeinier it was annoying to have no internet but I’m sure that is fixed now, but one thing Snowcoach do need to sort out is the availability of the hot tub (which was not working both this year and last year at Val Cenis).
At the end of the day those are minor gripes, it is the easy access to the skiing at Valmeinier that scores for me along with very reasonable prices. As for the journey, I slept fairly well on the journey over and coming back, with just 17 on the coach, I grabbed the back seat and had a very good sleep having had a hard day on the slopes. See you next year… maybe back at Val Cenis!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnowcoachVMR1976, Manager at Hotel L'Aigle, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Colin C,

Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased to hear when our customers have enjoyed their holiday.

Please accept our apologies for the facilities that were out of use during your stay. We are pleased to advise that the internet is now working and we are awaiting an engineer to return the hotel with the part needed to fix the hot tub. Unfortunately due to the location of the hotel, a suitable engineer has been difficult to find!

We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Regards,

Snowcoach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmeinier
0.3 mi away
Residence Les Hauts de Valmeinier
0.4 mi away
Residence Odalys Le Grand Panorama I
0.0 mi away
Residence Odalys Les Lumieres de Neige
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Les Chalets du Galibier
Les Chalets du Galibier
#9 of 14 in Valloire
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Le Cret Rond
Hotel Le Cret Rond
#3 of 14 in Valloire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Beausoleil
Hotel Beausoleil
#3 of 4 in Fontcouverte-la-Toussuire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Aigle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Aigle

Property: Hotel L'Aigle
Address: Valmeinier 1800, 73450 Valmeinier, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Valmeinier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Valmeinier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel L'Aigle 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel L'Aigle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Aigle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing