We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Club Med Valmorel: Where the mountains mean happiness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Club Med Valmorel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Valmorel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Valmorel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ronse, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Club Med Valmorel: Where the mountains mean happiness.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

At Club Med Valmorel, I had the chance to experience the benefits of an all-inclusive Club Med holiday in combination with the fantastic setting of this Club high in the mountains in the Tarentaise.

The food is excellent with a broad choice of dishes in the morning, at noon, and at night at the buffet. Without extra charges, you can even book a place in one of the other restaurants to eat 'a la carte'.

The new rooms are very clean, luxurious and peaceful. The beds are superb to sleep in after a full day of snowboarding and a drink at the bar...

The resort, with bar, lounge, spa and swimming pool etc is modern, with a friendly staff (as in all the other Club Med resorts) who are willing to help you whenever you are in need of something.

The ski area of Valmorel is beautiful with pistes for everyone: from green and blue to black and the most fantastic off-track routes through pieces of forests, along cliffs and through the softest snow in the shining sun...
The monitors of ESF speak multiple languages, are very friendly and listen to what people want to learn and do, instead of doing the same old things every day again. They know the area like their own pocket, and take you wherever you want, in a safe way (e.g. they may equip you with avalanche-beepers when going off-track to find you when surprised by an avalanche).

In one word, this holiday was GREAT!
I strongly advice this all-inclusive holiday to everybody! Young or old, with friends or family, with or without children, this Club Med as well will be perfect for you too.

Room Tip: If you have children, ask for a room with a view on the practice area where the childeren are taking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pieter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    440
    139
    58
    22
See reviews for
1,110
152
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Club Med Valmorel is a brand new resort (opened mid-December 2011). Our first impression of the hotel was that it's just huge! About 1100 people can stay here, which makes it sometimes more like a big factory than the cozy relaxing place they are promoting.
However the hotel has just opened it looked somehow a bit teared down: carpets where not clean, fingerprints all over the elevator,... Also our room had stains on the carpet, scratches on the doors and furniture, a lot of dust on the baseboards, ...
We stayed in a deluxe room which was spacious (from a european viewpoint) and nicely decorated.
The deluxe room has a king size bed, but the mattresses (2 singles put together) and pillows are just a tad too hard. Also the dry air in the room makes it hard to breath and sleep well through the night. They should work out a system to humidify the air that's coming in the room through the ventilation system.
There is wifi internet access in the rooms but the hotel will charge you 20 euros and the connection is very slow when everyone returns from the slopes, so forget about checking any websites with more than text, it just won't work.
The staff, gentils organisateurs as they are called in Club Med, is very friendly and helpful. They are all working hard to make your stay comfortable. There are buffet restaurants with a big varitey of dishes (theoretically it's just one restaurant but with 4 different seating rooms) and an à-la-carte restaurant. Although we expected something more of the food in a luxurious resort as Club Med we where not satisfied with the meals they offered. Often the food was cold, overcooked or still raw, and tasteless. For example: they serve pasta: but you'll make a better pasta at home in 10 minutes, they serve pizza but any pizza place has slices that taste better than the ones we tasted, they'll offered sushi but we didn't taste the fish; it just had no taste at all, onion soup looked nice but tasted just plain salty, and we can go on and on... This was also the case in the à-la-carte restaurant where the food wasn't that spectacular. However it's nicer to sit than the buffet restaurants, certainly during the evening when you can try specialties like cheese fondue or grilling your meat on a plate that's put on your table. The red house wine is good, as well as the cocktails in the bar when you pick the right waiter. For the à-la-carte/specialty restaurant don't forget to make a reservation at the (understaffed) reception desk. They should really find another solution for this because you'll be in line for a long time.
For every room there is a locker located in the basement to store your skiing gear.
The location is great! The hotel is situated a little bit higher up the mountain than the Valmorel village: one step outside and you're on the slope. From the swimming pool you have a nice view of people coming down the hill. Also there is a free shuttle service every 30 minutes that takes you to the village of Valmorel if you want to escape the hotel for a while. Tip: In the village you have several shops that will rent you your skis or snowboard at a much cheaper price tag than in the hotel.
After all it was well worth the experience but we have the feeling that for the price Club Med charges the food should be a lot better . Also they should really take more care of general cleanliness: e.g. vacuuming the carpets.
We would recommend this place to families with kids who don't want to worry about meals, drinks, skiing lessons, etc. because it's all included in the price. Of course a carefree holiday like this, has its price tag!
If you are looking for a a more sophisticated approach to food or even a simple but perfect pasta dish or slice of pizza you might want to stay somewhere else and have lunch and dinner in small restaurants in town; however we're afraid you won't have that many good options in Valmorel if you stay more than 5 days.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dondidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

• Perfect location with direct access to several slopes.
• Nicely designed, spacious rooms.
• Very friendly personel.
• Good and decently equipped stock of skying material.
• Good food. Plenty of room in the several restaurants (note: we visited off season)
• The whole resort is equipped with RFiD technology (room & locker keys). The locker keys malfunction from time to time but that of course is not entirely Club Med's liability.

Ideal resort to visit with kids.
• A lot of activities and accommodations for kids.
• I wouldn't recommend the resort for people without kids. But with kids it's great.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grapplica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We just came back from a week vacation in Club Med Valmorel.We had one of the worst experiences of our lives.We were 3 families travelling together,6 children in total.All our children and also numerous other children got sick,mainly diarrehea and throwing up.We had a doctor in our group.He thinks that this was an epidemic most probably from the tap water we drank which were in pitchers on the tables during breakfast,lunch and dinner.We told this to chef de village when leaving and they just didn't accept,didn't even want to have it checked.He knew so well what was going on in the village the whole week.We suffered the whole week from the sickness of the kids.This was the worst part of it but not the whole thing.
Moreover,we couldn't eat any kind of delicious meat in a country like France which is famous for its meat.It was impossible to chew and swallow the meat.We were sick and tired of seeing shrimps.The only tasty thing was the pizza.During breakfast there was only ONE kind of cheese again in a country which is also famous for its cheese.
The housekeeping did a very bad job.We had to warn them couple of times to clean our room.We ran out of shampoo and stuff and they didn't replace it.One day one of our friend's child was throwing up in the room and he asked extra towels from them and asked them to clean the room and they never did.
One of our friend and his throwing up son was stuck in the elevator for 45 minutes.....
We needed a babysitter.A lady in the reception gave us a piece of paper( everything's in French )with the list of the babysitters they work with and some information about them.She wasn't helpful at all.She was very cold and was not sympathetic at all.We had to choose from an unknown as we didn't know and French.We tried two of them.They didn't even try to communicate or contact with our 1.5 year old,just stood there.Yes,she(our little one) didn't understand their language and they didn't know hers but still,they were just standing there not trying to have any kind of a relationship with her.
The rooms are not spacious.Last year we were in Passey Vallandry Club Med.We had a connecting room there also.The rooms were much more spacious.
It was not easy to adjust the hotness of the water when taking a shower.It was either too cold or too hot.
Our kids attended ski school ESF.At the end of one week they asked 10 EUR to give maddellions to the kids!!!!!
This is not our first time in Club Med and not our first time in France skiing,but we are so sure that it's our LAST time in Club Med Valmorel.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
15 Thank MelanO g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Very nice ski place with wanderful employees,great club chef, thank you club me valmorel, really great for families

Room Tip: no doubt to stay in here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Necdet298006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul, turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We've just come back from a 1 week ski vacation at the Club Med, Valmorel and it was great! The hotel has been newly opened this year so all the rooms, the restaurants, the lobby and the children play rooms were all brand new, very nicely decorated and very modern. The staff was also very entartaining, helpful and nice. I can tottaly recommend the massages at the Carita Spa located next to the ski room. At nights there were amazing shows both for the kids and the adults. The food served at the breakfast, lunch and the dinner were all very delicious also the free coctails in the bar were also so good. I was sorry that we didn't bring our 1.5 year old daughter to this place because there were so many babies at the Baby Club Med while their parents were skiing. My sister brought her 6 and 8 year old sons and they never wanted to spend time with us all day long because they were having so much fun with the Mini Club Med and they performed us a great show at the last day. And we were able to ski happily all day long without thinking about the kids...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sevinc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Club Med Valmorel was our first all-in ski experience. And I must say, I have mixed feelings about it, but that's mainly because I'm not a fan of the structured, perfectly organized holidays.
But, if you are the exact opposite of that, Club Med Valmorel is magnificent. Great variety of good food, from sushi to pizza.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean with high standards of perfection.
Outside the Club Med Valmorel, there's not much to do (in January). The hotel is at te top of the village and the only way to go to the village is skiing or by bus. So, If you love to ski without having to worry about food, this Club Med is perfect for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frederik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmorel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Bourg
Hotel du Bourg
#2 of 11 in Valmorel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet du Crey
Hotel Chalet du Crey
#8 of 11 in Valmorel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Clarines
Hotel Les Clarines
#3 of 4 in La Lechere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
#1 of 4 in La Lechere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
5.9 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Valmorel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Valmorel

Property: Club Med Valmorel
Address: Hameau du Bois de la Croix, 73260 Valmorel, Les Avanchers-Valmorel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Avanchers-Valmorel > Valmorel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Valmorel
#1 Spa Hotel in Valmorel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Valmorel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Valmorel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Valmorel Hotel Valmorel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing