We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tous les bonheurs du monde”
Review of Club Med Valmorel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Valmorel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Valmorel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tous les bonheurs du monde”
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We are still so impressed by David Meyer and his team's performance. What a commitment, dedication, creativity, attention to details, I am not going to name anyone of you because I have so much respect for all of you but you guys are such great professionals that you made of our stay a really great moment of happiness.
Club Med itself:
Beautiful infrastructures, brand new and modern furniture, be it in the lobby or in the rooms, 4 restaurants, plus the specialties restaurant decorated with such a style, plenty of couches, sofas, tables near the bar, fireplaces, cosy lounges all around the lobby, terraces with view on the slope that takes you back to the Club, smoking area with heating above, very bright, a dedicated space for teens, nespresso and Kusmi tea areas in the lobby. One word: absolutely perfect.
Accommodation (chambre club):
Modern, clean, cleaning staff so committed and dedicated, spotless bathroom, by the way modern and elegant as well, comfy and large bed, large wardrobe. View on the mountains, and a balcony.
Ski facilities:
Big ski room, modern lockers, heating stuff for ski shoes, ski materials very performant, you can even rent gopros for 25€ a day...
ESF: great work as always - thank you so much to our teacher Cyril Murat for what he made us discover, for having helped me improve my skills so much, for his wonderful patience.
Slopes are great, you can always find the slopes were the sun is, a lot of places where to ski, and we were fortunate enough we had a beautiful January snow.
Entertainment:
Amazing. Quality of the shows was so good! So many choices, so many things to do for anyone.
Bar: great as always. Personnalised service, bar tenders would always recognize you and anticipate your order with one of those big smiles that makes it all.
Swimming pool and jacuzzi: very nice, swimming pool area cold indeed but definitely bearable, we were there in low season so no queue for the outside jacuzzi.
SPA: definitely Carita. Spa therapeutes really great, prices definitely reasonnable for great quality.
Hairdresser: fantastic. I have to say it, she makes a hell of a great job, such a professional young lady. Have no hesitation to make an appointment.
Wifi: yes it is charged 20€ a week for 4 items - definitely works in the lobby, worked also in our room, but that was Not the case for our friends. It was not as fast as at home but it was ok and not worth complaining. The only thing that bugged us is that you need to reconnect each time you finish using it, but that was ok.
Dining:
Spectacular. We know Club Med and it definitely is the type of food we really like so it made our stay. Foie gras poêlé, raclette, blanquette de veau, salmon, tuna tartares, carpaccio, beef Wellington, cote de boeuf, roasted lamb, roasted chicken, oysters, so many sauces, so many desserts, somptuous breakfast as always, just to give a picture. Great great great cookers, what a job, you guys really are awesome!
Check in:
Very efficient, quick, your luggages will be taken in charge as soon as you get out of your car, you will be shown the place and you will be ready to unpack in your room.
Check out:
Same, Quick, efficient. We regret only we didnt get the big send off we are used to with other Clubs while leaving but we had it the night before with a spectacular show, the fountain of champagne, great speech from David and an unforgettable moment at the Night.

Merci, merci, merci Valmorel 2013, vous êtes magiques!!!

Go for it, you will be so happy there!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sramiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    440
    140
    58
    22
See reviews for
1,113
153
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I write this review the evening of our departure from Club Med Valmorel and whilst trying to be objective, it's difficult when our family (myself, my husband and our 2 year old son) have been ill for nearly 48 hours with a very serious stomach bug.
We are one family amongst many that we heard about being ill who stayed at the same time as us and who knows to what it can be attributed… food poisoning, unclean water (many opinions) or someone who brought a bug to the hotel the same week we were there.
We lost the last 2 days of skiing, had a worrying evening with a sick 2 year old and walked in a corridor that smelt of vomit - something was obviously not right.
The room was very small - especially as we had a cot in ours and if you've done your homework you'll know this isn't a cheap holiday…
However, the childcare was exceptional and the staff, both in the creche and throughout the hotel, are very friendly and do their best to help.
It is organised chaos throughout - the staff know what they're doing but with hundreds of people it is a little like a school ski trip - full of screaming children and pure madness throughout (to which our 2 year contributed obviously). Do not book here if you do not have children - I cannot imagine anything worse than this continuous noise in the main area and restaurants if we didn't have our own.
The skiing was brilliant and the location of the hotel absolutely great - real ski in - ski out - the slopes were all easy, wide and covered with wonderful snow.
The village of Valmorel is so pretty and it's definitely a place we would return to - however, after talking to the tourist office we can rent a 2 bedroom apartment at the ski lifts, pay for the ski pass, the ski hire and eat out every night for the same price as staying in a very cramped bedroom with no coffee making facilities, room service or any other luxury that I would've expected for that sort of price. It is a very basic hotel with amazing childcare services during the day!! (The evening is a bit useless - babysitters from a list that you phone yourself - not what we expected at all although we found a really nice lady from the town who I can give you the details if you want! :-))

So to sum up… we wouldn't return to Club Med because when we go skiing (and we've been to many different ski resorts in 4 countries so we know what we like) it's as far from a true ski holiday as you can get - no sitting round a warm fire, no cosy little meals in gorgeous restaurants, no drinking hot chocolate in peace when you come in cold from a day's skiing, just a hoard of people on a continuous conveyor belt of eating, skiing and sleeping - there is no true culture here at all BUT… if you want an easy ski holiday where you drop the kids in good hands in the morning and know they'll be safe and looked after, if you want easy ski in and ski out, if you want everything to be taken care of and the food and atmosphere don't bother you then this is for you.

(P.S. the swimming pool is freezing - turn up the heating!!)

Good skiing!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Faye d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

Fantastic holiday destination!
Good points : Beautiful setting, scenery and hotel. Really great staff. Superb ski service. Excellent quality and variety of food.
Bad points : Rooms very noisy. No place for adults to eat. Evening entertainment very poor. General areas taken over by kids.
My suggestion to management - provide an area for adults to eat. Catering for children is great, but Club Med seems to forget the adults.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelGSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Been to Valmorel during Jan. 2013. In general had a great time (but I always have a great time when skiing)

The hotel is beautiful! loved the design. Rooms are great (quite comfortable for a club room). The food was really good, almost never had to wait in line, great variety, good quality and the chefs are more than willing to make you smt. special (had a fussy eater in our group).

The ski is great but esp. for beginners to medium skiers. A very poor variety of challenging slopes. The ski locker at the club is great (opened by your room key) however, unlike other clubs, this time the sticks where you hang the shoes on do not warm the ski boots which means you put your foot into a semi-wet ski boot in the afternoon.

This is not my first visit to a family-club but this time around the club is esp. suited for kids which is kinda sucks for the adults without kids. My main complaint in terms of entertainment is that most of the nights there's some kind of kids-activity (kids show) at 8 PM (right after dinner) and the club's show starts at 9.15 PM in other clubs the kids show is usually earlier which means you don't have to be bored/suffer the noise after dinner. most of the times we preferred going back to our rooms. Moreover it seems the party after the show is aimed for the club staff instead of the guests. To conclude- evenings are really not the highlight and that's from someone who usually enjoys the club med evening and dancing is a big part of the ski vacation for me.

David the Chef-de-Village was great, listening to the guests and trying to make them happy.

In conclusion- In spite of the luxury we would probably not go back there any time soon but go to another club with bigger slopes and more adults entertainment in the evenings

Room Tip: If you're a hard-core skier and without any children in the group- choose another club
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayalel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
429 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

This is our second year with Club Med Valmorel. The service is again seamless, good food and we are happy that we have good snow. If you like a nice and easy resort with children, it is definitely the place. If you like places like Courchevel where it matters to see and to be seen then I would recommend another resort or location.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FiddlingTravelNotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
113 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Cannot believe that my holiday is over! I have had a fabulous stay at this Clubmed. On arrival we were welcomed and all our rooms were ready. Our deluxe room had all the bells and whistles, bed was sooooo comfortable and we had a lovely view of the slopes. The dining rooms are beautiful and the meals fit for a King! Thank you to the chef David!
Our 5 days if skiing were excellent, able to ski in and put from the club. Our ski instructor Chantal was just what we ordered, patience and with a great sense of humour - nothing was too much trouble! The choice of slopes is never ending - something for all level skiers!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbyJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Very nice resort, located right in the middle of the skiing area (ski-in and out), with a special attention to families (and kids). Hotel is quite new and rooms are very functional and well planned. Food is great for an all-included hotel. When it comes to skiing: nice slopes, for all levels and tastes and no ski-lift lines (at least in January) . Ski classes are intense and helps you to explore the whole mountain. Depending on your level they'll take you to a different sector/track every single class.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerCris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valmorel
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Bourg
Hotel du Bourg
#2 of 11 in Valmorel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Chalet du Crey
Hotel Chalet du Crey
#8 of 11 in Valmorel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
8.6 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hotel Les Clarines
Hotel Les Clarines
#3 of 4 in La Lechere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.6 mi away
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
Radiana Hotel La Lechere
#1 of 4 in La Lechere
3.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
5.9 mi away
Residence Villa Eureca
Residence Villa Eureca
#9 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Valmorel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Valmorel

Property: Club Med Valmorel
Address: Hameau du Bois de la Croix, 73260 Valmorel, Les Avanchers-Valmorel, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Avanchers-Valmorel > Valmorel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Valmorel
#1 Green Hotel in Valmorel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Valmorel 4*
Also Known As:
Club Med Valmorel Hotel Valmorel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing