We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Gorlitz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The service level of the staff was very good, helpful and friendly. The room was a bit outdated, but then you are staying in a centuries old building, so relatively speaking I didn't matter to me much. Breakfast was good, there was a small general living room with some couches on the 2nd floor, which I loved to sit in. The hotel has a parking nearby, just outside the old town, with wide spaces, and it is secured by a door, a big plus. The location of the hotel itself is in the middle of the old town of Gorlitz.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

This is a beautiful hotel with a decent single room, which is often a bit of touch and go, especially when the hotel is more or less full. The bathroom was a bit old fashioned with a bit of a tight shower but since I am not a very big person it was just fine. Breakfast is sumptuous and the service very personal. When I stayed there it snowed but there is a very nice lounge on the first floor so it really didn't matter much, as I could go there and read a book before going to dinner.
Görlitz is definitely worth a detour -- very beautiful little town and right on the Pilish border so ideal if on one's way to Breslau or as a small trip from Dresden.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laleh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Found the top level restaurant with the German Schlemmer-Atlas App and loved it. Best lunch ever. Still mouth watering even after 4 days. A must go in Görlitz if you love food. Unfortunately we only had a main course for lunch.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Holger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We decided at the last minute to stay at Gorlitz on our drive through Germany, This hotel is in two 16th century houses and is very cool. We had a big room with a sitting area, good bed and nice bathroom. We had some drinks at their cute, but small, bar and ate dinner in their restaurant. Great service and great food. Then we decided to check out their spa. Unbelievable! Thier spa is a huge area in the basement with changing rooms, showers, sauna, and steamroom. Then, up the stairs , they have a whirlpool tub in an enclosed room in the back yard. And it is an all nude area! This place was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 75Mark456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Tuchmacher has been our preferred hotel in Görlitz several times now.
We stayed twice there within a very short time and had partially a very different experience. The first stay was a really pleasent one, including a nice dinner and a good nights sleep even though the room was facing the street (the street is really very quite, so that is never a problem) - the room was number 204. The second stay was very different. According to the online availability only available rooms were the larger, and slightly more expensive ones. We ended up trying two of them. Here´s why. The first room was located in a weird part of the hotel, you first go up at least two flights of stairs, then down two (no other way to reasch the room). The room (#411, really a well equipped,pretty room) was right on top of the restaurant kitchen. The kitchen fans were running so loud, that is was almost as is a large truck stood outside with its engine running. We contacted the reception and asked for another room. We got offered a room in their "second house" two doors down the street with a comment, "that is a really quiet room, facing the courtyard". The room (#501 equally pretty) was sharing a wall with the restaurant kitchen but from the other side. The exactly same noise and problem as the previous one. These rooms should never be offered in this price category unless something is done to soundproof the rooms or to make the kitchen fans a lot more quiet. There is no way you can sleep - without earplugs - until the kitchen is closed at 2300 (that is assuming the fans are switched off immediately then). The receptionist apologized but never even hinted there would be a chance to reduce the rate from 128€.

Room Tip: Far away from the Kitchen ( room #204 was perfect for us ).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoolHuh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Tuchmacher was a very nice hotel with very attentive service. The rooms were large and the staff was very helpful with local information. It is perfectly located and only a few blocks from the main tourist sites. The breakfast was well appointed and fresh. We did not eat at the restaurant or use the spa. After taking a walk down to the spa, though, we realized how much of a big mistake it was. The spa looked fantastic and would have been very relaxing. The gym was well equipped too with all new equipment. Next time..... I only gave this 4 stars instead of 5 because I am not a fan of two single beds combined to make a queen bed. But that is pretty common in Europe.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Located in the old part of Görlitz, this series of adjacent patrician houses dating from the 16th century have been tastefully restored and renovated to form the Hotel Tuchmacher (which the good hotel signposting provided by the city helps locate easily). Luggage can be offloaded at the main entrance and there is secure car parking close by.

The rooms are generously sized, harmoniously styled and impeccably furnished and provide all modern comforts (including internet). Views are limited (but who cares if asleep?) and the rooms at the back face onto some nostalgiac GDR council housing (which the double curtains at the window encourage to ignore).

The restaurant deserves a special mention and offers dining quality and choice in a pleasing and style-correct ambiente - and, at staggeringly reasonable prices.

The staff are extremely welcoming and friendly - and the owners visible.
Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gorlitz hotels
0.5 mi away
Parkhotel Gorlitz
Parkhotel Gorlitz
#1 of 18 in Gorlitz
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Via Regia
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schwibbogen Gorlitz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Silesia
Hotel Silesia
#9 of 18 in Gorlitz
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Italia Gorlitz Altstadthaus
0.4 mi away
AKZENT Stadthotel "Am Goldenen Strauss"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher

Address: Peterstr. 8, 02826, Gorlitz, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Gorlitz
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Gorlitz
Price Range: £88 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Romantik Hotel Tuchmacher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing