We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4 not deserved stars hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pfalzhotel Asselheim
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grunstadt
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“4 not deserved stars hotel”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

From a 4 star hotel you don't expect the world but you have some expectations. Well, then don't expect those here. Although the rooms are relatively nice, we had a junior suite, they look boring.
The problem is that they are not well designed. For example to get into the shower you have to be slim, otherwise you can't shut the door.
The worst aspect though is the general unfriendliness. Nobody greets or smiles at you. One day we entered the hotel and the three people at the small front desk not even bothered to say good day! Also, although in the end of September it was chilly at night, there was no heating. When we asked we were told that a mysterious Hausmeister would fix it but this never happened.
The general feeling is that they don't look at you as a customer or the management is really not trained.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    32
    23
    14
    4
See reviews for
9
45
7
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

My mum and I had a fantastic stay over the May bank holiday weekend. The room was spacious, staff friendly and thankfully spoke English as my German is non-existent! The food was superb, very high standard and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Prices were very reasonable too. The location is a little remote so you do need a car to get around but that was fine, we were visiting Carlaberg so it was a great base. I would certainly recommend this hotel and hope I have opportunity to stay again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Better_than_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff, good restaurant.

We stayed in the main hotel which was nicely renovated, rooms looked pretty new.
All staff we interacted with were very friendly and supportive.
Food served comes with a very strong "German" flavor.

Location is a bit remote from main cities, not so easy to find without navigation system.

Hotel was announced as "wellness" hotel. Wellness area is not up to a 4 star hotel. Many compromises, limitted space available, no privacy.

Pool is in a separate part of the building, not very accomodating. Space there might have been better used for a fitness area.

Room can not be darkened at night time, 7 am the night was over.

We were meant to pay a "cleaning fee" for Spa towels which was only taken off the bill on our complaint.

Different extra charges made our stay more expensive as originally planed.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weltenbummler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We booked this as we were travelling to Bad Durkheim for the wine festival and rooms there were full. We reserved through booking.com. We found it hard to find at first as our room was in a bulding on the other side of the little village. We had been searching by the postcode we were given for the room not the main hotel, so be warned. The parking was good, the hotel staff pleasant and friendly and spoke good english. Our room was very basic and in need of modernisation, I dont know what the rooms in the main building are like but where we stayed it would be awkward for people who arent mobile to travel back to the hotel for breakfast. The breakfast in the main building was buffet style, plentiful, fresh and delicious. Their is a train stop 5 mins walk from the hotel to take you to Bad Durkheim. The walk into Asselheim is approx 15mins. Some beautiful surrounding villages nearby. I would probably not stay here again, the room was clean and quiet but believe I could find better elsewhere. I felt it was used for coach parties in the main building and we had been placed "out of the way"?

Room Tip: the main building has to be better, but I didnt actually see them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oubliante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2007

I found this hotel by using the MIchelin Guide which gave it a good recommendation. While traveling through the region, I called the hotel and asked if they had availability which they did and they were very helpful on the phone and also were willing to speak English which sometimes is kind of rare in Germany.

Upon arrival parking looked like it could be a bit of a problem. The parking is across the street from the hotel and was already quite full. However there was a spot available.

The elevator to the rooms is very European, not a large elevator, but more than good enough for me and the other person I was traveling with and our luggage.

The staff was very courteous upon checkin and the process went very quickly.

One thing about Europe is that when you arrive late sometimes you would not be able to have dinner because the restaurants tend to close quite early, but there was an ample buffet and this was no problem.

Overall the hotel was very nice, very nice bedroom and bathroom and very good impression overall. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank arubashome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grunstadt
11.6 mi away
Kaisergarten Hotel & Spa Deidesheim
3.9 mi away
Hotel Cafe Kempf
Hotel Cafe Kempf
#1 of 1 in Dirmstein
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kurpark-Hotel Bad Duerkheim
Kurpark-Hotel Bad Duerkheim
#3 of 8 in Bad Durkheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Gartenhotel Heusser
Gartenhotel Heusser
#2 of 8 in Bad Durkheim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.7 mi away
Halbersbacher. Hotel Annaberg
Halbersbacher. Hotel Annaberg
#5 of 8 in Bad Durkheim
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
9.3 mi away
CCL Asgard Hotel Worms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pfalzhotel Asselheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pfalzhotel Asselheim

Property: Pfalzhotel Asselheim
Address: Holzweg 6 - 8, 67269 Grunstadt, Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Region: Germany > Rhineland-Palatinate > Grunstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grunstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pfalzhotel Asselheim 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Pfalzhotel Asselheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing