We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly and beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Glottertal
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pet friendly and beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Wonderful hotel in beautiful area with great food. They even accepted our 33 kilo golden doodle and were extremely convent to getting to anywhere in the area. Wonderful hikes close by. would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All had balconies but back side was quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripAdvisonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    27
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
26
1
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset in Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had searched for a hotel in Freiburg which was not the easiest of things todo so we headed just a short way out into the countryside and came across the lovely village of Glottertal and in this village we found a gem, the Hotel Goldener Engel
This Hotel was a real find situated in beautiful wine growing valley with fantastic walking areas within easy reach, it was a beautiful building dating back to 1500's. The room we stayed in was exquisite,clean and spacious, with a large comfy bed and a balcony over looked by a grand old church (the bells were not a problem to us they stopped at 10.00 pm)
The food was delightful and very generouse portions, you could eat outside under the trees at night if the weather was good, "as it was in our case"or in the lovely dinning room area,where a big breakfast was served in the morning (fried on Sunday morning if requested)
The staff were great, spoke good English and attended to our every need. With all these great features and the fact the area that was so close at hand to this hotel was so picturesque and the waking so good we stayed longer than we anticipated and thoroughly enjoyed out elongated stay in one of the best hotels around

Room Tip: I could not imagine there was a bad room in the place. The rooms at the front were close to the chu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed at this place again this year and it was another wonderful experience! The hotel is clean and allows pets. The rooms are bright and cheery! The staff is very friendly, helpful and courteous! I like staying here because the beds are comfortable nd it is a convenient location for the Black Forest (Schwarzwald) from Tittisee to Freiburg on either side!

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms with a balcony. It is a small hotel but is well kept. I travel mostly by myself...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_one111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

This hotel is easy to find, driving through two lovely towns, and has parking right in front of the building. There is a little stable behind the the hotel with horses that patiently posed so I could take photos of them.

When we arrived, there was nobody at the front desk so we were a little unsure but wandered until we found somebody in the dining area who, although she didn't speak much English, checked us in and showed us to our room. The room was very clean and we loved the doors that opened onto a small balcony so you could see down the street. I took quite a few photos out of that balcony!

Everything went well until I dozed off before dinner and shot up in the air when the bells went off right outside of our window - the church is right behind the parking lot, which our room faced and when they go off, they are loud. They don't go off during the night but start up again in the morning. The only other con was the lack of internet - it said there was a hotspot near the front desk and you had to be literally on the desk for it to come through.

The breakfast was decent but we had many better breakfasts throughout Germany.

I would probably stay there again, as long as it wasn't for a long time because I think the bells would get on my nerves.

We checked out the restaurant across the street but it was very pricey (as were the others that were open - we visited out-of-season) and choose the Italian/pizza place across from the garden center, which was great! It was not very expensive, had wonderful gelato, was full of locals, and the owner, who spoke many languages, came over to chat with us. It was called Pizza de Balbina and comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: On the opposite side of the church, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preppygurl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were touring the Black Forest and originally we wanted to stay at Freiburg but because we could not get any rooms, we decided to stay here instead. As it turns out, this place was so charming and we spent so much time there that we ended up not going to Freiburg. The hotel is very pretty, has comfortable beds, good service, good shower and is located near orchards and farmlands good for walks. We ate at the restaurant in this hotel and food was generally good, although a bit pricey. The hotel is right next to a church and the bells ring every 15 minutes starting from 6am. I found it rather charming, but if bells bother you, then maybe this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I recommend staying at this hotel if you have business in Freiburg or if you want a nice weekend get away. The hotel staff are incredibly friendly and nice! The rooms are clean, the shower is excellent and the double pane windows keep out the noise from the road which is directly in front of the hotel. I have stayed in two different rooms on opposite sides of the hotel and they were both very quiet! I have traveled here for business in Freiburg (a ten minute drive). I recommend it as a nice romantic (inexpensive) place to stay in the Black Forest region of Bavaria. The food in the restaurant is Excellent (I highly recommend the steak). Everything that has been served to me in my opinion is at least 2.5 stars and possibly 3 on the Michelin rating scale! The head chef will go out of his way to provide you with an excellent meal. Springtime in this area is absolutely gorgeous and the strawberries from the region are wonderful.

Room Tip: If you like sun in the morning pick the East side if you like it in the afternoon pick the West side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard_one111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
275 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The inn was built in 1520. It is on the main road but our room was on the back and had thick windows so no problem. The room was simple but fairly spacious, with no elevator but they helped with the luggage. Good shower. The restaurant was closed that night but the one across the street, the Herchen, was wonderful. The Engler breakfast was terrific and the dining room is very charming. Service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glottertal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Schwarzenberg
Hotel Schwarzenberg
#1 of 12 in Glottertal
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Silence Hotel Hirschen
Silence Hotel Hirschen
#4 of 12 in Glottertal
48 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Laube
Hotel Laube
#10 of 12 in Glottertal
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Schwarzwaldgasthof Hotel Schlossmuhle
0.6 mi away
Landidyll Hotel Zum Kreuz
Landidyll Hotel Zum Kreuz
#2 of 12 in Glottertal
62 reviews
0.6 mi away
Minotel Tobererhof
Minotel Tobererhof
#5 of 12 in Glottertal
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel

Property: Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel
Address: Friedhofweg 2, 79286 Glottertal, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Glottertal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Glottertal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Schwarzwaldgasthof Zum goldenen Engel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing