We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After refurbishment it is much better”
Review of Hotel Strauss

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Strauss
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hof
Reviewed 22 March 2014

They have done an excellent work with refurbishment of rest rooms. Also TVs are renewed. Strauss is the place to stay in Hof with very good value. I stay at this place at least once a year and they never let me down so far.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumerzeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

The hotel is old, but renovated. The rooms are rather different. Out room was very dark, with creaking floor. So there is no chance of going to the bathroom at night without waking up your roommate :) the bathroom was really spaceous and modern. The location is perfect, 2min walk from the old town. The buffet breakfast is poor. If you are one of the first early birds at the breakfast table, you are lucky. If you dont feel like getting up at 6 a.m. for breakfast, then you are in trouble :) but even the 'early' choices are vey basic. The staff is friendly and helpful and speak fluent English. Im not sure whether Id choose this hotel again...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Liggy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

First,the basics, we paid 85 euros a night B&B. There is a small free hotel car park across the road, but if this is full then there's only paid street parking. Free hotel parking is a definite advantage, there are several other hotels in the town but they don't all appear to have car parks. The hotel is located just down from the main street but quite central for walking all over the town and to the Theresienstein park and beer garden at the far end of town. This is a well established hotel which had been modernised but retained many original features. Reception was friendly and staff spoke English. Breakfast selection was generous. The evening meal was good and it was evident that locals also used the hotel restaurant, the menu was also in English. However we found the menu limiting and would have liked greater choice. Our room had a small ante room with large settee, flat screen tv, desk, chair and wardrobes. Bathroom was modern, somewhat awkwardly squeezed into the corner of the room, but it served its purpose.
I would agree that this hotel can be noisy as it's situated on a junction of crossroads, but we slept with the windows open and weren't too bothered, both traffic and pedestrian noise did quieten down after midnight. Before booking a hotel one can use google map to actually see where a hotel is situated. We were aware the hotel was on a crossroads, but this wasn't really a problem for us. The hotel is easy to reach but I recommend asking for the location of the car park before arriving as it is not immediate obvious. We stayed here to visit the village of Modlareuth, the 'little Berlin' village. We enjoyed our stay in Hof and would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

It's straight out of another era. An era without a whole lot of taste, but a strange kind of cool.

This is the place to stay during the absolutely wonderful Hof Film Festival - all the filmmakers stay here and eat and drink every night in the restaurant - this little town is completely taken over by the festival, great place to be in late October every year.

Don't expect wifi that works or any mod cons. But check in if you want to stay in the same hotel where Peter Jackson started writing the LOTR, or where Wim Wenders stays when he visits the place he calls the Home Of Film.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This place is old. That has advantages, like nice coloured glass picture windows on the ground level and a stylish old elevator. But there are some disadvantages, too. The whole place is creaky wherever you step. Not too much of a problem though. However the bathrooms were recently redone and are still very clean, though the shower must be properly closed to avoid flooding the whole bathroom. It of course happened to me.
For those who cannot sleep with street noise, the night will be over at 7am. And they will find themselves at a breakfast table with only one kind of cheese but six plus kinds of meet to choose for their bun or bread.
The location is very close to the old town centre. But in this small place I assume that’s true for most hotels. There is a somewhat hidden parking space for guests. And behind the house there is a small beer garden.
Generally, the hotel is OK, mostly for the location and a bit for the old house. But if you have a problem with the street noise, find some other place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2009

I stayed there for several times, for the price they ask I think it is a good value. Free wifi is a plus. However, I think it is about time they consider refurbishment of the rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gumerzeci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hellas4685
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hof hotels
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Hof
Quality Hotel Hof
#8 of 10 in Hof
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel am Kuhbogen
Hotel am Kuhbogen
#4 of 10 in Hof
34 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Burghof
Hotel Burghof
#3 of 10 in Hof
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Maxplatz
Hotel Maxplatz
#1 of 10 in Hof
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Central Hof . Partner of SORAT Hotels
2.2 mi away
Landhotel Gut Haidt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Strauss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strauss

Address: Bismarckstr. 31, 95028 Hof, Bavaria, Germany
Region: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Hof
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Hof
Price Range: £72 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strauss 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Strauss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing