We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing Website Got Me Burned”
Review of Landhotel Krone

Landhotel Krone
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Landhotel Krone
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alpirsbach
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The website mixes information on two separate hotels, which leads to confusion.

First: I confused the prices of this place for those of the more expensive one. I thought I was making a bargain with my Ebay bid, but this was the cheaper place of two, and my bid was way over the price posted at the hotel. Bummer.

The place is a study in minimal staff management - you will be welcomed with a sign on the door asking you to phone for instructions. That presumes you have a cell phone, and I do not. The only staff we met was one at breakfast.The buffet was nice, but the coffee was weak, and the boiled eggs overcooked.

Second: They also said Dogs were welcome, but posted no price ( later, I found a price on the second hotel, not this one), so we felt a bit gouged when hit with a 10 Euros per day fee for a tiny Pooch. Foul play.

Otherwise, the room was clean, and the bed acceptable. We really enjoyed the balcony. The village is tiny and cute and Alpirsbach was a nice discovery. The Monastery/Brewery tour is an amazing value at 6.50 - an hour-long history lesson, then 2 free generous (33cl) samplings, and a free stone mug for free. This is an incredible value. The beer jam at the gift shop, however, tastes mostly of sugar.

* Why do hotels in general let kids stay free, but charge up to 15 Euros per day for a tiny Dog?

Room Tip: Bus service ends in the evening - too early to be useful if you want to spend an evening elsewhere...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Landhotel Krone
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 14 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

When we arrived at the hotel the door was locked, with a note on the door (in German only) advising us to call a phone number to get the code to open the key box so we could get in the door. Not having a cell phone with us we drove to the closest pay phone (although the hotel is listed as being in Alpirsbach, it is actually in a small village near there called Reutin) which did not take coins, only phone cards (and instructions were in German only so we couldn't figure out how to use our credit card) so we had to drive into Alpirsbach to use a coin phone. The person who answered did speak English and gave us the key code and told us our room key would be inside on the piano. After we drove back to the hotel and got into our room we discovered the internet wasn't working. There was no phone in our room, no pay phone anywhere inside or outside the hotel. We had to make two more trips into town to get the internet working (turns out the router was shut off). We had assumed some staff would show up at SOME point who we could ask for info about the area. This never happened. We stayed three nights and the only staff we saw was an attendant who served breakfast (at 8am, even though the sign on the dining room door said breakfast started at 7am) and did not encourage conversation.
The room was good size and clean. The breakfast was adequate but no-frills. The hotel does look just like the picture. What the picture doesn't adequately show is that the hotel is right ON the street -- not two feet away, but ON the street. In fact our room was on the corner of two streets. And even though it is a sleepy little village, the buses and trucks start driving by a little before 6am, and when you have several windows ON the street you will hear them!
Given that we had no cell phone we were just lucky that we didn't need to contact the staff (there are many reasons one might need to -- no hot water, leak, etc.). We did have trouble with the TV but my husband was able to figure it out without driving into town again. We have traveled a lot, and have never before encountered a hotel that never had any office staff working.
I would not recommend staying at this hotel unless you have a working cell phone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We stayed in this small hotel in a quiet village 5 minutes from Alpirsbach. We were visiting the abbey in Alpirsbach and arrived the night before. It is the only hotel in a small community where there is no other commerce. A long walk through the surrounding countryside and forest was the perfect end to our day. This is a no-frills place, but quiet, clean and comfortable. There is a bountiful breakfast buffet included in the price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fe1nschmecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Helmut A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JoNapos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jürgen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alpirsbach
2.0 mi away
Wellness und Tagungshotel Krahenbad
1.5 mi away
Hotel Rossle
Hotel Rossle
#1 of 5 in Alpirsbach
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Waldblick
Hotel Waldblick
#1 of 2 in Schenkenzell
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
Hotel zum Weyssen Roessle
#1 of 2 in Schiltach
201 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landgasthof Sonne
Landgasthof Sonne
#2 of 4 in Alpirsbach
16 reviews
5.3 mi away
Hotel-Gasthof Sonne
Hotel-Gasthof Sonne
#2 of 3 in Schiltach
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landhotel Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landhotel Krone

Address: Ortsstr. 10, 72275 Alpirsbach, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Alpirsbach
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Alpirsbach
Price Range: £57 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Landhotel Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Landhotel Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landhotel Krone Alpirsbach, Germany - Baden-Wurttemberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing