We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent accomodations, service and price”
Review of Hotel Kredell

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Neckargemund
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kredell
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neckargemund
Stevensville, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodations, service and price”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The Hotel Kredell is a wonderfully authentic German hotel with modern conveniences and old-time charm. The staff is friendly and excellent, the room was spacious and comfortable, and nearby restaurants and shops are plentiful. The breakfast at the Kredell is NOT to be missed: fresh rolls and pretzels, traditional German meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, soft-boiled eggs perfectly done each time (my favorite), hot tea and coffee and juice.

The hotel is in the very charming town of Neckargemund. Heidelberg is easily accessible by bus, which runs regularly and stops just down the street from the hotel. If you're visiting Heidelberg, this is the place to stay. This was the third time my wife and I have stayed at the Hotel Kredell and we would not think of going anywhere else.

When you go, say hello for me to Charlie, the friendly hotel dog!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenton_Kilgore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    14
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
21
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed at the Kredell when I had business meetings in Mannheim the next day. Check-in was uncomplicated and I was given a charming room on the top floor. I had an enjoyable walk alongside the river before dinner at the attached Italian restaurant. The room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. It is not a business hotel, so guests should not expect business facilities (and I wasn't), although a WLAN connection is available for a modest fee.

Breakfast was a superb selection of breads, meats, cheeses, cereals and an egg. Naturally coffee and juice was also available. What more could one want.

Top marks to this small hotel for service and value for money. I look forward to returning when the weather is warmer.

Room Tip: I was happy with the room on the top floor. Some noise from the road and church, but nothing that di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zed_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euxton, Chorley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Stayed three nights in this really pleasant hotel. I was re-visiting the area around Heidelberg peak holiday season and wanted somewhere close to the city so Neckargemund fitted the criteria perfectly. I had walked past this hotel many times in the 1970's and remembered it clearly from the outside. How pleasant it was to actually stay here so close to the River Neckar. The service, warm welcome, the high standard of the breakfast and the charm of this hotel made it a memorable visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrySchofield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were travelling back from Piedmont to Southampton and the Heidelberg area seemed to be where we would be by early evening. When we stop overnight after a hard day's driving, I look for a city/town with a bit of character, so that a visit would form part of our holiday memories. Heidelberg fitted that bill, but the accomodation there was either very expensive, or fully booked weeks in advance. Happily, I found the Hotel Kredell on some obscure website and it looked to be ideal in terms of what it offered for the price and yet within striking distance of Heidelberg in a lovely little village on the River Neckar.

When we booked, I was pleasantly surprised that Frau Hogan (excellent English spoken) did not need credit card details, taking everything on trust on the strength of an email confirmation. Also, due to delays caused by traffic queues at the St Gotthard tunnel, we didn't arrive until 7pm and were worried that our rooms might have gone. But Frau Hogan assured us that that would not have happened.

As others have said, the Hotel, although smallish, is very clean and well presented, with friendly service from the staff. A warm welcome from Charlie the dog too. Breakfast was served in a charmingly quaint room and was an excellent buffet. For dinner, we had gone to a lovely old inn behind the church and the food there was extremely good and value for money. Somebody had mentioned that the place might have been owned by the Kredell, but I'm not certain whether that is correct.

Talking of the church, naturally the bells ring the time, but not during the night. We were there a Saturday night and the only comment against the hotel's position is that there was some late night noise from revellers close by. However, closing the windows shut that out and thankfully, although it had been hot during the day, it did not make the room uncomfortable with the windows closed.

Apart from that, it didn't really spoil the enjoyment of our stay and we would willingly stay there again the next time we go down that way.

Popped into Heidelberg the following morning before travelling on and it is a very charming and interesting place.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms are the ones most recently updated and are twins I think. The others on the firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sotonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
165 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We were just one night at this charming little hotel. It had been recently redone and our room was very clean and tidy. A comfortable place. Both the owner and the clerk had excellent English and we enjoyed chatting them up. We also met Charlie the dog mentioned in other reviews.

This was a good base from which to wander and see the sights.

Parking is free and nearby. There is an elevator.

We made the mistake of parking in the street at the front of the hotel to unload our luggage. Despite not having much luggage and having a small car this street was much too busy. We'll park somewhere nearby to unload next time.

Another place that we happened upon by accident but will return to if in the neighborhood!

Be sure to visit the nearby Alto Scheure [maybe Scheune ?] restaurant for an authentic German meal. Our supper was wonderful. The owner/host has good enough English and we have little German but it worked out fine. A charming place for supper.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We had such a wonderful time at the Hotel Kredell over a year ago, that we made sure to stay there again during our most recent visit to Heidelberg, and it was even better than the first time. Frau Hogan remembered us (and it seemed that Charley, the sweetest dog to ever welcome you to a hotel, did too!), we were welcomed like family. Charley was even allowed to go on walks with us, since I missed my own dogs quite a bit! Comfort , cleanliness and the fabulous breakfast buffet were just as superb as we remembered, and the bonus was that we happened to hit Fasching (Carnevale, Mardi Gras, whatever you want to call it! You MUST experience this annual event in Germany, prepare yourself for the party of your life - and the huge local parade went right past the hotel - we had a blast. Make sure you mark your calendar for the weekend before Ash Wednesday and go to Hotel Kredell! See you there, since we will be back again. Vielen Dank, Frau Hogan!

Room Tip: take the elevator up and take a look!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank threedogsandus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 March 2012

When one of my colleagues heard I planned to visit Heidelberg, she immediately and wholeheartedly recommended the Hotel Kredell in Neckargemuend as THE place to stay, and I am ever so grateful! Perfectly located, very reasonably priced, neat as a pin, and with an "arms-wide-open" hospitality to don't find often, which includes a breakfast buffet to dream about. The owner and her husband speak English, and can advise and help you with just about anything to make the most out of your visit. Passing along this excellent recommendartion to anybody wanting to visit that part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neckargemund
1.6 mi away
Hotel Zum Neckartal
Hotel Zum Neckartal
#46 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Terrassencafe Vierburgeneck
3.9 mi away
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
Hotel Zum Waldhorn
#56 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Elsenztal
Hotel Elsenztal
#1 of 1 in Bammental
3.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
5.5 mi away
Ibis Heidelberg Hauptbahnhof
4.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Marstall
Hotel Villa Marstall
#3 of 76 in Heidelberg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kredell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kredell

Property: Hotel Kredell
Address: Hauptstrasse 57, 69151 Neckargemund, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Neckargemund
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Neckargemund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Kredell Hotel Neckargemund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing