We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”

On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Ranked #24 of 244 Restaurants in Mesquite
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The spirit of sharing Border-Style food lives on today at On The Border.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We always have excellent service when dining here. Staff is friendly, restaurant is clean, service is fast. This is not easy to do when situated in a busy place and needing to accomodate many people. Very impressed that they would not even seat us until the table was cleaned off! Warm chips and salsa are the best I've had and refills keep coming. Our favorite as a couple - the Ultimate Fajitas - mixed beef and chicken.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    5
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu, salsa, & service”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had lunch here and I have been here several times, but this time I tried the brisket tacos-excellent! Service was good, she kept our drinks filled, & gave us extra chips/salsa to go per my 6 yr. old's request! Kids meals were bigger than I expected & food came out pretty quick. It's not my favorite Mexican, but we put it on the rotation. Try Mattito's if you haven't already.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReformedLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best food ever.”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

We had a great time there, the service was great and the briscit tacos are to die for. Food was not over priced and the drinks were made perfect. Great location and great people there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Service”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

The wife and I stopped here for lunch on a Saturday between 11:30 & 11:45. We were seated and given menus and our hostess said a waiter would be with us soon. 10 minutes later we walked out. No one spoke to us but they did serve food to the booth next to us while we sat there. I'm sorry, but if you can't at least serve us water, take our drink orders, and drop off some chips & salsa within a couple of minutes I'll always get out and walk. They weren't very busy so I don't know what their problem is. We drove about a 1/2 mile to another Mexican food restaurant and were seated, had chips & salsa on the table, served to glasses of water and our drink order taken in less than 1 1/2 minutes. With so many choice in restaurants I'll never stop here again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidebite252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Not the best in TEXAS!!!”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Go for the Drinks...But not the food.....after several visits for lunch and dinner, I have determined the food is not worth your hard earned money...In the Dallas area you are better off going to a hole in the wall Mexican restaurant or El Phoenix Mexican Restaurant, like On the Boarder, same price but, much better food.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank SGRC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina also viewed

 

Been to On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing