We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good B&B”
Review of L'Orso e il Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Orso e il Mare
Ranked #1 of 20 Palau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good B&B”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

L'orso e il mare is a B&B in the centre of Palau, really close to the harbour. Rooms are well equipped and clean. The owner is very helpfull. Breakfast was abundant. As this B&B is in the centre of Palau you may experience some noise in the evening, as music is played on the piazza close to the B&B.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JvZ_Tilburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
178
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

This is à really nice place in the center of Palau.
Just à few minutes walk to the beach and the city center. The rooms are clean and quite big with à private bathroom. There is also a small fridge witch is nice. Peter is à great host although he speaks very little english.
I would defenetly recomend this BB to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We spent 4 nights of our honeymoon in this wonderful B&B. Our room was the one in the ground floor. It was clean, well kept and had a great shower. What made our stay really special was the owner Pietro, he received us like family! Always smiling and avaiable, he spoiled us with fruits, water and laundry. His tips about restaurants, ice cream, boat trips and off the tourist map beaches were precious. We totally recomend this place and we intend to come back in the future. Kisses to Pietro and his lovely girlfriend Agnese from the brazilian couple Vinicius e Carolina!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vinicius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This excellent B&B is in a good central location on a quiet side street in Palau. We stayed here for 5 nights in June. Pietro welcomes you like a friend and ensures all your needs are catered for. Our lovely room on the first floor was bright and airy with effective blinds to keep the strong sunlight in the morning. Fruit and water were in our room to greet us and the room was kept very clean. We found there is some noise within the house as there are hard floors typical for Mediterranean countries, but this was not a problem for sleeping in this small B&B as Pietro politely asks guests to keepthe noise down after 23:00. Effective air conditioning and super shower! Continental breakfast was great and Pietro will help you pack away anything you don't eat for lunch. We really appreciated the fresh bread and fruit salad every morning! We don't speak Italian, and Pietro has limited english, but we managed fine. Pietro goes the extra mile, giving us discount cards for local restaurants, offering to let us use his washing machine, moving his car so we could park outside his home, & recommending places to go. Pietro was flexible as our schedule for scuba diving kept changing and we needed to cancel breakfast for early starts. Palau for us was a good base for exploring the area, and for scuba diving. A boat trip around the local islands is well worth doing. We also recommend walking or cycling around the island of Caprera. If you want good food, head for Porticciolo restaurant, a local favourite with huge starter portions! This B&B deserves its 5 stars.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

If you go to Palau, book a room at il Orso e il mare. It was great. The rooms are big and nice. The owner Pietro is very nice and helpful, although communication was difficult, as we didnt speak Italian. The breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roti187331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We have just spent a fortnight in Sardinia. We stayed 2 days in Palau in L'Orso e il Mare.
It was a great pleasure staying here. The location is excellent. The room and the whole B&B were exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfast part was superb with great variety and an excellent coffee. Peter was the best host you could ask for, attentive to offer the best service, making you feel at home straight away. With his spouse they were of a great help; their suggestions and assistance will help make your stay memorable. We did a lot of travelling, visiting Australia, USA and a lot of countries all over Europe and this is the best B&B we ever stayed. If you are looking for a great place to stay in Sardinia make sure you go to Palau and stay with Peter. Thank you, Peter. Tamara and Srecko from Vienna

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rijeka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

By chance, we stumbled on "L'Orso e il Mare" while visiting Palau for the day. We decided to stay the night and it was a wonderful experience. The B&B is beautiful, cozy, comfortable, very nicely decorated, very homely. The breakfast was also very nice with fresh fruit salad and freshly made coffee in a charming breakfast room. The owner was really friendly and welcoming with small details like leaving fruit and water in the room for us that really also made a difference. Palau is a great romantic destination with the Maddalena a mere 20 min. ferry ride away. The advantage of both Palau and la Maddalena is that, unlike other parts of Sardinia, there is some town life going on even during low season. All in all this was, together with our visit to Orosei (further south), the highlight of our trip :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabeth_diez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.1 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#4 of 17 in Palau
674 reviews
7.0 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccada
Hotel Piccada
#9 of 17 in Palau
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B La Fonda
B&B La Fonda
#3 of 20 in Palau
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Orso e il Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orso e il Mare

Property: L'Orso e il Mare
Address: Vicolo Diaz B, no1, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bear & The Sea Bed & Breakfast is closer to the sea, the beach, the commercial port, marina, stop the Bus, Office Tourism, at the terminus of the Green Train tour, the whole town of Palau, built in 2007and operational by April 2008, is one of the few B & B's new building located in the center of Palau, a tourist resort located in North-East of Sardinia. It is 100 meters from the seafront promenade and 200 meters from the port, the starting point (every 15minutes) ferry to the island of La Maddalena. The main beaches are located about 300 meters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your L'Orso e il Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Orso e Il Mare Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing