We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent BnB and very helpful manager”
Review of B&B La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
B&B La Fonda
Ranked #3 of 21 Palau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“excellent BnB and very helpful manager”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed at La Fonda during Easter break for 4 days. The BnB is nicely decorated (looked like it had been recently refurbished), very clean, a few minutes walk from the port of Palau in a quiet street. Katie - the host - is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is great too! (Loved the home-made cakes, pies etc!)

Room Tip: I would recommend the room with the balcony: it's sunny and facing the port.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andras J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
58
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We had a wonderful time at La Fonda in the beginning of august. Katie is a wonderful host and the B&B is very well located in the beautiful city of Palau. Our room was big, very beautiful and newly renovated. The breakfast was the best we had in our two weeks in Sardinia. However – as the temperature in august was above 30 degrees night and day we really missed AC – so the fifth star comes with the AC :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nol36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

When I think about what I seek in a B & B and then I compare with what B & B La Fonda delivers there is a close match.

Firstly, Katie the owner, offers a genuine warmth and hospitality. She goes that extra distance to make you feel special and we found her extremely helpful in the suggestions she made.

Her home is a reflexion of the town - comfortable and relaxing. Palau is an excellent choice for this part of the Costa Esmerelda. It is in stark constraint to the soulless and somewhat artificial resort communities that are dotted along the Costa Esmerelda.

Our room had a small balcony and views through the town to the water. The room was neat, tidy and spotlessly clean. The bathroom had been recently renovated to a high standard. The bed comfortable and the room functional. Breakfast the next morning met our needs.

We left feeling that we had received excellent value for money and were delighted we had stayed at La Fonda. It is certainly somewhere that we would be happy to return to.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Katie is an exceptionally nice host, very sweet and lovely person.
The B&B is very high quality with mahogany and wrought iron furniture. ( no cheap chipboard or plastic in sight). Very clean. Lots of stylish touches. Lovely spacious shower and a nice big bed in the double room. 2 mins walk to the port of Palau where you can get the boat to the Maddelena Islands.

Delighted we based ourselves in Palau and this B&B for the trip. This one is a no-brainer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We have just got back from staying at La Fonda. Everything from the booking process to directions, our room and the extra night we stayed were very well organised. The B&B is well located in Palau for you to get around. Katie who runs the B&B is very attentive and did her best to make sure we had a great stay giving recommendations of places to go (the weather was not great).

She also did her best to accommodate us with decaff coffee and extra fruit for breakfast as we try to eat healthily so we didn't eat much of the continental breakfast which was croissants, cake, cereals and yoghurt. Having said that we did try the daily cake that she puts out for the guests and it was excellent. There is a communal fridge, kettle and coffee maker which was really convenient.

We stayed on the 1st floor for 5 nights which was very quiet and 1 night on the ground floor which was mostly quiet but you can hear cars driving past. Having said that this is a very quiet neighbourhood so not really a big deal. The beds were really comfy and we had a great nights sleep every night.

Both rooms we stayed in were spotlessly clean and the bathrooms as well. We would find it very hard to fault anything about the B&B and would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: First floor is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewcant304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2013

The best B&B ever. Friendly owner, who can tell you about interesting places in Sardinia. Nice rooms and bathrooms, comfortable beds, clean. Good breakfast. And not just breakfast: cookies, home baked cakes, drinks and fruit during the day.
A few minutes walk from the shops and restaurants of Palau.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nies S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Wonderfully located in a quiet, residential neighborhood about 3 minutes walk to the main street, this charming, simple and elegant B&B surpassed our expectations. We occupied 2 rooms, one for us and the other for our granddaughter, in the new wing separated by a small kitchen/dining area. Both of the rooms were lovely and comfortable with spacious, fully equipped, modern bathrooms. They also had balconies, one large enough for a table and chairs. The beds were large and comfortable with electric heating pads (for a still-cold April). A metal staircase led to a rooftop terrace with a view of the sea.

The owner is truly marvelous! Not only was she generous with information about day-trips, excursions, restaurants, local sites, boat trips, etc. (her recommendations were perfect), she also arranged a boat trip for us around the islands in the off-season when tourist boats weren't normally running. In the morning, she discreetly filled the small refrigerator with fresh milk, yogurt, butter and cheese and, when we asked for more bread, went to the bakery to fetch some. She had even baked a cake for us! Plus jams, cookies, bottles of water and all the coffee you care to drink.

Maybe you could do as well, probably worse, but certainly no better: this place and its owner are gems! And this is from a couple who travel extensively and has stayed B&Bs in 14 countries over 12 years.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccada
Hotel Piccada
#9 of 17 in Palau
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Roccia
Hotel La Roccia
#6 of 17 in Palau
152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence B&B Il Vento e il Mare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B La Fonda

Property: B&B La Fonda
Address: Via Stazione 15, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B La Fonda Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing