We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total relaxation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Total relaxation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Our 3rd consecutive year at the Capo D'Orso. Great to see that they have not let standards slip.
We met a few people on their first visit who too said they would be back next year.
We see the same staff each year who obviously take great pride in their island & hotel.

The views are fantastic, pools very clean. The decking dotted around on the shoreline is very relaxing.
Various musical entertainment each evening also impressed us.

A 3 hour boat trip on the Delpina from the hotels own pier goes around the gorgeous Archipelago of La Madelaine where the boat stops to allow you to swim in the incredible clear sea.

Whilst he food wasn't always to my taste (limited pallet!) everybody else enthused about the food in the partially outdoor Restaurant with beautiful views out over the Costa Smeralda. The waiters are as professional as any you will come across.

Overall excellent as always, definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: We have had 510 the last 2 years, great view of the pier,islands and private beach but I would think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MacBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    78
    24
    17
    9
See reviews for
77
243
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Went for a short break (4 nights) and was very impressed. I got a suite which was nice, large and airy. The food was excellent at all of the restaurants, as were the cocktails recommended by the barman. We were the last in the bar every night, however watch the prices as I got a rather large bill by the end of it! Definitely worth it though. We didn't go to the beach as preferred the wooden jetties to sunbathe. It was quiet when we were there, so had the run of the hotel and didn't need to book anything which was great for a couple. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view suite. Worth the extra when you can have breakfast looking over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Just spent 5 nights here and it was fabulous. Little paths through the trees lead to reception then on to the bar, restaurant and rooms. The pool is freezing but not to worry as you can swim in the very warm sea or pay an extra 30 euros for an afternoon at the Thalasoo pools which are gorgeous.
We stayed in a junior suite with an amazing view of the sea. A 3 minute walk and we were anywhere within the hotel - beach, bar or pool.
The food as excellent, a large buffet breakfast and a wonderful a la carte 4 course menu in the evening (we were half board).

Room Tip: Sea views are a must, the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowgrass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

We used to visit this hotel yeas ago before it was a Thalasso and Spa when our girls were much younger - it was excellent then and it is excellent now. The girls are now young women and they returned with us this year and thoroughly enjoyed the holiday which was taken in September 2013.
All The Staff are wonderful and helpful, both restaurants are well run in excellent locations, the food is of an extremely high standard.
Everything is dealt with efficiently.
The beach is lovely and has a life guard on duty at all times. The sea is clean and clear. Roll on next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

we stayed here to celebrate are 40 wedding anniversary.the drive from the airport was just stunning along the coast road we could see little sandy coves blue sea. On arrival we where greeted by very friendly staff shown to are room which had a view overlooking the sea. the room was very clean in fact spotless just like every thing in the hotel. every day breakfast was a feast if you wanted it eggs meat cheese fresh rolls etc etc staff again was top class all very friendly. evening meals where to die for all four courses very fresh well presented on clean plates no finger marks music every night in the bar i forgot the harpist playing every day at breakfast . outside you could find sunbeds all around the gardens which was very private pool was clean beach was well kept we cannot praise the staff the location just one of the best holidays we have had and we have had a few

Room Tip: just enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonnyboy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

ok, there's no such thing...but this place was just so stunning everywhere you look...the views are breathtaking from the bar, the restaurants, the pools, the beach, the marina...there was so much to look at, it just makes you glad you're alive, and all you can do is stare. The Olive Garden restaurant is very peaceful and the food at Il Paguro Restaurant was fantastic. You're just at peace in this place, and that's priceless.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoSher23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Set in a lovely location on a hillside north of Olbia this hotel is easily reached from the airport (30 - 40 mins). The small road leading in off the main road is bumpy but not impossible and gives an added air of seclusion as you dip down in to the valley where the hotel is located. Check in is difficult to find (up the steps and it's a choice of three paths) and a little cramped if there are many other people checking in and out at the same time although the people on Reception do try their best. My wife and I had a bit of a wait but nothing too problematic. There is a good viewing platform close by with wonderful views over the bay and I advise any "Beautiful People" watchers to take a set of binoculars because all of the rich and famous travel past in their various yachts/cruisers on the way in and out of the playgrounds of the Costa Smeralda!

Admittedly smaller and more "niche" than it's sister hotels in the Delphina Group this hotel purports to be an adults only destination although I did see plenty of children in evidence but these are hard times and you can't expect an hotel to turn down paying customers just for that. They were not a problem and actually I felt a bit sorry for them as there is very little there for them to do.

What this hotel does excel at is seclusion. There are plenty of areas where you can sit, read, meditate and be still. Hammocks hang from trees and there are plenty of small areas in amongst the wooded parts that have been set out with decking and steamer chairs to relax. There is a good spa with some small pools with graduating size and temperatures. There is a much larger pool (very cold in June) which is a good way away on the right hand side of the road in. That pool had no food or beverage facilities and no changing rooms.

Overall the architecture is brutalist Nuraghi with plenty of steep, rough stone steps to get to most of the rooms and suites. As a warning ladies should bring flat heeled shoes as I shudder to think what might happen on those stairs in the darker areas at night if they wished to wear high heels.

We upgraded to a Cardinal Suite but it was definitely worth it as they are large and spacious with views out over the bay (albeit nearly completely obscured by trees).

The food when we were there was only average and there was much discontent amongst the guests (particularly the Germans and Russians - not just us) regarding the choices a la carte but to be fair, the waiting staff did do their best to try to help. I found the breakfast to be the better meal although the tough bread rolls were not exactly top of my wish list.

If you are looking for a quiet time away and you are not too bothered by climbing those stone steps or by the food then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ordinary Junior Suites seem to have the better views over the bay - but they are a good climb back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MistaPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
29.9 mi away
Hotel Marinedda Thalasso & Spa
5.6 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
141.5 mi away
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
Pullman Timi Ama Sardegna
#4 of 33 in Villasimius
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 21 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
8.5 mi away
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso & Spa
Resort Valle Dell'Erica Thalasso...
#1 of 25 in Santa Teresa Gallura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa

Property: Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa
Address: Loc Cala Capra, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Palau
#1 Luxury Hotel in Palau
#1 Spa Hotel in Palau
#1 Family Hotel in Palau
#2 Romantic Hotel in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 65
Also Known As:
Hotel Capo d`Orso Thalasso Palau
Hotel Capo d`Orso Thalasso And Spa
Capo d Orso Hotel
Hotel Capo D'Orso Thalasso & Spa Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing