We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of hotel Palau”
Review of Hotel Palau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Palau
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Review of hotel Palau”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Prior to my arrival was feeling very anxious as reviews were not always positive, however I proceeded with my booking to be pleasantly surprised it was very welcoming, the rooms although not luxurious we're very clean comfortable and functional, staff were very welcoming and domestic staff were amazing, clean rooms every day nothing to much trouble for them, would like to say a big thank you .
hotel location beautiful set at the top of a hill, need to be able bodied to be able to walk into town and back uphill to hotel, good exercise but not suitable if unfit, parking in the town is restricted so be careful if you drive wardens all around you!!!!!!
One downside to a lovely break would be the pool area although lovely very limited shaded area,umbrellas around the pool very sparse and not always in working order.
would like to thank staff for a very enjoyable holiday,
Beverley, Stephen Hewitt. England

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beverleyphewitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    213
    92
    39
    23
See reviews for
209
288
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed for the last week of May, half board in a double room, poolside. There are only two floors of accommodation, ground and first, the latter provides better views.
It seems that this season has started with almost all new staff including the restaurant and kitchen, perhaps because of the many negative reviews and complaints from last year. Our experience was a good one.
All of the staff from cleaners through to restaurant and reception were very polite and eager to help to make our stay enjoyable. I'd say that the restaurant staff were exceptional and went out of their way to accommodate our 2 year old's eating and sleeping routine. Thanks to Salvatore, a very professional and attentive maître! Allowing us earlier dinner before the rest of the guests and preparing individual meals based on the menu and our son's preference. The Italians just love babies and toddlers and here was no exception, even the younger staff interacted with him. Dinner was always varied, well presented and waiter service to be complimented. There was plenty to choose from at breakfast too although the fresh fruit was limited and not always fresh (melon and kiwi).
On our final evening they held a Gala dinner for a group of 100 (classic car enthusiasts) who stayed for two nights, the rest of the hotel guests were invited too. They were a noisy crowd and an issue for us because it would have kept our baby (and us) awake as the previous night, however he fell asleep long before. We were unable to eat together that evening in the restaurant as we couldn't leave him alone. The restaurant staff came to the rescue once more and prepared a table and waited on us right outside our room overlooking the pool (see photos) this made our final evening rather special.
Our main criticism would be of the architect and builder since they used little (if any) sound insulation between floors or rooms. Our room had a locked door to an adjoining room which luckily was only used for two days. This single door offered no sound proofing what-so-ever so we were kept awake by their conversations, TV, coughing, showering and toilet flushing. In fact at one point our toddler thought someone else was in the room with us! For this reason I would say it wasn't a 4 star hotel.
The room was small but adequate since we only slept there, the shower drain needed to be unblocked which they did on the same day that we mentioned it. Other than the dust under the bed the room was very clean. The cot they provided was not the usual travel cot variety but a proper wooden one with correct sized bedding (so many places just fold up normal sized bed sheets and pillow). We switched off the A/C and heating because of the noise and in May-June you don't need either anyway.
The pools were very inviting, we saw a few people use it but being unheated it was too cold at this time of year for us at least. Apparently there was a fitness centre and spa but we didn't look for it so can't comment further. They had at that time an issue with wifi which they were trying to resolve, meanwhile there was good connectivity in the reception area which was a quiet and comfortable place to do email.
There was not a lot for children apart from the pools but we spent all our time at the beaches of site seeing.
Overall we were very happy with our stay.

Room Tip: If you like quiet then the best choice would be a top floor to avoid the heels walking on the corrid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sorgente_cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a fantastic position with views over Palau. It has sun loungers, a superb swimming pool, and rooms are located around this area. All our party were complimentary about the Hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable and had shutters to windows.
The shower was small and needed upgrading.
Breakfast was acceptable and one waiter was very helpful, particularly if you spoke some basic Italian and even carried my case down a small flight of stairs.
Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: First floor rooms offer best views from the Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steamermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel it's located in Palau, a nice tiny city in north-east Sardinia.
Pros: nice pool, the dinner ( every evening different dishes : chicken, turkey , fish , pork , pasta , soups, antipastas, sushi ), friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: dirty sink, plumbing problems with the shower cabin ( water doesn't drain ), musty smell in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragosdmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night at the start of a tour of Sardinia and my heart sank at the thought that this was the kind of quality we were going to experience elsewhere. Fortunately everywhere else we stayed was streets better! Unlike some other reviewers I had no issue with the cleanliness of the hotel and the room facilities were reasonably good. However, the eating experience was dire. Whether this was because as a tour group we received different food from other diners or not I do not know, but this should not be relevant. From a choice of three starters I opted for the supposedly safe option of cream of tomato soup. There was little evidence of any cream or tomato and the concoction was a rather thin and insipid liquid with a vaguely red tinge. If it had not come out of an instant packet, then the creators did a very good job of imitating that! Main course was roast cod with potato and beans. All of these items were lukewarm to cold, and the cod had a tough exterior as if it had been cooked a while then left to cool. Dessert was profiteroles, which appeared to be made of some kind of tasteless and tough sponge rather than pastry and covered with a sickly milk chocolate sauce. I decided to top this up with another dessert option - fruit salad - which was the most tasteless fruit salad I have ever had, consisting mainly of cotton wool texture apples reposing in some kind of unidentifiable thin and equally tasteless fruit juice. The red table wine that was served was some of the worst wine I have tasted in a long time, with a flat, vinegarish character. Things got no better at breakfast. The coffee might well have been dishwater, while the scrambled eggs were congealed and cold. Two friends who were with me had the misfortune to have special dietary requirements: one gluten free and the other virtually fat-free. The latter cause particularly problems and different varieties of food arrived, only to be whisked away almost immediately before my friend could test the food. She was also presented with a large bottle of live oil to drizzle over the food, presumably on the basis that this didn't amount to fat! The service at tables seemed totally random and not especially polite. Food apart, the other negative comment I had about the hotel was the lack of natural light in the rooms. You either had to have the window closed, with an integral wooden shutter as part of the window excluding any natural light, or open the window, which meant local bug life deciding to explore the room. I would never stay here again and would recommend others to seek different options locally.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not a bad little hotel, lovely pool area, rooms quite basic, service ok. For the price we paid to stay here for a week we did find it good value for money. We never ate there, only B&B but you can take evening meals in their onsite restaurant. A little off the main drag up a steep hill, we enjoyed the walk to and from the town but this hotel wouldnt be any good if you have mobility issues

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are the best - we were disappointed with the lack of balcony option and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pamela and Davi... E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

There are so many bad things with this hotel and its personnel, I am not even sure how to start.
Let's take it from the beginning:

Reception - dirty carpets, cigarette buts on the floor, ragged chairs, dust everywhere, really old furniture.

Rooms - unbelievable dirty, really small, the bathroom was something out of a nightmare - broken sink, rusted mirror, old and barely functioning shower, no shampoo/soap/shower gel. The smell was worse than in the reception.
The air conditioning was either working non-stop (and of course, extremely loud), or not working at all.

Personnel - rude, incompetent, could not speak English not if their life would depend on it. They didn't know what was for dinner, had no idea how to serve at a table, they didn't clean the dining room (dust and hair on the table, right before we'd start eating).

Food - I think this takes the 1st prize as the worst aspect of Palau hotel.
Breakfast - same every day: some butter, some cakes, fruit sauce that tasted like it was prepared for last year's visitors, and a really questionable omelet.
Dinner - almost same every day: pasta with some sort of fish/sea fruits (uncleaned, tasted like rubber most of the time), lots of potatoes (because what kind of self-respecting 4-starts hotel does not serve french fries or smashed potatoes every freaking night?) and some meat that was either pork or turkey or chicken (it'd depend on which waiter you'd ask).

It was the worst hotel I have ever seen and stayed in. Do yourselves a favor and do not throw your money out of the window, for this dirty hotel with unbelievable rude personnel.

Have a look at the few pictures I've attached, and you'll see that this comment does not even begin to do justice to the horrors we had experienced at Palau hotel.

Room Tip: Just stay away from Palau hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.4 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
6.8 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
470 reviews
2.0 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Piccada
Hotel Piccada
#9 of 17 in Palau
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Esse Posada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palau

Property: Hotel Palau
Address: Via Tirso | Localita' Monte Zebio, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Palau
#3 Spa Hotel in Palau
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palau
#4 Romantic Hotel in Palau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palau 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Palau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palau Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing