We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but WITHOUT POOL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We can recommend this hotel at least in the off season: prices were adequate, there is free parking (even if you have to turn your steering wheel quite a bit to get in there) and staff is relaxed an friendly.
There is a huge playground nearby, that our daughter loved.
Rooms are clean, quite large and well equipped. Wifi is working ok, even if I had to punch in my code each time I opened my iPad again.
For some reason I thought the hotel provides a pool as some pictures suggested. I found out, that there are whirlpools in some of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marchlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday in Sardinia and stayed at La Vecchia Fonte Hotel for the middle two nights of our holiday. We had booked one of the hotel's classic rooms but were very kindly upgraded to a suite, which was a lovely treat, especially since it was my birthday. Our rooms were very nice, very tastefully appointed and comfortable, and with a great view out over to the harbour and, in the evenings, the little craft market. Lots of lovely touches such as premium bedding, excellent range of toiletries, robes and slippers made our stay feel really special. The hotel is in an excellent location next to the bustling harbour where the boat trips depart for the Maddalena islands. We took a trip out with an outfit called Nautica Jasmine, which had smaller boats, and we had a fantastic time. It's also within very easy walking distance of plenty of restaurants – our first choice was Pasta & Vino Trattoria, just around the corner from the hotel, which did great seafood pasta which we enjoyed so much we went back again for our second night. Palau itself is a nice little town and a great base for exploring the north east coast of Sardinia. We just wished we had stayed longer. (PS We were aware that some reviewers had commented that the front rooms of the hotel might be noisy, but we didn't find this to be a problem at all – yes we could hear the noise from the market and cafes when we had the balcony windows open, but when we closed them to go to bed, we could hardly hear any noise at all.)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah503843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia_4_ever, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Vecchia Fonte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Dear guests,
we really thank you for your kind review and we wait for you for the next Holiday.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Found the place fairly easily, but did have to contravene the one-way system to park-up. We were asked on check-in whether we wanted to a free mini-bar or free-parking - which otherwise would have cost 12Euro a day. Friendly and instructive concierge, who showed us to our room.

Room was spacious, with soft furnishings to the minimum. Had most of the facilties you'd expect: safe, TV, hairdryer, fridge, wifi, kettle(!) etc. There were a few things that could have used a bit more finessing (use of plastic cups, rather than glass; not enough chairs; did not replenish tea stock etc.) but once asked staff were happy to help. No bath in our room - not a big deal, but unusual for superior rooms. Black out blinds and double-glazing meant a good nights sleep, and air-con kept the room comfortable.

Breakfast was very well done, and very generous hours (until 10.30am). Well set up for the day; choices of continental type stuff, cereal, fruit, yoghurt etc. No waiting for tables, and attentive staff.

Location had its up and down sides. Nice and central by the harbour and night-market, but therefore all restaurants were quite touristy and brash. But, we were happy to explore and Palau is not huge. It's unfortunate that a large car park seperates the hotel from the harbour, and so while it is true that our room had a harbour view, it also had a car park view. The balcony was also not large enough to get two chairs on it, so there were no evenings drinking wine watching the boats (some rooms had larger balconies, so it's worth checking if this is important to you).

The hotel was offering a 'free' night for every four nights paid, and so this worked out to be a good deal. Check-out again was very friendly, and we would recommend this place again, but is probably not for a quiet/romantic retreat and is more functional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TangoAdMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia_4_ever, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Vecchia Fonte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Sirs,
we thank you for your kind review.
We are sorry you didn't appreciate the view. The touristic Harbour can be fascinating while the car parking, even if it's not the best view, is necessary to tourists but for the future there are some projects that foresee gardens. This could help to enhance the area.
Our kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights, classic room. Very nice hotel, and very central. Check in was quick, service perfect, good breakfast. Beach towel rental available.

Nothing to complain about, for once... :-)

Will recommend this to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helgeofnorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I stayed here twice 2 nights, waiting for friends to arrive (we always rent a house if there are more people).
Great place to get into the mood for Sardinia, also to catch some sleep in the day (had VERY early flights on both occasions).

Internet worked as expected, parking was also very convenient (in-house for 12 Euros / day).

AND: I have to mention how helpful and friendly the people at the front desk are! THANKS :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pluesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sardinia_4_ever, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at La Vecchia Fonte Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2014

Many thanks for your good review.
Looking forward to seeing you again, our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Loved it! Beautiful and spacious room by the port. Palau is a cute town with lots of shops and restaurants. There is a great market next door from the hotel. It is also located 2 minutes away from the bus station and the port which makes it easy for excursions to La Maddalena or to visit other towns.

Room Tip: Ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amblouin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We only stayed in the hotel for two nights and basically used this hotel as a base to explore northern Sardinia. I personally wouldn't stay for longer than 1-2 nights. It's conveniently located near the port and bus station. We caught a ferry to La Maddalena for the day and it's only half an hours drive to Santa Teresa port to catch a ferry to Corsica for the day. The hotel is in the center of town and within walking distance to local restaurants, bars and shops.

The room and bathroom quality was basic, but were quite spacious in size...although it did have a strong damp smell to our room, which we had to open the window to air it out every time we returned to our room. The bathroom had a warm towel rack, which allowed us to wash and dry our clothes overnight. Our bed was ok and not the most comfortable mattress or pillows. There isn't a great view from the hotel as there is a huge parking lot in the front. The hotel furniture and decor are in need of an upgrade. The reception area is quite narrow, small and dark when you enter.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful with any requests. Breakfast was ok, they did provide a good variety of breakfast items at least...but not a high quality produce. Eg. cereal, fruit, bread, pastry, ham, boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice, cheese, yoghurt. But nothing made to order, like eggs and omelettes.

We consistently had trouble logging into the free Wifi in the rooms and the reception was quite poor when we finally had success, so we gave up and used the free Wifi in the reception area when we entered or left the hotel.

Free parking onsite was a plus...but can be it can be quite a tight fit getting in and out of spaces when the hotel is busy. The hotel parking is underground and can be too steep for cars with low suspension so take extra care when parking your rental car.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALM868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
529 reviews
1.9 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piccada
Hotel Piccada
#9 of 17 in Palau
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
Grand Hotel Resort Ma&Ma
#1 of 17 in La Maddalena
582 reviews
2.4 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
6.9 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vecchia Fonte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vecchia Fonte Hotel

Address: Via Fonte Vecchia 48 | direzione Porto Turistico, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palau
#5 Family Hotel in Palau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Palau
Price Range: £57 - £876 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Vecchia Fonte Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4-star hotel overlooking the harbour is a 5-minute walk from the main beaches. Parking is free from late September until April.The rooms are decorated with traditional Sardinian-style furniture and light colours. Some rooms offer views of the harbour, which links to La Maddalena Archipelago. Wi-Fi is free throughout.The café and breakfast bar is situated on the ground floor next to the hall. Coffee, aperitifs, and cocktails are served in a refined atmosphere inspired by the seafaring world.La Vecchia Fonte's courteous staff can assist you throughout your stay in Palau. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Vecchia Fonte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Vecchia Fonte Palau
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel Palau
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing