We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, lovely clean rooms & good location in Palau”
Review of Hotel Piccada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piccada
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In June 2012 I stayed 8 nights at Piccada - basics:

ROOMS:
- rooms were very light, with twin bed and sofa
- TV, Fridge AND microwave!
-bathrooms clean hairdryer, towels etc
- no swim pool and the gym is a tiny room

BREAKFAST:
- very basic: some buiscuits, croissants, dried toasts. A little disappointing as being in Italy the coffee and tea were all from dispensing machines hence not great taste.

AREA:
- Easy access to hotel from various entries. A good 8 min uphill walk from the Port. Eurospin supermarket excellent value another 5 minwalk uphill.Port has buses to various destinations. When windy, best beaches are those sheltered as the winds an become very strong.

Room Tip: Request for sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 262 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I usually stay in 4* and 5* hotels so we were very nervous on booking a stay at the Hotel Piccado! Our room was on the second to top floor with a great view from our very private balcony and I am very happy to say that our room was very clean with a comfortable bed, sofa, table and chairs, fridge with freezer and at the end of the day there was lots of hot water for your shower. The staff were friendly, very helpful and trustworthy. We only had plastic cups in our room but when my husband asked for glasses they were more than happy to oblige! Our room was cleaned every day and I felt like I was getting into clean sheets every night! My only suggestion to hotel management would be to provide a more varied breakfast, some fruit or maybe eggs would have been good, I took my own fruit to breakfast! Palau is a great base for a holiday to Sardinia and we would definitely return to the Hotel Piccado.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of Palau and the Island of Maddelana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were in this place at mid october the hotel has good location it was clean and the price was also ok the stuff was friendly

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ales32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I enjoyed my stay here. The staff were helpful and the rooms large andclean. The view from our room and terrace was fantastic. Breakfast was very basic but given that it was included and the room rates are so good I can not really complain. Would definitely return!

Room Tip: Ask for a high one with a terrace for the impressive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Unclebobtail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2010

booked last minute, great price, large room, free standard breakfast included. Parking included. Front desk provided great information on nearby beaches and ferry trips. Beds were comfortable, there was a small refrig in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LivesinN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

As with every hotel we stayed at in Sardinia the staff were brilliant and very helpful. The room itself was huge with very large windows and a view overlooking the port, Maddelena island etc. Good aircon, tho 2 very small beds insead of a double tho at least they were pushed together. Decor very dated, all the wood was painted bright green. It would have been quite modern looking had it been black or brown. TV had loads of channels. Our room was on the top floor (cant remember the number but its the one directly underneath the "Piccardo" neon sign) and so we had the great view. Lower down rooms would just have the view of the building infront, so try and get a top floor room!
Breakfast was brilliant, loads of choice, croissants, choc au pains etc, cereal, cake, fruit etc etc. We had to leave early to get the flight back and the staff said to tell the night porter and he'd get breakfast out earlier for us!
Recommend getting the ferry over to the isle of Maddelena. Costs about 10e return but you make that back as the beer (Ishnusa) is the same price as on the mainland but it seems to come in 660ml bottles instead of 330ml! Great for a night out, can even take the car over on the ferry but not sure of price.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smurfmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Not very impressive from the street,but we were pleasently surprised Very friendly ,helpful and informative staff, spacious bedroom, good price, good breakfast, excellent location. Dont miss the trattoria two/three streets below the hotel for some of the best meals and value we had in two weeks in Sardinia. J&D, Ireland

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deirdre t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
1.8 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Roccia
Hotel La Roccia
#6 of 17 in Palau
158 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Club Esse Posada Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccada

Address: Via Degli Asfodeli 6, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Palau
Price Range: £54 - £861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccada 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Piccada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccada Hotel Palau
Hotel Piccada Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing