We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacationing where we used to live”
Review of Hotel Piccada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Piccada
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Palau
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Hotel worked out very well. Staff was courteous and polite. Check in was easy. Staff helped make recommendations on where to eat, what might be open at odd hours. Room was clean, air conditioning worked (we needed it a night or two). Hot strong shower. Small refrigerator. No microwave. Room had a clothing rack to dry wet bathing suits/towels on the veranda. A light breakfast available each morning. Parking everywhere in Palau is a challenge, but staff worked with us and showed us where to park (and it worked fine for our five night stay). We could walk to the ferry from Piccada and take the ferry to La Maddalena. There was an economical grocery store just up the street from the hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the island side, so we had a great view (so pleasing to the eyes to wake up to).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kdmumbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (263)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 263 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2012

For a three-star bed and breakfast hotel, Piccada is a fantastic, especially for young to middle-aged couples with good mobility.
Built on a hill over-looking the harbour the myriad stairs make it a bit of a maze but the location by far makes up for this.
Bars, restaurants, a beach and a supermarket are all within a ten-minute walk, and, if you have a car, Palau is a great place to stay to explore the marine park and surrounds.
We were welcomed late at night and told to just park nearby and give the keys in at reception and someone would move it for us. This seemed to work very well for the rest of our week-long stay.
Our spacious double room was more luxurious than we had expected after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. We had a roof terrace with a stunning view to watch the ferries go to and from La Maddalena. There was also a microwave, fridge and tv.
The reception staff were friendly and very helpful around the clock, and although there is a bar adjacent, they were happy to open our bottles of wine and even let us borrow some glasses.
Breakfast was simple but ample continental style and was served from 7.30 till 10.30.
We would definitely consider staying here again.
Head for Ristornate Del Porticciolo, near the police station, to mix with the locals and have great, reasonably priced pizza and seafood.

Room Tip: Ask for a roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyHollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

This hotel is in a perfect location in the small town of Palau - right beside the port and restaurants and bars. There are 2 small beaches very nearby & a supermarket only two minutes walk away. The breakfast is great. The hotel decor is dated but perfectly clean and all towels are replaced every day as well as the room cleaned every day. Id highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186605Susan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed here for four nights in July. It was a nice little hotel with a decent sized room and the balcony gave us a good view over Palau. The room was clean and in very bright colours and the bed was comfortable. We even had a sofa and table with chairs in our room, and a table and chairs on the balcony too, so felt a little bit like a small apartment. There was a decent sized fridge too if you want to store any food/drink.

Liked the fact that the hotel had a bit of character and the rooms weren't all on top of each other - you felt like you had a bit of privacy. Staff were very friendly, helpful and recommended a good boat trip to go on to see the archipelago.

Very close to the harbour/main town (about 5 or so minutes walk), so very well located.

Be warned that there is limited parking available at the hotel, but we always managed to find a space.

Breakfast was pretty basic and very limited in variety, particularly if you're staying there for a few days, but it did full us up. It would have been nicer if there had been fruit available. Lots of bread and croissants! The juice from the dispense machines definitely didn't have real fruit in it!!

All in all a good hotel and would stay there again (but if you love your fruit for breakfast, I would recommend stocking up at a local supermarket - after all, there's a big fridge in your room to store it in!!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ge0rgie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for three nights. The location is good - a bit above town so quite quiet but only a few minutes walk to the waterfront and centre of town.

We had a double room with a balcony - it was a really good size, with a comfy bed, really good air con, a decent sized fridge, lots of clothes storage space and a balcony big enough to sit out on (although only one chair!). The bathroom was also very decent and the shower was super powerful which was appreciated!

The hotel was quiet, the staff are really friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok - pastries, cereal, yoghurt, so biscuits and dry toast slices with jams, salami and cheese. Could have been more inspiring and although the machine coffee was not too bad, the machine juices were really sugary which was a shame.

The gym is just a room with a few pieces of equipment and some weights. Only one piece of equipment worked though, so don't bank on a workout!

Overall though our room was really clean and comfy and we felt very settled, so a good base for exploring from!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResearchTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

In June 2012 I stayed 8 nights at Piccada - basics:

ROOMS:
- rooms were very light, with twin bed and sofa
- TV, Fridge AND microwave!
-bathrooms clean hairdryer, towels etc
- no swim pool and the gym is a tiny room

BREAKFAST:
- very basic: some buiscuits, croissants, dried toasts. A little disappointing as being in Italy the coffee and tea were all from dispensing machines hence not great taste.

AREA:
- Easy access to hotel from various entries. A good 8 min uphill walk from the Port. Eurospin supermarket excellent value another 5 minwalk uphill.Port has buses to various destinations. When windy, best beaches are those sheltered as the winds an become very strong.

Room Tip: Request for sea view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

My husband and I usually stay in 4* and 5* hotels so we were very nervous on booking a stay at the Hotel Piccado! Our room was on the second to top floor with a great view from our very private balcony and I am very happy to say that our room was very clean with a comfortable bed, sofa, table and chairs, fridge with freezer and at the end of the day there was lots of hot water for your shower. The staff were friendly, very helpful and trustworthy. We only had plastic cups in our room but when my husband asked for glasses they were more than happy to oblige! Our room was cleaned every day and I felt like I was getting into clean sheets every night! My only suggestion to hotel management would be to provide a more varied breakfast, some fruit or maybe eggs would have been good, I took my own fruit to breakfast! Palau is a great base for a holiday to Sardinia and we would definitely return to the Hotel Piccado.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views of Palau and the Island of Maddelana
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palau
0.2 mi away
La Vecchia Fonte Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palau
Hotel Palau
#2 of 17 in Palau
537 reviews
1.8 mi away
Residence Hotel Porto Mannu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Roccia
Hotel La Roccia
#6 of 17 in Palau
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Hotel Cala di Lepre & Spa
2.5 mi away
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
Le Nereidi Hotel Residence
#6 of 17 in La Maddalena
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piccada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piccada

Address: Via Degli Asfodeli 6, 07020, Palau, Sardinia, Italy
Region: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Palau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Palau
Price Range: £63 - £880 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piccada 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Piccada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piccada Hotel Palau
Hotel Piccada Sardinia/Palau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing