We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, service, food and views”
Review of El Higueron

El Higueron
Reserve with
El Higueron is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #66 of 744 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We came here for my girlfriends birthday and were very impressed. the food was fantastic (suckling pig gets a special recommendation) staff were very helpful and the chef made fresh gluten free bread for my girlfriend which she said was the best she has tasted. Value was great with the bill at about the 100 euro mark for 2 courses and a bottle of champagne. Overall would definitely revisit and recommend to friends and family,

Thank DS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Higuerón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014
Google Translation

Hola DS84.

Muchas gracias por tu atención y por dedicarnos tiempo con tu opinión. Valoramos todas las opiniones y te animamos a que continues visitándonos y ayudandonos a mejorar con tus comentarios.
Saludos cordiales, seguimos en contacto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 581 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

In a rather random location kind of overlooking the highway but don't be put off...the food is superb!!

Four of us had what could only be described as a banquet of food. Shared about 6/8 starters and a main each of incredible meat, plus a few bottles of very nice wine and it worked out to €80 per head. For the quality of food and wine that we had, I found it very reasonably priced.

I should add that they have some very good affordable wines. Highly recommend the Naia (white) and the Habla del Silencio (red)...you won't believe what good value they are!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alex g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Higuerón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola Alex:
Muchas gracias por tu atención y por dedicarnos tiempo con tu opinión. Valoramos todas las opiniones y te animamos a que continues visitándonos y ayudandonos a mejorar con tus comentarios.
Saludos cordiales seguimos en contacto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We went for Valentines Day - it was super romantic and the service was awesome :) We ordered meat a la plancha, which is meat served with hot plates, so that you can finish cooking the meat on your plate. The meat is SO GOOD :) I can def. recommend El Higueron, whether it is for dinner, tapas or just to have a drink in the bar :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AlicjaKeyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Higuerón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola Alicia:
Muchas gracias por tu atención y por dedicarnos tiempo con tu opinión. Valoramos todas las opiniones y te animamos a que continues visitándonos y ayudandonos a mejorar con tus comentarios.
Saludos cordiales seguimos en contacto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Easily accessible from the motorway (exit 217), ample parking and friendly staff. Probably best to book a table in advance and ask for the terrace (terraza) to ensure you can make the most of that spectacular view. The staff were friendly, polite and helpful. We had sliced octopus served on boiled potatoes with a dollop of mustard (15e)- excellent. The jamon was overpriced (23e) and although good, was a bit hard for my liking and not really up to scratch. We shared a succulent 400g fillet steak (35e) served on a hot plate (not hot stone) which finished us off!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JohnPaulGibraltar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Higuerón R, Director de Relaciones Públicas at El Higueron, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014
Google Translation

Hola John Paul:

Muchas gracias por tu atención y por dedicarnos tiempo con tu opinión. Valoramos todas las opiniones y te animamos a que continues visitándonos y ayudandonos a mejorar con tus comentarios.
Saludos cordiales, seguimos en contacto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I live close by, and pass this establishment lately daily. It has a huge parking, and what I find surprising, is that is always full - on fancy cars. From outside it might even look like a very good kept secret.

But it is not just worth of what it looks it is. The views are amazing, no arguing there, so go there in summer, they have a beautiful terrace and enjoy the cooling night with a drink.

Dinner or lunch - I wont return. I've tried it, and I did not like the food, and many people say the same, the kitchen is not up to any standards.

The service - you are not warmly welcomed. I've visited on different occasion, just to have a drink and I've never seen a smile.

The price - I guess you can guess already.

Maybe it is a place for some special people that I am not, because as I said in the beginning the parking is full, always, no matter the day or time of year.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Antoanna888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Higueron also viewed

Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to El Higueron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing