We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Restaurant / Hidden Gem - If you’re particular about food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carnaval

Carnaval
Ranked #163 of 682 Restaurants in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Excellent place for dinner with the family. The menu is wide and has choices for everyone, Fish, Meats, Pasta and Pizza. All our dishes are fresly coocked by the order, and specially prepare for you. We have a Special three courses set menu for 12,90 and many dishes from 8,50 served with potatoes and vegetables, they are a complete meal on their ownIf you have any special request, please tell our staff and we will do our best to please you. We loock forward to serve you.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant / Hidden Gem – If you’re particular about food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We were introduced to Carnaval Restaurant by a couple we met towards the end of our holiday in May 2010. Located just off the seafront, it is a little hard to find but well worth the effort.

It is only slightly dearer than average seafront type restaurants but the food is far superior, being beautifully cooked, full of flavour and well presented. Unlike the seafront “cheapies”, Carnaval take care to use separate cooking utensils for fish and meat – very important to my wife, who suffers from a minor stomach disorder and cannot tolerate meat or chicken dishes tainted with a fishy taste.

Since finding this hidden gem, we’ve been back for our evening meals almost every day of our week’s holiday in September 2010 and again in May/June 2012 – and for very good reason. Service in this family run (by Ernesto & Natalia) restaurant is excellent and menu choice, A La Carte or Special, is very good and reasonably priced.

I especially like the steak and fish, whereas my wife enjoyed their chicken and tortilla dishes. Another added advantage – if you only use part of your bottle of wine, they will store it for use on your next visit. Plus it is very close to our hotel (Sunset Beach) – we’ll definitely be back.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Suburban_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantCarnaval, Propietario at Carnaval, responded to this review, 11 February 2017
Thank you always for your custom Suburban_Couple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    30
    4
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“eat here, every visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Been visiting the Costa forever and found this little secret a few years ago. It really has great food and you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alhbedfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantCarnaval, Propietario at Carnaval, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your comment, we try to please everybody and hope to serve you again.
Ernesto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west sussex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Benalmádena,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

This place is without doubt the best food you will eat, the service is excellent , the food is really really excellent, i have the fillet steak when we go and i have never had steak like it and the other choices on the menu are equally as good as other members of our party rave on about what they had, its not the cheapest but its the old saying you get what you pay for, put it this way we went there 3 of the 7 nights we were on holiday!! there is a lot of very average place to eat along the seafront selling tacky English food (i,e The Barnsley Chop etc) give them a miss and try here you wont be disappointed i can assure you!! Roll on next years holiday!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank loppys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantCarnaval, Propietario at Carnaval, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review, makes me work more confortable and seeking to please everyone. It is a pleasure to have customers who appreciate our work . We hope to serve you soon again. Ernesto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“a diamond amongst the rough”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We found Carnaval after our third day of a week long vacation in Spain. There were four in our party (two very fussy eaters and two that could eat anything). Carnaval was a real find! Spanish dishes were cooked fresh with good quality ingredients and were exceptionally tasty - on top of that at very reasonable prices! Everyone in our party was satisfied.

Some standouts for us were their seafood paella - the best we've tasted - fresh with all that fantastic seafood goodness (requires at least 30 mins to cook as it is made to order). Tapas was superior in quality. And as far as desserts go - we particularly got addicted to one of their home cooked desserts called Spanish Creme - lovely, light and melt in your mouth!

The owner Ernesto, is just welcoming, always with a lovely smile and always on hand for some amazing recommendations from the menu - just good old fashioned friendly Spanish hospitality.

We ate here thrice because we found no other restaurants in the area could beat the quality and tastiness of the food. We can't recommend Carnaval restaurant enough - it's a MUST visit! :))

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank w0rldwidew0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantCarnaval, Propietario at Carnaval, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about the restaurant Carnaval, These will be worth to continue doing our best and and improve our food and service, we are not in the way of most of the tourist and will help them to find us. Hope to see you soon again it is being a pleasure to have you in the restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benalmadena, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friends night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Excellent food at reasonable prices. Went with four other friends and enjoyed starters of garlic mushrooms and mussels. Mains of steaks, chicken, pizzas all done to perfection. Wonderful ice cream and lovely Spanish coffee to round off the meal. Shots served with the bill, you either liked or hated the taste!. The service and friendly staff made it an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldfishGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestaurantCarnaval, Propietario at Carnaval, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you for your coment, I am sure will help to improve the restaurant .
And we hope to serve you soon again.
Ernesto Rivas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carnaval also viewed

 
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
Benalmadena, Costa del Sol
 

Been to Carnaval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing