We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of winter closure”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“beware of winter closure”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

stayed here from 3rd to 10th January 2013. Chose this hotel based on the reviews listed and found it to be nothing like was stated. Hotel restaurant, closed till end of March. Local restaurants recomended in reviews closed until March. Apart from the Supermarket and the bar next to it, it was all closed. Every day we had to take the train to either Benalmadena or Fuengirola just to eat. Train fare is now 1.70c each way per person so two of us spent over £80 in train fares in 7 days. The hotel is poor, 3 star never, more like one. Rooms were dirty, bed linnen had holes in them and was changed once in the week. The once white towels were now grey and stained. What maid service we did have was so bad they didnt even brush the floor. As for the kitchenette it is small and very poorly equipped. We were in room 208 (middle floor of 3) and as the walls and floors are so thin I had to go down to reception at 2am on one occaision to complain about noise from adjoining rooms tv and at 3am on another, Will we go back NO. Have been to this area many times and never had a hotel like this. We will be back, but not here.

Room Tip: corner rooms are the only room worth having ie 101 201 301 and same on opposite side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobWirralEngland_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    119
    93
    63
    80
See reviews for
82
197
25
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

just back from spending christmas and new year at this hotel.
the hotel has a warm and modern feel about it when you enter. the staff are all fantastic, friendly and polite.
It is only three levels high and it does have two lifts.
All rooms are sea facing, we were on the top floor room 321 on the end, it was great we had two balconies, the bigger one had table and chairs and got the sun all day.
the rooms were clean, bright and spacious. the kitchen area was nice and well equipt with hob, micro oven, toaster, coffee perculator and kettle .(Ask for instructions on how to work cooker , its easy once they show you)
The beds were comfy and sheets and towels changed regularly.
Right boutside in the car park is Torremuel train station, trains are every 20min , allways on time , very spacious and clean. one side goes to fuengarola the other side to Malaga.
the supermarket is down the hill a bit but if you turnleft when you come out mai door go to end of building and turn left again , follow the road round the bend you will find a flight of stairs on the left hand side, they are steep but much easier and quicker than the hill. when you get to the bottom of stairs cross the road and go right. the shop is roun the bend and has a bar in it.
the shop has a lot of english products, some cheaper than big super markets. further round the road is a small bar with wood burning stove, or you can walk right down to allmost the bottom and turn left .you will find a lovely tapas bar food is fantastic and its a right sun trap.
For 7euro take a taxi up the hill to the old village (Pueblo) it is beautifull the whole village is painted white, it has lots of bars and restaurants all lovely all differant . the golf society formaly momoses is up to the left, it has live music on .Thurday and Saturday a great local band playing kinda blue grass and on Friday a female doing some mo town, both are great. the foods good too . Barry and Dianne are great fun.
The town has shops and a bank alo further along the road on the other side of the town you will find the Budist temple it is awsome def a must visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the one on the end are prob the best we had 321 it was def the best in the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jayjay305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Positives: hotel is opposite a train station, staff friendly and helpful, a range of cooking utensils, cooker, microwave & fridge in the kitchen, room had TV, heater, AC, the beach was 5 minute walk, small supermarkets nearby.
Negatives: Hotel is in a small town called tourmuelle and not in Benalmadena. There are no halal food shops in tourmuelle, if you require halal food then it is best to stay in Benalmadena itself or in Malaga. There is no money exchange in tourmuelle.
Overall, if you want a quiet, relaxing atmosphere, away from the busyness of city life, then Vista De Rey is the place to be.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank star241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Travelled with my partner and our 5 year old daughter. We knew from a previous holiday in Benalmadena that the fact that the hotel was next to the train was going to be a massive bonus, and we weren't wrong. Arrived fairly late in the evening so we went down to Bar Chique (2 minutes walk away) for a few bottles of Mahou and then returned to the hotel, where the bar/reception staff very kindly ordered us a Pizza. Bar prices were very reasonable on local beer and wine too!

We found that some of the other guests weren't too impressed with the breakfast, which consisted of sliced bread, bread rolls, ham, cooked meats, cheese, cereals, coffee and juice. If i'm being honest, it wasn't spectacular, the bread was a little tough some days and the cheese was like nothing I've ever tasted in my life, but, it was sufficient, and by the end our stay I was starting to look forward to my toast and jam in the mornings.

Room was clean, maid changed our sheets/towels at least every other day. Only bad thing about the hotel itself was the fact that the walls are so thin, you can hear everything your neighbours do!

There are a couple of small restaurants just down the hill. A small Spanish Tapas bar (amazing Chorizo) and a more formal restaurant, where I had the best steak I've ever eaten in my life!! Again both very reasonably priced!

We enjoyed taking the train most days, exploring each of the little towns along the Costa, only 3.30 for all 3 of us. I would highly recommend Los Boliches. We also walked along the coast on at least one leg of the journey each day to either Benalmadena, Torremolinos or the other way to Fuengirola, there is ample opportunity to stop for a drink or snack along the way.

On the way to Benalmadena there are a few small-ish beaches, completely empty! Great for my daughter and her Dad to build their massive fortress/sand castles, and no lucky-lucky men!

Overall, a great base for exploring!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummystabbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Just had a very restful week at the Vista De Rey - would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good, clean, comfortable base with excellent access to the railway line serving the Costa Del Sol. The balconies are very spacious and I would recommend asking for a first floor room as you are sheltered from any rain but still have the privacy that the ground floor rooms didnt have.
We went self catering and the kitchen facilities are perfectly good for 2 people to put the occasional meal together although we found that in most cases it was just as cheap to eat out using the menu del dia which averaged about 9 euros a head for 3 courses or even less if you used one of the Chinese restaurants in Arroyo De Miel one stop away on the train ( 1.65 euros adult single)
The local british supermarket was well stocked and had a small cafe area and next door but one was a bar which we didnt visit - we did however visit La Lucena restaurant a little further towards the beach on 3 occasions and can highly recommend the mixed fried fish and the tapas.
If you are looking for a relaxing break at a good price I can highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed here 11-18th October. Overall impression of the hotel is quite good. Clean and tidy, rooms spacious and well kept. Kitchen adequate for a weeks stay, bathroom well appointed.
Stayed self catering so no idea of food quality in dining room. Pool small, but okay to dip into and cool off. The staff were friendly and I had nothing but good service from all of them.
The hotel is a bit of a way from anywhere but has the efficient and quiet local trains within a hundred yards as compensation. British supermarket about 5 mins downhill walk (10 mins back, laden). A bar or two but nothing much of interest nearby. However, useful as a base to visit towns nearby. Supermarket right next to the station entrance in Fuengirola is useful to know as the Super Save British supermarket near the hotel is limited and a bit on the dear side.
Eating out in Arroyo de la Miel, Torremolinos and Fuengirola is reasonably cheap and varied. Malaga restaurants are, on the whole, more authentic as Malaga, although it gets lots of visitors, is not a purpose built resort town. Nor is Arroyo de la Miel, ut as it runs directly into Benalmadena has succumbed to the Burger King brand!
Recommend taking the trip an the cable car from Arroyo de la Miel up to the top of the mountain and a day trip to Gibraltar allows you to stock up on cheap, duty free tobacco, spirits etc.
All in all, a good trip, but next time I will look at staying a bit nearer the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Roderick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

just returned from Vista De Rey we did enjoy our stay here although we had 4 days rain. The rooms are spacious and have all the usual requirements if you are self catering. We went room only as we much prefer to eat out so I cannot coment on the food if you go half board.
I will admit that we found the distance from Benalmadena a pain as we had to commute daily either by bus or train.
The bar down the small hill (Chique) is nice but dont have a restaurant so the only other place to eat within walking distance is the Spanish restaurant which we ate at twice. I found the menu ok but a bit pricey.
The staff were helpful with us as we had a rather noisy neighbour move in half way through our stay and we were moved straight away so that we didnt have to listen to them talking loudly / singing & swearing when they returned from a night out.
I think I would have liked the cleaner to visit more than every three days but it didnt cause us much of a problem as we always keep things tidy anyway.
I disagree that the lady on reception was unfriendly, we found her quite nice, maybe if you are pleasant to people then you get a similar response.
We probably wont return to this hotel again only because the position is too far from where we like to be in Benalmadena.

Room Tip: If you have a chance ask to be in either room 321 or 301 as they are at the end of the top floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
181 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
809 reviews
2.6 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
382 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#24 of 45 in Benalmadena
580 reviews
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Property: Vista de Rey
Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Onthebeach, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing