We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location and hotel”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The on line photo does not do this hotel justice!! The hotel is only about 5 years old and very modern and clean, The staff are very helpful and friendly and nothing is too much bother for them. Our only gripe would be the breakfast. We would definitely advise you to go self catering as the breakfast is pretty meagre and if you are not down early enough, there is even less to choose from.
The Vista de Rey is located beside the railway station which has trains running every 20 minutes right up till about 11pm. Great way to get about and see more of this lovely area of Spain.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MsRed23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

My mum, sister and I stayed here for a week in August, on the recommendation of a friend who had also booked it (to stay a month after us). Well what can I say? The saving grace of these apartments is their vicinity to the railway line... literally across the road. The area of Torremuelle is quiet, and lacking in shops. We knew it would not be a hive of activity, but expected a few more grocery stores, or at least a bakery. Unfortunately there was very little, the main food store being an over-priced grocers owned by Glaswegian ex-pats.
With regards to Vista De Ray itself, the front desk staff were OK...typical Spanish. Our apartment was pretty dirty on arrival. The bed linen and towels were clean, but the floors were covered in various manner of crumbs and hairs (gag), and the kitchen work tops were crumby and greasy. Altogether it was pretty off-putting, and I immediately left in search of some antibacterial spray and wipes in the grocers.
If you book a triple room (double and sofa bed), be prepared to set up and dress the sofa bed yourself, even if you haven't a clue about them. We were informed at check-in by a Spanish man (who sounded EXACTLY like the 'Alcoves Guy' from 'In Bruges'!) that "the sofa bed will only take a minute or two to set up". Well this wasn't quite true. We physically couldn't get the sofa bed set up, so phoned down to reception to ask for someone to come up. A good while later the 'Alcoves Guy' appeared, insisting that it would only take a minute. Well after 20 minutes of serious struggling, grunting, pulling and shoving, the bed was in place, and the man's shirt was stuck to him with sweat. It really was a hilarious sight.
The pool area is small, and overlooked by every apartment, so we paid to get the train to the beaches at Los Boliches or Torremolinos every day. Plaza Mayor is also worth a visit, 20 minutes away.
Torremuelle offers very little for night-times. There is a new restaurant, Blanco, down at the seafront, we went twice; the first time was great, the second time was embarrassingly wick. My recommendation would be to stay in Los Boliches; excellent big beach with life guards, plenty of shops, restaurants and bakeries. There is also a gorgeous hotel, The Yaramar, which looks divine.
All in all, the Vista De Ray is basic accommodation, the basement 'breakfast room' was something of an unspoken health hazard. It was always empty and in darkness, almost on the verge of shutting down. The apartments' website also advertised a 'free shuttle bus to the beach'... When we inquired about this at the reception, the man blatantly shook his head and said there was no shuttle bus at all, but we could walk to the local bus station if we wanted to go to a beach. What was that about? Pretty sneaky lie to get bookings??
I loved my week in the Costa Del Sol, but not these apartments. When I go back I will be staying somewhere nice in Los Boliches. Avoid Torremuelle and the Vista De Ray.

Room Tip: Avoid Torremuelle and just stay in Los Boliches!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MayFairQueenBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Booked for 3 nights November , heating wasn't working manager said engineer was working on it. Went to reception later to see if it was gonna be fixed told by receptionist a engineer would be out tomorrow, So nothing but lies from staff.we moved out as it was cold n dirty. A disgusting place should be shut down. Avoid if you want a good holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackpool271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a ten night stay at this superb small and friendly hotel,Ican concur with the vast majority of reviews value for money modern and clean/no need to worry about carrying water/provisions for a self catering stay,just nip in to Fueguerrolla on the train massive supermarket next door to station.Also no need for expesive bus or taxi transfers under four euros for two from and to airport.The staff are very helpful courteous and friendly. Having been to the costa many times this is the relaxed way to see it/let the train take the strain GO TO THE VISTA DE REY.Ray & Maureen Carluke Scotland.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor for better views but all apartments have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank raymond g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned after a 4 night stay with my husband, was given room on the 1st floor room 103 opened patio doors and walked out to sun loungers and pool, was planning to go to the beach in fuengirola, but ended up staying at pool in hotel, so also saved on renting sun beds at beach.
Vista de Rey is situated right beside Torremuelle train station which is a godsend, it only costs 1.75 euro on train, which stops at Benalmadena Torrmolenios Fuengirola so you can eat out at night where ever you want.
Do not get put off by negative reports , you get what you pay for, accomodation was spotless and staff at reception desk very helpful, we got this hotel so cheap that we actually kept it for another day as we had a late flight.
Would definitely recommend if you are looking for a base, I have paid double the money we have paid for here elsewhere , and the accomodation here was much nicer and cleaner.

Room Tip: First floor opens up directly to pool, but heard 3rd floor gets the sun and view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanpratt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Hotel was booked for 2 for 5 nights.
A nice quiet remote setting. The hotel is situated at torremeulle station and just outside the station, no need to work any further which is great. Benamedina is just 1 stop away on the metro train.

The nearest convenience store is 5minutes walk.
The beach is 5 minutes walk.

The hotel serves cold breakfast consisting of cereals, toast, bread, cold boiled egg, slices of ham and cheese, jam. Thats all I was alittle dissapointedfor that.

The rooms are great, although they change towels every 3 days and clean the room every 3 days.

We booked the gibralta excursion totally worthit was 20euros each per person to go to mainland gibralta but to get to gibralta rock and st.michaels cave a further 22 euros each per person. Amazing totally worth it.

We also booked for another excursion to tanger morocco, DONOT BOOK OR GO. Totally not worth it, messed around. The tour was a shambles. Costs 60euros per person.
Told us to be collected at 7 wasnt collected til 08.10am, thentook 4 hours up down the coast in the coach collecting others on tour. Took 4hrz to the port then 40mi s to 1 hr in ferry.you spend 3hrs on mainlandin a groip shown around the old town and have a disaster of ameal.no time to shop the an ordeal back to mainland spain via same route, taking 6hrs as the coachdriver was drunk and awaiting a replacement, no apology no remorse ffor young kids no food or drink all on the individuals expense. Also got back to the hotel gone 1am.

Hotel is very nice and quiet but its a 3/4 out of 5. No night life. Good service friendly staff. Recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amina198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel but beware it isn't in the location indicated by tripadvisor maps if your using a satnav in a hirecar locate the torremuelle trainstation as a guide as the hotel is right next to it ,it will certainly save you the hastle we had finding it at 1am but apart from that the hotel was great and very quiet if you're looking for a chilled out holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
326 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
195 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
297 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
149 reviews
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £10 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing