We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Gem - if you want a quiet relaxing holiday this is it.Great value for money !”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 11 nights here from 1st June . We paid 27 Euro a night via Trivago and it was brilliant value for money. The room was clean with a decent kitchenette that was equipped with Microwave,kettle,toaster, hob etc ( take your own tea towel), a bathroom with a very hot shower and a flat screen TV as well as air con. When using the TV if you get a channel that is dubbed, press audio and select the next language option ( think it says qaa) and you get it in English or American. If you press Source and take the second menu option you get sky true movies and Sky news.The room is cleaned every 3 days and the sheets and towels are changed too. The pool is smallish but ok, it doesn't open until 10 and you can't reserve sunbeds. It was about half occupied when we were there so we never had a problem getting one. Staff are all very friendly and will give you a smile and a greeting if you make the effort. If you go down the hill ( not too steep) there is a local supermarket and a couple of restaurants but the train service is so cheap and fantastic we used it every day. Get the train from the airport to Toremuelle when you arrive, it's a couple of Euro and stops right opposite the hotel. A 3.50 Euro return takes you along to Either Fuengirola or Malaga and you can get on and off as many stops as you like that day so we went to the beach ( Carvajal best beach ) in the morning and then somewhere else for dinner at night all on the same ticket,last train back is around midnight. Los Boliches is nice for beaches and eating too,as is Fuengirola. You can eat out really cheaply with a lot of places offering set menus from as little as 5.95 Euros. At Los Boliches and Fuengirola there are big supermarkets right next to the train station which are really reasonably priced and handy for popping into on your way home for essentials. The apt has a good fridge so we kept it well stocked. We also hired a safe at 4 euros a day and we found it really good for peace of mind. The only note of caution is if you arrive late at night as we did make sure you get a sandwich and some drink at the airport to take to the hotel as there is nowhere to get any food. In the morning you are as well to get on the train ( they run every 20 mins) and go to the supermarket for supplies or go out for breakfast. We paid 5 Euros each for the hotel breakfast and the best thing I can say about it is - don't do it :-) in Fuengirola the coffee shops do coffee with free churros - doughnut - which are a great deal. I would say this place is ideal for couples and families but not really suited to large groups.
We had a great relaxing holiday here and will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open directly to the pool terrace so there isn't a lot of privacy when you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Powellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Greeted with "I've given you the best room in the hotel", we had one of 4 rooms with 2 balconies; it had the best view down the valley to the sea. Room, adequate breakfast and good dinner (off site by about 500metres) for £18.20 each per day! Frequent (20 mins), reliable and cheap train service, to Malaga and Fuengirola and all points between, right at the front door.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week 06.05.201 to 13.05.2014. This is my 1st holiday alone, i usually go with friends/ relatives. Firstly this hotel is right in front of the Torremuelle train station, you can get the train from the malaga airport to torremuelle for 2Euros single.

The important info: this hotel is very isolated from the shops, the nearest shop is down a steep hill around 5mins walk (its okay when you go down, however when you go backup with 3l of water is no fun!). When you want to go around anywhere you need to use the train/ hire a car, train ticket is E3.50 return, so if you go out in the morning/afternoon to the beach & out in the evening everyday is in total 7euros person. There is a beach 5-10mins walk down the steephill but the beach is quite rocky & quite. The nearest beach i would go is carvajal (1stop away from torremuelle). As i say above, this hotel is v isolated and the cheapest method to travel is by train, E3.50 ticket return.

The hotel its self is very good & clean, staffs are polite, however the food is "too simple" Breakfast is very little to choose from, everyday whilst i wast there; bacon + baked beans + cereals + coldmeats + tinned fruits + coffee/tea & milk. For the evening dinner (i went for halfboard) they outsource it to a restaurant called Blankko. Blankko is situated down the hill; the quality of the food is v. good however while i was there the treatment i got from one of the waitress was not the best (she have blonde hair, face of an angel but her attitude sucks), i think the customers that goes to this restaurant are very wealthy & from what i can see they are all pretty/beautiful and people who goes to vista de rey are mostly want a cheap good holiday, i.e. average joe, if you know what i mean. But That will be another story.

I would recommend this hotel for a single/ active group of people however not for family as to getting anywhere train/ hire a car is a must, if you have large family the cost will mount up and very little amusements/activities for kids. I also recommend self catering as quality food is "too simple".

Only 3 stars for Vista de Rey due to the location & the location!

Room Tip: Choose for room 312- 316, i was in 314 and it gets sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EliHd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

2nd time ive been there in 12 months. exllelent value for money.rooms always clean,and staff friendly. excellent location and train stop opp hotel. Train fares I understand are ony a couple of eros to Malaga and less for more local stops. I always hire a car and parking is free and within walkng distance is a couple of good shops and bars/restraunts.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bootlegger37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We used this hotel for a short stay, so the fact it was a bit outside of Benalmadena wasn't too much of an issue. However a long stay would have meant spending quite a lot on taxis to and from town.
The rooms were perfectly ok - very clean and a good size. We had no real issues with the staff or other guests.
One thing that did leave a bad taste in the mouth was that my partner seems to have 'lost' an expensive bottle of perfume and my step daughter a bangle during our stay. I've seen this sort of thing mentioned in other reviews. Use the safe or don't leave things hanging around.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank SpannerandSwank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed at the vista rey 21/3/2014 to 28/3/2014. Hotel was OK and a good base for exploring the coast by way of the train.On the wed I discovered that 50 euros was taken from my purse in the room, I know it is my fault for accidentally leaving my purse when we went out. However when I reported it to the woman on reception just to let them know not to try to claim or anything she abruptly dismissed me serveral times. She said repeatedly that it was impossible. Just be careful and don't, leave anything valuable in your room.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank valerie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

We arrived on the 10th of march, we knew the hotel was out of the way when we booked...that didn't bother me, the train was 1.75 for most journeys as a single other than Malaga that was about 3 for a single.
The hotel was noisy, we were next door to the family that someone else commented "lived there"
The noise from them was horrendous, but not too bad once we were moved
On the final night about 60 foreign exchange students arrived
It was meant too be a 3* hotel not a hostel.
The staff were nice enough...but the noise was pretty bad.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahCameron2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Rosa
Hotel Casa Rosa
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
296 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
193 reviews
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,977 reviews
2.6 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#31 of 45 in Benalmadena
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £12 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing