We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Vista de Rey
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A short break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a last minute cheap five day break.

The positives : the hotel is really easy and cheap to access from the airport train station. The rooms are clean the staff are helpful and the hotel is quiet.

The negatives:

The pool is tiny and there are very few sunbeds. The pool bar was no longer open and although there was a small bar inside the hotel. There is no food available at all after breakfast, which is very basic and happens in the depths of the hotel... A bit like a dungeon!

If you are half board the restaurant is a about half a mile away down a very steep hill, also where the supermarkets is, it's worth the stroll down but if you have any mobility issues you will struggle on the way back.

If you want a base to explore the costa del sol its ideal, if you are after a two week retreat then give it a miss, you will disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLM820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    108
    83
    53
    66
See reviews for
74
167
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

I travelled to Benalmadena with my mum for my brothers wedding. We have differing views on the hotel.
Food
The one thing that we agreed on is the food, the breakfast was not good, rock hard bread, cold beans and bacon (that was the extent of the hot food) and you ate in the basement, no windows or natural light. The evening meal was outsourced to a local restaurant called Blankkos, which is set in a fabulous location and has a very nice set up, our waitress was lovely. The food on the other hand was less than adequate. We ate there twice (thats all we could handle). You were given two options for each course, a fish dish and a meat dish. I have an allergy to fish so I had one choice. The food in my opinion looked and tasted like it was left over from lunch time.
We looked at the menu before we went and got excited about all the different dishes we would be trying, how disappointed where we.
Hotel Location
I like to be out of the centre of things, I like a nice quiet hotel in a semi rural location, with good transport links, this hotel for me is that, the hotel is right beside the train station (30 seconds), the bus stop is about 10 minutes down a steep hill, (if you have walking difficulties this hotel is not for you.) Take the train if you want to go shopping in the town, take the bus if you are heading to the beach or promenade. If you enjoy being in the centre of it all this hotel is not for you.
Rooms
Our Bedroom was a good size, reasonably clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was a good size, although there were no dish cloths or drying cloths supplied. The bathroom was spacious but the shower could have been cleaned a bit better. The maid only comes every three days and didn't empty our bins, but left fresh towels and I'm assuming changed the beds.
Hotel facilities
There was a bar but it was manned by whoever was on reception, not a great selection, but there were several vending machines. The pool area was small with about 20 sun loungers. There seem to be some Spanish families that live there or own the apartments, they were there for about 4 of the days the same as us and completely took over the place and were very noisy at night.
Staff
There seemed to be four receptionist, one seems very grumpy all the time, one didn't really speak any English (my Spanish is limited), one I never spoke to and the other was lovely, always really helpful and willing to do whatever she could to help you.

In conclusion if you are happy with a small hotel, basic and reasonably clean, in a remote location, with good transport links and are getting it for a bargain price, then this will suit you.
If not, pay extra and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubagirle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing little place! Quiet location but a two minute walk from the train station where you can get the train to everywhere for less than five euros! .. Lovely clean apartment and nice pool area. Ground floor apartments are perfect as they open onto the pool side.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Largs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent 11 nights here from 1st June . We paid 27 Euro a night via Trivago and it was brilliant value for money. The room was clean with a decent kitchenette that was equipped with Microwave,kettle,toaster, hob etc ( take your own tea towel), a bathroom with a very hot shower and a flat screen TV as well as air con. When using the TV if you get a channel that is dubbed, press audio and select the next language option ( think it says qaa) and you get it in English or American. If you press Source and take the second menu option you get sky true movies and Sky news.The room is cleaned every 3 days and the sheets and towels are changed too. The pool is smallish but ok, it doesn't open until 10 and you can't reserve sunbeds. It was about half occupied when we were there so we never had a problem getting one. Staff are all very friendly and will give you a smile and a greeting if you make the effort. If you go down the hill ( not too steep) there is a local supermarket and a couple of restaurants but the train service is so cheap and fantastic we used it every day. Get the train from the airport to Toremuelle when you arrive, it's a couple of Euro and stops right opposite the hotel. A 3.50 Euro return takes you along to Either Fuengirola or Malaga and you can get on and off as many stops as you like that day so we went to the beach ( Carvajal best beach ) in the morning and then somewhere else for dinner at night all on the same ticket,last train back is around midnight. Los Boliches is nice for beaches and eating too,as is Fuengirola. You can eat out really cheaply with a lot of places offering set menus from as little as 5.95 Euros. At Los Boliches and Fuengirola there are big supermarkets right next to the train station which are really reasonably priced and handy for popping into on your way home for essentials. The apt has a good fridge so we kept it well stocked. We also hired a safe at 4 euros a day and we found it really good for peace of mind. The only note of caution is if you arrive late at night as we did make sure you get a sandwich and some drink at the airport to take to the hotel as there is nowhere to get any food. In the morning you are as well to get on the train ( they run every 20 mins) and go to the supermarket for supplies or go out for breakfast. We paid 5 Euros each for the hotel breakfast and the best thing I can say about it is - don't do it :-) in Fuengirola the coffee shops do coffee with free churros - doughnut - which are a great deal. I would say this place is ideal for couples and families but not really suited to large groups.
We had a great relaxing holiday here and will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open directly to the pool terrace so there isn't a lot of privacy when you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Powellt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caterham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Greeted with "I've given you the best room in the hotel", we had one of 4 rooms with 2 balconies; it had the best view down the valley to the sea. Room, adequate breakfast and good dinner (off site by about 500metres) for £18.20 each per day! Frequent (20 mins), reliable and cheap train service, to Malaga and Fuengirola and all points between, right at the front door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Helpful?
4 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week 06.05.201 to 13.05.2014. This is my 1st holiday alone, i usually go with friends/ relatives. Firstly this hotel is right in front of the Torremuelle train station, you can get the train from the malaga airport to torremuelle for 2Euros single.

The important info: this hotel is very isolated from the shops, the nearest shop is down a steep hill around 5mins walk (its okay when you go down, however when you go backup with 3l of water is no fun!). When you want to go around anywhere you need to use the train/ hire a car, train ticket is E3.50 return, so if you go out in the morning/afternoon to the beach & out in the evening everyday is in total 7euros person. There is a beach 5-10mins walk down the steephill but the beach is quite rocky & quite. The nearest beach i would go is carvajal (1stop away from torremuelle). As i say above, this hotel is v isolated and the cheapest method to travel is by train, E3.50 ticket return.

The hotel its self is very good & clean, staffs are polite, however the food is "too simple" Breakfast is very little to choose from, everyday whilst i wast there; bacon + baked beans + cereals + coldmeats + tinned fruits + coffee/tea & milk. For the evening dinner (i went for halfboard) they outsource it to a restaurant called Blankko. Blankko is situated down the hill; the quality of the food is v. good however while i was there the treatment i got from one of the waitress was not the best (she have blonde hair, face of an angel but her attitude sucks), i think the customers that goes to this restaurant are very wealthy & from what i can see they are all pretty/beautiful and people who goes to vista de rey are mostly want a cheap good holiday, i.e. average joe, if you know what i mean. But That will be another story.

I would recommend this hotel for a single/ active group of people however not for family as to getting anywhere train/ hire a car is a must, if you have large family the cost will mount up and very little amusements/activities for kids. I also recommend self catering as quality food is "too simple".

Only 3 stars for Vista de Rey due to the location & the location!

Room Tip: Choose for room 312- 316, i was in 314 and it gets sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EliHd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

2nd time ive been there in 12 months. exllelent value for money.rooms always clean,and staff friendly. excellent location and train stop opp hotel. Train fares I understand are ony a couple of eros to Malaga and less for more local stops. I always hire a car and parking is free and within walkng distance is a couple of good shops and bars/restraunts.

Room Tip: All rooms look onto the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bootlegger37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#36 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#37 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,659 reviews
0.5 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar
Hotel Apartamentos Vistamar
#6 of 25 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Property: Vista de Rey
Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Superbreak UK and Priceline so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing