We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected...”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not what we expected...”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Visa De Rey on 20th July for our 2 week family holiday.

Upon arrival we noticed it was very remote and out of the way, however we were staying there to be near friends who had a villa.

The rooms were ok, basic but clean enough and the view from the balcony was lovely, however when trying to set the sofa bed up we struggled, so asked the maid for help, she said to ask reception... Noone came, so we made do with what we had set up.

The pool is tiny and freezing but easy to get a sunbed. The pool bar is CLOSED FOREVER as we got told and the small bar in reception is never open.

We were self catering and a good job as if you were 'full board' you had to walk a good 10-15 mins down the hill to get to their affiliated Restaurant 'Blankko' which is lovely but making the trip there and back 3 times a day with a 7yr old in 35° heat is not ideal.

The hotel is literally on the train tracks and we found this was the highlight of the holiday. We got the train every day €3.50 for a day ticket, takes you to Torremolinos, Fuengirola and Arroyo (Benalmedena).

Benalmedena is €12 each way.

Our best day was in Malaga on the train only €5 each and a stunning place to spend the day, would highly recommend it for shopping, eating and site seeing.

Mijas water park was also a good day out, and if you go after 3pm (it's open til 7) you get 40% discount. Need a train to Fuengirola then a taxi costs €5 or the bus which costs €1.80 each.

Our air conditioning broke and we reported it to reception twice and nothing got done about it, in the end I reset it through the fuseboard and it worked but not ideal as I say in 35° heat you need air con.

Overall we had an amazing holiday as we got to see loads of the Costa del Sol... Train to Los Boliches (approx 5 mins) is worth it, stunning beach, quiet and lovely...but the hotel was pretty poor service but fab location depending what you're looking for.

Alot anyone going self catering your best bet is using the supermarket at Los Boliches or Fuengirola as they are right next to the stations and cheaper and easier than traipsing up the steep hill with limited over priced goods from the local shop.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank louisesG7924GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    116
    90
    60
    75
See reviews for
80
187
24
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 10 days between the 21st-31st of July. Before we came we read many reviews that has been written for this place, some good but most negative, so we hadn't set our standards high, at around £27 per night we weren't expecting much. When we arrived into Malaga airport we got the train at around 10.30pm and it cost us 2euros each for a single to Torremuelle, the journey was around 20 minutes and the carriage was air conditioned and very clean, all in all over the whole holiday we have to say the train service was incredible, and places like El Pinillo (where there is a big Carefoure 5 min walk from the station) there were no barriers so you could get away with not purchasing a ticket for certain destinations.
We arrived at the hotel we really is directly opposite the Torremuelle train station, got our card from a very helpful and lovely receptionist and walked up to our 2nd floor room. When we walked in we were shocked, in a really good way. We were expecting basic/dirty/cramped conditions and the place was brilliant. It had everything we needed, the kitchenette had a kettle, microwave, toaster, hob, cutlery, crockery and cleaning things and a fridge /freezer. We were staying self catered so this kitchen was perfect for our needs. The bathroom was clean and the shower had very good water pressure. In the bedroom there was a large flat screen TV with around 40 channels which you could change to English audio, there was a large wardrobe and sofa and to our surprised a lovely balcony with a table and 4 chairs! We slept really well and the free wifi worked perfectly!
Although we weren't told about air conditioning we could see there was a unit in the room, i checked in the info book in the room which said we would have to pay 20euros to hire a remote for it which we thought was reasonable but when we asked the receptionist she said that they didn't want any money so that was even better. The air con unit was brilliant if a little too cold at times!

Cleaners came round every 3 days to change sheets/towels and generally tidy in the bathroom and the floor, both times these ladies visited us they were charming and non intrusive and did a very good job so we were very happy with that.
During our stay we tried to visit as many places as possible, on the first day we took a trip to the Carefoure in El Pinillo just 2 stops from Torremuelle, although later discovered there is a good local supermarket if you walk down the steep hill into Torremuelle run by a very rude Asian couple, although you can get most basic things here. Good for stocking up. We spent the rest of the day round the pool which is small, but fine. The only thing we would say negatively about the hotel is the other people staying there and that they did not know how to discipline their children - which is obviously nothing to do with the hotel. We slowly learnt the times when the pool was quiet (early morning and just after lunch) and only really went then otherwise it got quite loud. There was a bar but it didn't seem open even though we had menus for it in our room.

The next few days we took trips to Fuengirola, and visited the Bioparc which is a great zoo! The beach is also good there but VERY busy. We did wonder down to the beach at Torremuelle but it is very small and more rocky than sandy. The one beach we did go to was the one at Carvajal which despite the steep steps from the train station to the beach is quite a climb it is probably the closest beach and quietest beach to any station! We really enjoyed ourselves there but aren't really beach people, there is a great little inflatable park out into the ocean that you can hire lifejackets to play on.
We visited the aquarium Sea Life at Benalmedena, its really good, some amazing creatures and you get to see live shark feeding and otter feeding, it is over priced for how small it is but when we shopped at carefoure we got vouchers for 4euros off each, we got a taxi from the station which cost us around 7euros but walked back which took around 45 minutes through a lovely park in the middle of the town.

Another trip we took was to Aqualand. Just don't go, its 26euros each for adults to get in, then once you're in its 10euros to hire a ring, 7euros for a safety deposit box and around 8euros for a sandwich. The rides were bad, and the queues were long. We wish we hadn't wasted the money.
On our last day we visited Montemar a little stop just before Torremolinos. We wished we'd come sooner! The walk from the station to the sea front is long and we got a taxi back but it was worth it. The seafront is gorgeous and the beach looks brilliant, there are tons of restaurants and cafes and tourist shops, we had one of our favourite meals here.
We also visited Malaga centre with hopes of visiting the Picasso museum and a couple of others, in the end we only ended up going to the Picasso museum as it took us around 1 and a half hours to find it! the sign posting is so bad and the tourist info guy sent us in the wrong direction! Definitely plan ahead!

All in all we had a great time visiting this area and hotel as our first holiday as a couple, the staff were welcoming, it was clean and in a very convenient spot for seeing the sights, i cannot stress how good the train service is as it comes every 20 minutes!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank lilykerbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Just returned after staying for 7 days at Vista de Rey Hotel. Location excellent as a very short walk from the train station (which is ideal for exploring the Costa del Sol coastline) and a cheap transfer from the airport. Hotel room was on the 3rd floor (Room 312) and had a very nice sea view. Staff helpful as had an issue with doors onto the balcony and problem solved promptly. Hotel room very clean and comfortable. Would definitely return for another stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have excellent sea views and are not overlooked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights / 5 days here and found all the staff very helpful and the room just fine. We were on the third floor and was not disturbed by any noise at night.
Breakfast could be improved a little by moving the breakfast area and ensuring the food remains hot.
The pool bar whilst we were their did not open once neither was there an opportunity to purchase any food from the bar has advertised. On the up side it is close to the train station which means you can get about very easily. Even to and from the airport no journey was any more than €3.50 return.
Please take note if you have any mobility issues your evening meal is situated in a lovely restaurant at the bottom of a fairly harsh hill. About 10/15 min walk.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Topchimp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was a last minute cheap five day break.

The positives : the hotel is really easy and cheap to access from the airport train station. The rooms are clean the staff are helpful and the hotel is quiet.

The negatives:

The pool is tiny and there are very few sunbeds. The pool bar was no longer open and although there was a small bar inside the hotel. There is no food available at all after breakfast, which is very basic and happens in the depths of the hotel... A bit like a dungeon!

If you are half board the restaurant is a about half a mile away down a very steep hill, also where the supermarkets is, it's worth the stroll down but if you have any mobility issues you will struggle on the way back.

If you want a base to explore the costa del sol its ideal, if you are after a two week retreat then give it a miss, you will disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KLM820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I travelled to Benalmadena with my mum for my brothers wedding. We have differing views on the hotel.
Food
The one thing that we agreed on is the food, the breakfast was not good, rock hard bread, cold beans and bacon (that was the extent of the hot food) and you ate in the basement, no windows or natural light. The evening meal was outsourced to a local restaurant called Blankkos, which is set in a fabulous location and has a very nice set up, our waitress was lovely. The food on the other hand was less than adequate. We ate there twice (thats all we could handle). You were given two options for each course, a fish dish and a meat dish. I have an allergy to fish so I had one choice. The food in my opinion looked and tasted like it was left over from lunch time.
We looked at the menu before we went and got excited about all the different dishes we would be trying, how disappointed where we.
Hotel Location
I like to be out of the centre of things, I like a nice quiet hotel in a semi rural location, with good transport links, this hotel for me is that, the hotel is right beside the train station (30 seconds), the bus stop is about 10 minutes down a steep hill, (if you have walking difficulties this hotel is not for you.) Take the train if you want to go shopping in the town, take the bus if you are heading to the beach or promenade. If you enjoy being in the centre of it all this hotel is not for you.
Rooms
Our Bedroom was a good size, reasonably clean and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen was a good size, although there were no dish cloths or drying cloths supplied. The bathroom was spacious but the shower could have been cleaned a bit better. The maid only comes every three days and didn't empty our bins, but left fresh towels and I'm assuming changed the beds.
Hotel facilities
There was a bar but it was manned by whoever was on reception, not a great selection, but there were several vending machines. The pool area was small with about 20 sun loungers. There seem to be some Spanish families that live there or own the apartments, they were there for about 4 of the days the same as us and completely took over the place and were very noisy at night.
Staff
There seemed to be four receptionist, one seems very grumpy all the time, one didn't really speak any English (my Spanish is limited), one I never spoke to and the other was lovely, always really helpful and willing to do whatever she could to help you.

In conclusion if you are happy with a small hotel, basic and reasonably clean, in a remote location, with good transport links and are getting it for a bargain price, then this will suit you.
If not, pay extra and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scubagirle83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Amazing little place! Quiet location but a two minute walk from the train station where you can get the train to everywhere for less than five euros! .. Lovely clean apartment and nice pool area. Ground floor apartments are perfect as they open onto the pool side.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#34 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
2.3 mi away
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
Aparthotel Sunny Beach
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Europark 74 Aparthotel
Europark 74 Aparthotel
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
MS Alay Apartments
MS Alay Apartments
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Balmoral
Hotel Balmoral
#22 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Property: Vista de Rey
Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing