We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sooo worth the money could not fault this hotel!!! people need to read details more clearly!!!”
Review of Vista de Rey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vista de Rey
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 14 November 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for a week!! we did our researh before we went and knew it was in the mibble of nowhere, but with the great train links just outside this was not a problem. The trains were always on time and sooo cheap!!! we had our room cleaned once in the week but you are self catering and i dont want maids in constantly and if you do run out the people at the reception were only too happy too help. This hotel is very modern and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jherod22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Vista de Rey
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2009

Do your research before you go as you will find the hotel is not situated near any of the resorts, there are however two supermarkets one Spanish one English, a small scruffy English bar and a couple of restaurants down the hill toward the sea (no beach) .

We were very pleased with our room on arrival it was very clean, but it was then only cleaned to a low standard twice in 16 days which is not good enough,

The train stops just across the road and we used this to explore the whole of the area from Malaga to Fuengirola, the trains are cheap and run on time. its great for exploring this part of the Costa Del Sol, Arroya Del a Miel the next stop along towards Malaga is a nice little town with a good market, also go to Fuengirola for large supermarkets, Plaza Mayor shopping centre is also worth a visit, Torremolinas town is not worth a visit but the walk from there to Benalmadena is good. We also got oft the train at Carvhal and walked to Fuengirola along the front that was good also, don’t attempt to walk up to Benalmadena Pueblo it does not look far on the map but its very steep.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ttarrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Hey guys, just returned home today from this hotel.....on our arrival the apartment was lovely and clean and really spacious, however, our hotel was only cleaned once in our weeks stay and they arrived at ten o clock, and i said come back in half hour or so till we get out but she spoke no english so she handed us one toilet roll and 4 towels and didnt bother cleaning the room once we left.......we had no towels with us so after two days of use the towels were not clean and on our last nite i rang and asked the reception could we have two clean towels to get showered and i am still waiting on them!!!!!!!!!i dont see the point in paying a fortune for self catering accommodation when your apartments is never cleaned daily and your bed linen changed or made.....thats what we go on holidays for!!!!!!!!!!
Location wise.......there is a lil shop couple of minutes down the hill and kwiksave (larger store) around the corner......there are no bars or restaurants close by for an evening meal or drink and the hotel doesnt cater for meals either........... it is meant to be beside bemandelena and we walked last wed, our first day to the closest bars and restaurants to get into the strip and the promenade and it took us about 45 minutes to get to choose from a few places.The handiest thing about the hotel is the train station which is outside the hotel, cheap and easy to use, torrenmolinos was the easiest to get to the beach whereas benamedelena was still about 30 minutes walk to the marina which is defo well worth seeing, but you spend loads of money on taxis cause the train finishes at quarter to eleven, but lovely place when you go to it!!!!!!
and as for 350metres to the beach....ha what a joke.......not the proper beach, the proper beach is 35 minutes walk from the apartments.......and trust me the beach there on about is full of flies and just awful....torrenmolinos is the best beach and so easy to get to, once ye get off the train and get the lift which costs 50cents per person and its two seconds to the beach......

Found a gorgeous restaurant yesterday in the marina called DA Nano...italian restaurant...absolutely gorgeous.......and went to the Ice bar absilutely class...only three in europe.........

This hotel would suit people willing to stay at the pool and cook in their apartments, but not for beach people or heading out to restaurants and pubs!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2009

in the middle off nowhere no bars shop round the corner tram was only good ting cheap and on time cleaned room once in 7 days so no clean towels more for spanish than english nowhere near belanadena

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Myself and partner stayed at the Vista De Rey for a long weekend over bank holiday. When we arrived we was so surprised the room was perfect it was so clean and the kitchen was so up to date fully equiped with a microwave and electric hob !!

The service we recieved whilst we was there was great, the staff were all so helpful.

The location is not very good it was a long distance away from the main resort. We had a taxi to Costa Benalmadena were you will find various restaurants from French, Chinese, Indian, USA (Jacks), Mexican and Argentinean...They are facing the harbour and whilst having your evening meal you can watch all the boats coming in. There are various shops to look at which are situated along the harbour too

We would definitely return to these apartments but next time get car hire or even a moped to get there and back as it is a five min jorney all along the coast time (taxi was approx 10 euros one way)

You also have the train staion right across the street which takes you to Malaga.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mclellans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I was a little worried about what the hotle would be like as it was so cheap. I was very pleasantly surprised, it was lovely. Nice pool area, friendly staff, food all day. The rooms all have a kitchen so it would be great for self catering. I read some reviews before we went and most were good but said there was nothing in walking distance. This is not true, there is a supermarket, bars and restuarants just down the hill, oh and a beach. We wlked down to a lovely restaurant called lucianas. Very nice. I would definately reccomend these apartments and i would stay there again in future.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andif29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

We just returned from a 2 day stay at Vista de Rey. It was ok for a 3-star, I suppose.

The hotel is located in Torremuelle which is, as one reviewer has already pointed out, is NOT in Benalmadena. If you are arriving by car, make sure you get clear instructions as it was very confusing looking for the place and no one seems to have heard of it (why should they - there are thousands of hotels all over). If you are arriving by train, it's a piece of cake. The hotel is right in front of the station. There isn't anything else apart from private houses.This train line starts in Malaga, goes past the airport, Torremuelle and ends in Fuengirola. It is quite a walk down a steep hill to the beach. There is a shuttle bus though.

The hotel is built in a U-shape with the pool in the middle. If you sleep with the air-conditioning on, it should be quiet. If you decide to open the windows, you will either hear noise from the pool area (at night, people sit outside and drink) or you will hear noise from the road (unless you are on the side with the dead end road).

The kitchen was clean and hardly used, probably because there is no supermarket nearby and secondly, there wasn't anything like sponges or dishwashing liquid so cleaning up was impossible. It would only make sense to buy these things if you are staying for a week - even then, you wouldn't use it all. We just used the fridge for storing drinks and fruit.

The hotel offers a buffet breakfast for €5.50 for adults and €2.75 for kids. It's worth it considering there is no where else to go around unless you drive to the beach area for English breakfast.

Our floor was dirty upon checkin. Sand all over. There was a broom and dustpan in the kitchen so I cleaned it myself. On the second day, when my husband informed the maid in the evening that the room wasn't made up yet, he was told that rooms are serviced every second day.

The clientele is mainly English with some Spanish. English is spoken by the reception and cafe staff.

Pool is very small and there are only a limited number of sunbeds which lead to some people coming at breakfast to reserve their beds with towels - mind you these were English guests and not Germans!

If I were to go to the Costa del Sol again, I would try to get something closer to the beach.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank franinmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.8 mi away
Apartamentos Doramar
Apartamentos Doramar
#35 of 45 in Benalmadena
187 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Betania
Hotel Betania
#38 of 45 in Benalmadena
314 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
#23 of 45 in Benalmadena
627 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vista de Rey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vista de Rey

Address: Calle Guadalmedina s/n | Urbanizacion Torremuelle, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £23 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Vista de Rey 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Onthebeach, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vista de Rey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vista De Rey Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing