We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #18 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Polynesia, which wasn't long enough. We have two small boys - 4 and 18 months, and both loved every minue of it. The hotel is amazing - love birds in a huge aviary, turtles in their own pools, amazing water features inside. The rooms are great for a family of 4 - there are 2 double beds in the bedroom, then in the living area a sofa with a pull out trundle bed turns it into another double bed, which although a little hard, was surprisingly comfortable. There was still room for a dining table and cot in the living area. We had a room at the back of the hotel which had a double balcony, so if you put the kids to sleep in one room, you've still got access out to the balcony through the other room. Staff were brilliant - incredibly friendly and all fluent in english. The kid's club staff deserve a special mention - my 4 year old can be a little shy but went straight in on our 2nd day and didn't want to leave at the end of the session! There is a creche facility which you can pay for. Although we didn't use it I would have felt comfortable leaving my little one there as they only allow a very small number of babies. There's a mini disco every evening at 8.30 for the kids followed by the usual kind of entertainment - bingo then a show of some description, which was ok. They have a chill out party on sat eves which have an array of different entertainers around the pool. The beach club is a bit of a trek - not too bad down the hill (5 min walk) but a very steep hill back, however the shuttle bus ran every 10 - 15 mins, so isn't a real issue. The facilities at the beach club are great - there are very shallow areas for babies, pirate ships and caves to explore and wave pools for the older ones. If all inclusive you can book the day before to lunch at the beach club. The food both there and at the Polynesia is very good. It's quite varied and there's plenty of choice. The snack bar at the pool has both the usual chicken nuggets, as well as salad dishes. There are 2 themed restaurants which you can book the day before - chinese and polynesian. The chinese was great, the polynesian was ok.The railway line didn't bother us in the slightest, and we saw no rats whilst we were there. The only slight down side about the location is the distance to any shops/bars/restaurants which are not part of this complex. It's a 15 min bus ride to benalmadena. Overall for the price we were amazed at the quality of the hotel and had a fantastic time. Would definitely recommend to anyone with kids, although couples without may find it's a bit too kiddy orientated.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank nic21021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,603 - 1,609 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2011

We arrived at the hotel to find a very impressive lobby and thought wow! that is where it ended.
All Inclusive bit of a joke had to pay for water and national drinks.Also not coffee makers avliable fot the lunch and dinner so Its stupid because they are serving cakes and sweets.
The Pool area was Great but close to Railway Line.
Food was Good but repetitive and could have been warmer.Staff are not very friendly.We were late 10 min for the lunch and they said that we should use the bar in the pool and they didnt care that we are leaving that day.We used the pool bar and my wife was sick after that.It was not fresh.
We found the staff at the entertainment bar rude and ignorant....most of the staff were actually. Not one of the engaged in conversation with us in 7 days. We really felt like they didn't want us to be there.
Room floor never cleaned or balcony swept.Lots of dark hairs everywere.
Swimming pool small compared to the "Village Hotel" pool in the same complex.
The rooms and the hotel only well presented. Overall it is not very bad but we won't back and won't recommend it .

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank erwin32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Please ignore all the negative reviews, it's amazing for families with children, so much to do for all, this is defintley worth staying, food was fantastic something different everynight if you wanted, staff were very polite and helpful, children and entertainment staff were exceptional, we really had an really wonderful and relaxing holiday..

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hobbs337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Hotel is amazing! Staff very vigilant and friendly! perfect for families!!! U will never get bored here!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fearnley_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

It was good to visit at the very end of September when the hotel was not on full capacity. Amazing quality, great food, very friendly staff. This year, when trying to book a holiday, it soon became obvious that it's virtually impossible to find a likely match in the same price category.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelBoy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Upon Arrival check in was slow and had to carry own luggage to room.
Room was Very nice and had everything you require, hotel guest areas also nicely presented.

Did not agree with having to pay 18 euros for Room Safe, All Inclusive bit of a joke had to pay for water.

The Pool area was Great but close to Railway Line, also the only space we could find with Sunbeds around the Pool was beside a Storm Drain where Rats were constantly running out of the Drain.
Noted my concern to the Hotel Staff whom were not surprised when I mentioned this.

Great facilities for Children and the nightly entertainment was great for Children also.

Food was Good but repetitive and could have been warmer.

Overall a Good Hotel but the Rats need tending to especially where Children are playing.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

From other reviews I really didn't know what to expect, and was pleasantly surprised.

The hotel is part of a complex of Hotels and a water park known as holiday world the complex is still being developed.

The hotel is self contained, and has numerous facilities within it, it is busy and bustling or was in August, this was not a problem to us we are in our 50s and travelled with our adult daughter. We were there for five nights returning on 2nd September., we wanted a short break all inclusive with a short flight, so all boxes were ticked !

The Hotel is very good the public areas are stunning , have a look at videos on you tube
they give you a good idea of the hotel.
Our room which as far as I know was standard was at the front of the hotel looking at the hills behind it was quiet and in very good condition the bathroom was excellent two sinks, shower bath and bidet, very modern. The room was clean beds and towels were changed regularly cleaning staff we met were very friendly so no complaints at all.

As I mentioned earlier the hotel was very self sufficient, there was a cinema, bowling alley, large shop Three restaraunts and numerous bars.

The main restaraunt provides a large buffet we have been to many similar restaraunts in Cyprus ,Rhodes, Tenerife etc and the Polynesia stands up against them all. The organisation was quite amazing, the waiters took you to a table efficiently and there was an immense choice. The food can less than piping hot, but its hard to see what else they could do. One answer is to get food from the show cooking area this guarantees freshness and the temperature !
The pool area is large and although the hotel was completely full we had no problem getting sunbeds at any time of the day. Reserving did happen mainly on the pool edge but as we weren't bothered where we sat /laid it didn't bother us at all.

There were a lot of children in the hotel as you would expect and they all seemed very happy although we didnt have any with us we don't mind them at all if they do and you are a couple you may not like it but I would recommend the hotel to anyone with children there were clubs for different ages. The entertainment staff are hard working and large in number.
The entertainment wasn't always to our taste but the hotel seemed 50/50 English /Spanish( I am sure there were other nationalities as well, although this wasn't as obvious) The Holiday village hotel which seemed similar in size and was part of the complex was I understand 100% British and excusive to First Choice so you may prefer that !

My one complaint was that we were leaving the hotel to come home at 17.10, and I tried to book a late check out this was refused and We checked out at 12.00 noon. The all inclusive finished at noon although we had nowhere else to go and it seemed incredibly mean, especially having watched people waste food and drink all week ! When we checked out we put our luggage in the hotel store room and after I had done so my armband was removed by one of the reception staff who I found very surly. This was odd because many people still had armbands on on the bus to the airport. I must have offended him in some way but I can assure you I was polite !
I think Thompsons with whom we travelled should have made sure this didn't happen to people on late flights. The hotel staff seemed to treat everybody as though they were leaving to simply drive home, which explains why they act as they do

This however didnt spoil the holiday which was very good and I would recommend the hotel, particularly to families, but I would go back

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NorthernEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
978 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
375 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,989 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £48 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing