We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hooe, Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent family hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

My fiancée, 18 month old son and I are about to leave this wonderful place after a two week stay. We have really enjoyed our time here and would recommend it to anyone with children! I would suggest that the hotel is not appropriate for a couples holiday unless you love other people's kids, it really is a family hotel.
The hotel is kept spotlessly clean by an army of cleaners. The food was great, especially the Oriental restaurant! Entertainment is very good, and is done outside, weather permitting (Holiday Village, the sister hotel, had moved theirs indoors already).
Bottled water is unnecessary as there is a drinking water tap in the room's kitchen. (The water is drinkable in all of the main Spanish resorts, and throughout most of Spain in general).
The hotel is isolated & I would suggest all-inclusive really is the only way to go here. The hotel Mini-Supermarket does stock food & drink at fairly elevated prices (although it does import UK & even Russian brands which is a nice touch). There are supermarkets in town that are approx €12 away by cab.
The bar was good and I didn't feel that any if the drinks were watered down. House wines were a little rough around the edges, however. Sometimes there was a queue for the bar, but staff were always efficient & friendly!
The hotel itself and the animals were eye-catching and beautifully kept.
The beach club is heaven for kids, and has lifeguards keeping a watchful eye. The large rings attract a daily fee of €6 which isn't too bad but could mount up if you have several older children and go there most days. The walk down the hill to it takes 5-10 minutes and is very easy. Don't walk back up if you are laden with kids & equipment though, take the free bus that runs 10-6.
Wi-fi is €12 per device per week. On the face of it that may seem expensive, but it's very reasonable when you consider roaming charges. I downloaded over 5 gigabytes of data while I was here. Average speeds are approx 1Mbps.
I did feel as if they were winding down a little from the busy Summer period. The food at the beach club had stopped the very day we arrived. The fresh juice bar at breakfast disappeared after week one. It makes me wonder how many other things gradually wind down out of the main season.
Overall it was a great & incredibly well-priced all-inclusive family holiday & I can thoroughly recommend it. If you trying to decide on Polynesia or Holiday Village it seems that Polynesia has the edge on facilities out of season, restaurants & overall appeal (but Holiday Village is at the bottom of the hill).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fraser W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    891
    440
    175
    96
See reviews for
1,508
462
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
harrogate,yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

first impressions walking into the entrance are wow ,looks like a good 4 star maybe even 5 but thats all ,looks can be deceiving. charging a deposit for towels and a tv remote ? on top of paying for your safe and wi-fi , only one bottle of water in your fridge sometimes, definitely not all inclusive .You can drink as much wine,beer ,vodka as you like but there seems to be some problem getting a bottle of water when you want. The rooms are very nice large, and clean with plenty of extra bedding and utensals in the kitchen but missing do not disturb signs as maids feel free to enter whenever they like . We are both smokers for our sins and found it impossible to find an ashtray anywhere on tables and had to make do with a plastic cup with water in it supplied by the staff. The areas inside the hotel as i said before are beautifull with birds and turtles and fish to look at and was supprised how quiet it was and hardly saw anyone however it was late September and not school holidays so there wasnt many kids about . It is a great place for kids with the beach club at the bottom of the hill just a short walk away with lots of small pools, slides and stuff . we never tried the food down there as it already closed for the season ,but expect a long wait for drinks as there was only one menber of staff serving for loads of people. Although it is called the beach club there isnt one ,you have to walk a bit further to get to one about half a mile where you can expect to pay 8 euro for sunbeds for the day but nice.
The pool area was fairly quiet again so getting a sun bed wasnt a problem but no cushions on them so a bit uncomfortable , there is a few rules to obey like no towels on sunbeds before 9 o` clock ,not a bad thing, you cant have a big plastic glass of water with ice but you can have a big plastic glass of ice and then fill it with 2 small plastic glasses of water ?
The restaurant is large and you are suposed to sit where you are sent by the staff which is very efficient but can mean you are a long way from the food where at breakfast which is the best meal of the day requires quite a few trips to pick things up , there are 3 toasters that need the obligatory 3 passes to get your bread to go brown but was not a long wait to use one. The food in general was just o.k but not hot exept for whatever is always cooking in the big pan right at the end ,usually something with rice. The restaurant staff are always nice and service with the drinks always quick but keep an eye on your plates or they will taken with the skill of a pick pocket.
All the staff in the hotel are very nice and helpfull ,its not their fault about the restrictions. For the price we paid for this holiday you can go to much better 5 star hotels in Turkey or Egypt with all of the xtras which are all inclusive i.e full fridge ,bottles of water whenever you want them etc.
nice hotel but wont be going back !!

Room Tip: if you want a pool view it will cost an extra 20 euro a day , not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jabawoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Great facilities for kids but you are only ever 6 feet away from one screaming! The eating and drinking options on the allinclusive are very limited. The location and having to travel on crowded buses that only run every 30 minutes is a pain. The mini bus back up to the hotel up a steep hill finishes at 6pm. The nightly entertainement consists of a kids disco 9pm til 10pm and a magician, dancers, hypnotist type acts 10pm til 11pm. There is only one bar at night and it has no theme or atmosphere. Top tip take your own beach towels.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the back over looking the emertainment area as it is very noisy til 12pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Algarve4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlewich
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Myself and my husband have just returned from a 1 week all inclusive holiday. The hotel is at the top of a hill, but if you get a poolside room you have fantastic views of the sea, there is a shuttle bus that runs between 10am and 6pm but we never had to wait for more than 5 minutes for it. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The food is plentiful and caters for all needs. (a little tip for you if you enjoy english back bacon you have to ask the chef who cooks the omlettes for it as it is in the ovens behind him). We could not fault the staff we found then to be extremely polite and very helpful.
There is entertainment from 10am everyday continuing through to late evening and the entertainment team were excellent, we could not fault them at all they worked hard all day everyday. We travelled by ourselves with no children but we still had a fab week in this well run family orientated hotel. I would recommend a trip to Gibralter if you are able too as this was a fantastic excursion which we did through our reps (thompson). People have mentioned that you are away from teh main towns, but there is a bus service that runs frequentley to Fuengirolla, Benalmadena, and Torreliminos and further afield if you wish. There is a beach at the bottom of some steps to the right of the water park which is about 5 mins walk away from the bottom of the hill. We enjoyed this holiday and would have no hesitation in recommending to others.

Room Tip: We asked for a poolside room and thats what we got, all poolside rooms have views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank smitbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Just returned from a week at the polynesia hotel and have to say it's lovely place , only complaint is that we chose the self catering option which didn't suit at all because of the location of the hotel , it's at least a 10 min taxi trip to the main resort and the shopping centre in the hotel was extremely overpriced for food basics, and the hotel restaurants were also very overpriced. If you chose all inclusive and are happy to stay in the grounds of the hotel it's a lovely hotel , very clean , lovely animation team and kids club and the entertainment is quite good in the evenings. I';d say anymore than 1 week might get a bit boring but perfect for a week relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marge611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, ENGLAND
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

My wife and I arrived back today from a weeks stay at the Polynesia. It`s the latest build for the Holiday World Group. We were all inclusive and paid £1200 for an almost last minute holiday.The accomodation was excellent, very spacious rooms, well cleaned and looked after including decoration. We were on floor -1 with a balcony facing the entertainment stage outside. This was great as instead of sitting in the audience, you could enjoy all from your own balcony. All noise was over by 11:15pm so sleep was never a problem. General entertainment was good, various singers / performers in the bars, not your usual holiday camp style either. Bars were nice, pools were good and very clean. In fact, it was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in, towels changed every day too.
Other features include birds of paradise, fish and spectacular fountains, it certainally has the wow factor.
We had a massive wait for the transfer when we arrived, over 1 & 1/4 hrs on a hot coach waiting for the rep to turn up but this was soon overlooked. Our Thomson reps were very good and very helpful too. Yes you have to pay a deposit of £10 for the TV remote and yes its next to a railway line, but the trains are fast and sleek so you really don`t hear them, don`t be put off!
The MAIN DRAWBACK is the location. Its situated at the top of a hill which is ok, you can walk it but there is a small bus running back and forth all day, but it only seats 34, so it can pick up from the hotel over the road before the Polynesia and be already full when it arrives which is frustrating. The bus only runs you down the road to the next hotel too. Its a long long walk to any shops, you can use the buses which are frequent but so does everybody so they can be well busy. The best and convinient way is by taxi if you can afford it. About £12 gets you in to the heart of the town or the market on a Tuesday (quite an expensive market!).
The food is quite good, loads to eat but can be a bit repetative, and not the hottest I`ve ever had. The breakfasts are stunning though. You can also go to the Uru Wok for a la carte.
The Splash pools can be used at the other hotel down the road. Not the most exciting for older children but will keep little ones amused for hours. Nice to relax for adults there. Hope you can handle heights as the only way into it is across a high bridge over the main road, you are kept behind bars most of the time but then again that keeps other people out!
Of course, the free bar is great, with up to 5 drinks per person which is handy in a group.
All the staff were very very nice and helpful and entertaining, couldnt fault them at all.
Overall, nice, relaxing, entertaining but pack your hike boots and some cracked heel cream as you may well need it for the walking!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thinner-lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newry. Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

We have just returned from two weeks at the Polynesia. My wife and I traveled with our 3year old and 1year old. I would find it very difficult to complain about this holiday. I dont understand people on here who go on holidays and complain about buying bottled water and hearing trains.
Our 3 year old went to the Kids club for at least an hour every day. he loved it. If he wanted to leave any day the staff rang us to tell us he was ready. The staff in the kids club were excellent.
The room was perfect and we had no problems with it. Reception staff were also friendly with us and very attentive to our kids.
The interior of the hotel was great - more like Vegas than the Costa Del Sol.
The food in the restaurant was great. Massive choices and again the staff were friendly and welcoming despite being very busy.
We also ate at the pool bar a few days and while it wasnt the same standard as the restaurant - it was perfectly adequate. If you dont like - dont eat it. Go upstairs to the restaurant.
Evening Entertainment was for the kids but there was a quieter area usually with music/singers at the pool each evening where older couples and those kid free tended to congregate.
Our son loved the Beach Club and as other people have said we tended to walk down the hill and get the bus back up.
On reading previous reviews - I get the impression that some people like to find things to complain about and perhaps they like to be negative. We prefer to be positive and enjoy ourselves - we had nothing to complain about.
We spent very little money while there - nappies, coffee, lollies etc. Less that 200 euro in two weeks.
I would love to go back for the kids and have recommended it to many people since our return.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room looking down towards the beach club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ciaran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,663 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing