We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hotel Polynesia” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Hartlepool, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hotel Polynesia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed in April, First week of the easter Holidays, and although the weather was terrible, we tried to make the most of things. The outside pool was freezing and although there was an inside pool, you were not aloud to use it unless you paid. This I thought was a bit much seeings we were all inc. The Hotel itself could not be faulted, although I agree it was desperately understaffed, from the reception area, the bars and the entertainment. We were told we could use the a la carte restaurants once each while we were there, but they didnt actually open till the day we came home. Luckily the food in the self service restaurant was very good, sometimes a little cold but always plenty of choice. The kids enjoyed the chocolate fountains immensly. The hotel rooms were spotless and were cleaned every day. Although we were AI there was still a microwave, fridge and hob if you wanted to cook in your room, although there was no need ever to be hungry, there was always food to be eaten. I would certainly go back to this hotel, it was ideal for the kids, but would leave it until later in the season when entertainment was ongoing and the weather was nicer. The hoel should definately employ more bar staff though!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    831
    409
    158
    84
See reviews for
1,419
410
10
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We stayed here as our first holiday as a family with our 15 month old (in 2010).

We thought the hotel was stunning, the reception areas, lobbys, walkways etc were immaculate and lovley to wander through.

Our room was fantastic, all you could need travelling with a little one, a one bedroom apartment with separate lounge, kitchenette with fridge (ideal for bottles etc) and a lovely bathroom with bath, separate shower and two sinks.

Outside was a huge balcony which was perfect to lay out on when our little one was having a sleep.

The pool was lovley with a great shallow end for the children, never had to fight for a sunbed. We went to the aqua park which was also brilliant, a bit busier and harder to find a sun bed but not too bad. We didnt eat their but had a few drinks.

The restaurant was great, very large so we liked to sit outside and it felt less imposing. The food was of a very good standard, always something delcious, I couldnt imagine anyone going hungry. The snacks by the pool were ok, nothing to write home about but if you wanted a proper meal then you could always go to the main restaurant. We tried both al a cartes, the chinese was good, the other only ok. But it was nice to get away from the buffet for a change!

I found this hotel to perfect for us travelling as a family with small children, I wouldnt reccomend it to couples. Nothing to do in the immediate area but that didnt bother us really. I would go back again, but the cost has risen on this hotel too much!!

Room Tip: Pool and sea view rooms have sun most of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Chaps18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

first impression of the hotel was brilliant, marble floors, glass elevators, fountains, ponds with turtles and caged birds, The suites were really large with everything you needed.The rooms were cleaned everyday, with clean towels etc. The staff were really friendly and polite, However they were understaffed, some nights we queued 20 mins to get a drink, and as only one bar and restaurant were open we had to wait for tables and there was not enough seats in th bar.The hotel had a bus on to take you down the bank to the water park, the pools were really cold and the water slides were not working, people with kids had to put up a fight for entertainment for the kids on a night, The hotel was beautiful, but in a terrible location, nothing near it for miles. Maybe ideal for families when everything is open , but not very good for couples, and entertainment on a night was dire. The fountains were on once for about an hour, Think carefullybefore coming at the start of the season.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Myself, husband and 5 yr old stayed for 7 days last July and we LOVED it! We have never visited the same place twice but we will definitely make an exception for Polynesia, we have so many good memories. Still now we will repeat the famous shout outs we heard from the animations team round the pool for 'water bingo a la piscina!'. We loved the vibe round the pool, the music, the AI snack bar and drinks. My son loved the play area and all the workers there and it was a good break for him away from the midday heat whilst we relaxed by the pool. Other days we visited the water park on the very short bus trip down the hill...in the topless bus...another highlight for my son! The water park is great, a good selection of pools, splash areas and small slides, food over there was also good. We found the buffet restaurant slightly hectic and noisy at times but big enough that once you had your food and sat down everyone had plenty of room, although we much preferred to sit outside and eat. Entertainment was great especially the end of week 'party' which was round the main pool and was a fantastic mixture of entertainment violinist, fire eaters, dancers and the atmosphere was lovely. We will be back!!! the only reason we're not going back this year is we are holidaying in early May this year and think the weather won't be as warm so we are trying Egypt.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Emoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

When we arrived to this stunning hotel, we almost fell to our knees in awe. The hotel is based around jungle theme, so there were trees as high as ten double decker buses, the reception was a waterfall and there was a structure made of wood. It has an indoor swimming pool, although you have to pay extra, and a waterpark down the road. We never found ourselves with nothing to do. Great fun for all the family.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank reviewer r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mancheter
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Loved every minute of a great week at the Hotel Polynesia - the hotel was clean and had lots of things to entertain. Our two year old loved it, perticularly the beach club. The staff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was always varied, well cooked and enjoyable - wasnt sure what to expect from reading some reviews but there was nothing to worry about as it was delicious!!!

We will be going back again and the all inclusive side was the icing on the cake - would give it 6 stars if trip advisor would let me - great!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Cosgraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

The only bad points were that the food was nearly always only lukewarm and we had to argue to get the entertainement back on in the second week as there season does not start untill May. The hotel was great the rooms were very large with a separate bedroom off the living area which consisted of a small kitchen with hob, microwave and kettle and fridge . Then there was a breakfast bar with two chairs and then a dining table with four chairs. In addition there was a large couch which doubled as a pull out bed. The bedroom had 2 queen size beds and masses of wardrobe space. There was also a large wardrobe in the living area . We have never stayed in such a large room before. The bathroom had a full size bath , two hand basins, a bidet and a separate power shower . The balcony was also huge and had table and chairs. We did not ask for a sea view but got one anyway ,no cost .We had full sun on the balcony from 2pm till dusk .
The hotel is huge and has love birds in a cage and also turtles in an enclosure which our granchildren loved . There is a shop which sells everything including nappies which is agreat help to a young familly. The childrens club operates throughout the day and is free for 3 year olds upwards. There is also a kids disco at 8.30 each evening. The main attraction for my grandchildren was the free water park at the bottom of the road ( A free minibus operates every 10 mins to take you down the very steep hill to the water park ) this was great and had numerous cafes and sun beds .The drinks and ice cream are free if on all incluisive .I would recommend all inclusive as drinks etc are quite expensive and evening meal costs 26 euros.
The hotel has a great pool and is shallow all around the edges. There is also a kids hot tub .There are numerous sun beds .
In addition there is a crazy golf course and a cinema.
You pay a deposit of 10 euros for a tv remote (refundable) and 15euros for each beach towel ( again refundable ) you also pay a deposit for the golf clubs etc for the crazy golf again refundable.
There was only one bar open when we stayed but you could get drinks all day on all inclusive and there were snacks by the pool for most of the day. There was a life guard on duty by the pool.
As\their season does not start till may we had to organise a group complaint to get the evening entertainement reinstated for our second week as it was only on for Easter week. The shows were typical of hotel staff entertainment but they did have a parrot show and Eagle show which the kids loved.
The choice of food was immense but as stated by others was often only lukewarm but there was a great salad bar and cake bar and always burgers and hot dogs and pizza and chips for the kids.They often did specials ie fahitas , a chocolate fountain and special cheeses . We did not go hungry !!!!!
The maids cleaned the rooms daily and replaced towels whenever we asked and they provided shampoos and showel gel . The rooms did become dusty and they did not always sweep the floors.
We did have the packed lunches on some days and they were more than enough , just ask by 7pm the night before.
If the wok restaurant is open (usually after may) then it is worth a visit at no cost.
Finally although the hotel is isolated the free bus drops you off at the bus stops for Torremolinas and Fungarola and Bellamadina . All worth a visit . Cost 1.50 euros each way . In additon taxi costs 11 to Bellamadina and 17 to Torremolinas. The old town is well worth a visit (not for kids) it is typical Andalucian style and very pretty , taxi cost 7 euros.
All in all depsite the shortcomings we would go back as it is a beautiful and very unusual hotel but it is definately for families not couples or older people as there were lots of kids having a great time and naturally being very noisy althought to be fair all the entertainement and dining is on the lower floors so the bedrooms are extremely quiet and sleeping was not a problem even for a siesta. The weather was fantastic ony 1/2 hour rain . One word of warning the spa is the only indoor pool and they wanted 15 euros for each person for one days swim a total rip off.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the pool are great as they all get the sun for a large part of the day try to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank jump2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,529 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
3.4 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
4.2 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing