We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd time great time”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2nd time great time”
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hi i visited hotel polynesia for the 2nd time last week of june first in july.arrival went smooth beautiful room.Was great to see the place again and was just as we expected.pool was great food was grand never had any issues.as we new its remote but at the bottom of the hill there are 2 bus stops the bus is like 1.50 euros and can take you to fuengirola benalmadena any where you want to go really.we went to fuengirola for the day visited the market had lunch etc.we also went in to benalmadena were there is the beautiful paloma park which is really worth a visit we also visited the dolphin show which my 5 yr old boy absolutely loved.there are also water parks in torremolinos and mijas but we didnt bother due to having the beach park from the hotel which is absolutely beautiful and really good fun for the kids.must mention that the thomson staff were absolutely fantastic could not of done enough for you if i was waiting for my partner in reception i would of just stopped for a chat and they were really pleasant with the children.we bought a day trip to gibralter which is really worth a visit and a great day out we just took the sxhopping trip and done our own thing as i was afraid my 5 yr old would be bored on the tour and i think we done the right thing,as we were able to go at our leisure we also went up on cable cars to see the monkeys which is good to see.And it was great to know that at the end of the day we were going back to a fantastic hotel.kids club is absolutely fantastic that is deffinately something i have to mention they are great with the children now my son only went on a few occasions which was fine as it was our time to spend together but anytime he did go he had a ball.the bar and restaurant staff are so pleasant really nice people nothing is a bother and they would of talked all in all another fantastic time,if i did have one issue it would be the evening entertainment il divo are amazing and the chill out night is good fun the magician was also good but apart from that the entertainment lets this hotel down by the end of the 2 weeks i was fed up looking at dancers etc if the entertainment was better this would be an amazing place to be.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarebubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    825
    907
    452
    183
    100
See reviews for
1,552
467
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

PROS.
IMPRESSIVE hotel and public areas,best standard rooms i've ever stayed in in
europe ,good food and staff.good option of beach club
CONS.
Quite small pool for a large hotel,evening entertainment was rubbish need to goto holiday village for evenings ,but no free bar.

Room Tip: email hotel direct before tavelling to request sea veiw well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed here for a week in May - weather was great everyday.

The transfer to hotel was about half an hour so not too bad. The hotel is situated at the top of hill which can be a struggle to walk up in the middle of a hot day but the courtesy bus is there as an option.

We paid extra to upgrade to a suite with a hot tub on the balcony - well worth paying the extra to upgrade the room and would recommend it to everyone. All suites appear to be on the same floor as reception so you're not up too high but get great views of the sea and overlook the pool. Balcony is massive with a hot tub and two sunloungers.

The room itself had a separate living area and bedroom with our own kitchen facilities.

The only down point of the hotel we thought was the food. In the main restaurant it is not the best - mostly luke warm never hot - edible though if you're not overly fussy.

We also tried the Asian theme restaurant - this wasnt to my taste but my girlfriend loved it.

The beach is about a 5 minute walk away - very nice and was very quiet where we were.

We booked a couple of excursions. The trip to Gibraltar was amazing - this is a must if you are in Costa Del Sol. We also decided to go on a Dolphin trip while in Gibraltar - didnt see anything at all and found it quite boring - just luck I guess.

Bar service at the hotel is good - occasional queuing but the bar staff are generally friendly. Once all the bars are closed the club within the hotel opens until 2am although all inclusive ends at 12 so we were unable to get a drink.

Overall the holiday was great but the food at the hotel needs improvement. I would definately go back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a Suite - Definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank albion89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the hotel and had a great time. Cannot understand people complaining about the food etc as we had no problems. There is enough variety to keep everyone happy. We took my daughter and her friend (14 yrs old) and hardly saw them as they were safe to roam about on their own and make friends. The hotel may not be in central Benalmadena but it is easy and cheap to get there if you want to. We had a lovely meal at a steak house in the Marina (Metro). Also recommend hiring the VIP sunbeds as you pretty much have pool and jacuzzi beds to yourself, although they did double book when we were there but worked out fine in the end as we got ours half price. The entertainment is still pretty dodgy to be honest, the hypnotist is good (Tues night think) and the chill out night not bad.
It may not be a 5 start hotel, but you don't pay 5 star prices so the fussy people should just spend more money if they want that... you get what you pay for and this hotel is good value for money.
We took the girls to the water park in Torremolinos which was good for them and we also hired a boat in Benalmadena Marina and saw dolphins which was amazing.
The staff and Thomson reps were really friendly and helpful.
The only problem we had was with a very rude girl who worked in the Spa, but no one really uses that area anyway as it was very expensive. The gym is free if you are all inclusive though but very very small with only a couple of treadmills. But I was on holiday so did not bother with it!
All in all a great hotel and good value for money. No complaints here!!

Room Tip: Try the VIP in the water park at the bottom of the hill. 40 euros for 4 and includes waiter service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

In essence, a 3 star hotel which has been rated 4 stars due to the impressive reception area, spa (which hardly anyone uses) and gym (which is no more than a rowing machine, treadmill and a small very light stack of dumbells AND they charge for it!) Food - terrible; overcooked lower class buffet (people that like it must live on ready meals). Wok resturant - appauling - overcooked buffet again plus a chef who refuses to cook chicken fried rice! Bar drinks - terrible - served in plastic cups. Cleanliness - poor - public areas OK - room cleanliness very poor (bathroom very badly cleaned, smeary, dirty loo, crap on the loo brush - disgusting!) Pool backs onto a train line! Beach club actually quite good but way too far from hotel. Very large impressive reception area but incredibly dead feeling. Summary - OK for kids and families (if you are used to 2 or 3 star hotels). If you are used to genuine 4 star or 5 star and above, you'll HATE it like we did!

Room Tip: Try a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from the Polynesia Hotel, WOW I cant praise it enough, The hotel is clean and stunning, The food is delicious with so much choice, you can have a different type of meal every night. The salad bar and fruit bar is out of this world. The chocolate fountain was amazing. Yes the hotel is quite remote and we used taxies most days but only because we wanted to explore, You dont really need to leave at all. There is so much to do for all ages, The evening entertainment was good. The chill out night was good, Fresh white sheets were placed on the sunbeds around the pool with candles, Lay back for the show to begin. Really relaxing. Me and my husband and 2 boys had a really lovely holiday and miss it so much.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mandy433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a 4 day short break. It is located outside Benalmadena and a taxi is required for trips to the town. Impressive entrance and reception area. Hotel room was perfect with large balcony and we received the sea view we had reqauested and paid for. Hotel wasn't full but the dining toom appeared too small to deal with the quantity of guests. Queues for breakfast and the noise was deafening in the dining room - like a Butlins canteen! Best things about the hotel, the rooms and comfortable beds, sea views, and large open plan communal areas and the beach club opposite. It is a lovely hotel but is somewhat lacking in atmosphere and not sure we'd return. It's good for families but not for couples. I have given it 4 stars as it is impressive, but the quality of service and food could be improved.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellersworld280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,202 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
6.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing