We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just returned yesterday from this hotel. We are a couple in our 30's, no children and we had a lovely time. Agree that the evening entertainment could be better - to be honest this is the only thing that would stop us giving 5 stars.
Location - yes is ten mins bus/taxi away from towns but this is described on website, didnt have an issue with this as expected it. hill quite a trek in the heat but during the day the bus is on so not really an issue.
Sunbeds - really confused with a recent review on this as we were there one week and there was always sunbeds available all day. Maybe this family wanted right next to pool in ceratin area as these always went first. Gobsmacked me to be honest that there was no race for sunbeds,maybe it was the time of year but this is the first time I not had to get up at stupid o'clock to secure some. Still loads available at 10am. Being a couple with no kids we found an area ever so slightly away from pool which was perfect for us as not as many children there.
Food - I have quite a restricted diet and did fine. Food is always hot and no queues unless you hit full peak time and even then wasnt too bad.
Snack bar - food available all day next to pool, and kept hot.
Breakfast was brilliant - so much choice.
Cleanliness - after reading a few reviews I took some kitchen wipes with us just in case, but they came back still sealed. Room was spotless as was the hotel.
Cristina the thomson rep on reception is lovely and will do anything to help.
We went to fuergarola beach one day, walked it there, quite a walk to where we went to but beach within 5 - 10 mins walk if you want. Got bus back - approx 3 euros for both of us from there and same price to get from hotel into benalmadena marina.

Overall, lovely holiday, could have done with a few more days there really, definately not ready to come home!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank n0rthernc0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,449 - 1,455 of 2,616 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

We stayed at this All Inclusive Hotel with family (4 adults, 3 children). We had a fantastic holiday. First impressions on arrival were great, the hotel is spotlessley clean and the reception area is huge and is really impressive with a forest theme. Our rooms were next door to each other which was perfect. The rooms were brilliant, clean, loads of space, very modern and well decorated.
The restaraunt was fab. Lots of choice of foods, plenty of healthy options, lots of variety. The staff at the Hotel were extremely friendly and very helpful with families. We definately felt welcome.
On a couple of negative notes, we were disappointed with the size of the pool. It was far too small for the size of the hotel. It was always crowded and you couldn't move. No chance of any swimming. It was a fight for some space to play with the kids in there. We also only got sunloungers twice out of 5 days. 3 days we had to sit on the snack bar chairs for the day, this is unacceptable, especially when paying combined £4500 for a week away, you expect to get sunloungers round the pool.
The hotel is a compamy of 4 hotels in the area and all can use the beach club just a 5 minute walk away. This is great for a day out, we went there on 2 days and had a great time. Highly recommended. Loads of pools, ring slides for the kids and great food.

The Hotel is quite isolated and too far to walk to Benalmadena or Fuengirola. Its a 10 minute taxi ride. This meant it felt like we were stuck in one place for the holiday.That's great for some people but we like to check out the local towns, or have a nice walk in the evening.
This is definately a pool holiday as the beach is not really easy to get to or easy access.
Overall we had a great time and were glad we went, just the pool size let it down a bit. other than that we would have rated it 5*

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oggy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed one week self catering 2 adults and 1 teenager age15 and 1 child age 7.Had emailed the hotel before i went with a special request and they very kindly helped me.Thank you. Good Points.Nicest place we have ever stayed in,apartments top class. All staff esp reception very helpful .Spotless clean ,credit due to the cleaners.Kids club excellent.No sunbed issues always found some no bother.Pool area fab and spotless also.Few minor issues.Shop in hotel extremely overpriced.,also drinks at bar overpriced 7euro 70 cent for vodka with a dash of lime and the only beer they had was san miguel.could not get bud,bulmers,heinekin,or any other branded bottles yet at holiday village at the bottle of the hill you could get any drink you wanted.they had everything and yet they are all holiday world hotels.and their shop was cheaper too.Entertainment i thought was poor better at holiday village at bottom of hill.security was excellent very safe for children ,could not get in through gates without your room card.120 bus outside takes you to fuengirola or benalmadena cost 155 each.prefered fuengirola better places to eat and much cleaner than benalmadena.Hill to hotel not a major problem kept us fit but i wouldnt like to be pushing buggy or wheelchair up it as the shuttle bus stops bang on 6 o clock. tip if self catering.get 120 bus into fungirola and get off in the town by super sol large supermaket you cant miss it by roundabout get enough water and ice pops caus they are 2 to 3 euro a pop at hotel and what u need for week and get a cab back.they are lined up outside door 13 50 for cab back.I dont think i would go back as there was nothing there for teenagers and he was bored also i much prefer Majorca but anyone with small kids the holiday village is excellent,but there is lots and lots of small kids

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corkonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Just returned from a holiday with my family at the Polynesia in BENALMADENA.

Don't look at the bad reviews about this hotel, it is fantastic. I took my wife, daughter and Grandson to this hotel at the end of August and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It is the best Hotel we have stayed in anywhere in Spain.

We had two junior suites consisting of two queen size beds, TV in the sitting room which had a settee which could turn into a double bed (one top and one bottom), a kitchen area consisting of sink, fridge, microwave etc which were of a high standard. There was also a huge patio with table and chairs. Two french doors one to the bedroom and the other to the sitting room. And an air conditioning system you could die for.
The restaurant which is used by all the guests is of a high standard. Although people complain that the food was cold from other reviewers this is typical of most restaurants in Spain, if you want piping hot food don't go to Spain.

The beach club which is part of the resort is down a hill (not too steep as others have suggested) and takes about 10 minutes to walk. Coming back is a problem as the hill can give problems to people to myself who are over 60. But the shuttle bus is there to take you to the club and is great to ride in the open top vehicle.

The staff at the hotel are very helpful and are great to get along with. The Thomson Team are very hard working and get the guests involved in all the activities throughout the day. There is always something going on.

The floor levels do get a bit of getting used to. The Reception is on level 0, with the rooms on 1 to 5. The Restaurants are on -1 with the pool area on -2. This is purely as the Hotel is on a hill.

My wife and I normally go on holidays for adults only, as we now like the peace and quiet. But this Hotel is a must for family holidays and we all enjoyed it.

Room Tip: The higher the rooms the smaller the patio, try and stay midway. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was our first experience of all inclusive, we'd heard good and bad things about the Hotel but our experience was overwhemingly good.

The hotel is nearer Fuengirola than Benalmadena, so if you want to get out and about you will need the local bus service, nowhere is really within walking distance. The buses are twice an hour and really cheap.

The hotel is at a top of a hill, it has a large swimming pool with lots of sunbeds and a small toddlers pool seperate from the main pool with it's own sunbed area. The pool gets busy but we never had an issue with being able to get sunbeds. During the day there are plenty of activities for adults and kids.

Our kids really enjoyed the kids club, it is run by Spanish employees who speak fantastic English. They keep the kids busy all day, with different activities each hour. Once the kids are signed up to kids club you can drop them off and pick them up as you (or your kids) wish.

During the day there is a poolside self-service buffet that runs from late morning until 6pm that serves burgers, hotdogs, chips, salads, pasta, fruit etc. It isn't particularly exciting but it is more than adequate. If you want to have a full lunch you can go to the restaurant, but we never felt the need.

The restaurant serves breakfast till about 10.30, it can get busier later in the serving but the food is regularly stocked up and the quality is ok. They did seem to have issues with getting enough cutlery out though. Evening meals are available from after 6pm and again it gets busy by 8.30, but it still wasn't an issue getting a table. The quality of the food is pretty good, we found that the quality got better at the weekends when a lot of Spanish families would stay at the hotel for long weekends. There are two other restaurants available, you have to book for them, they're not open at the same time, one does 3 days the other 4. We didn't eat in either but those we spoke to who did, were not particularly taken with them.

Drinks are freely available all day at the poolside bar and in the evenings at the main bar and bar by the outside theatre. There was some queuing and there was not always enough staff to deal with the demand but it was a minor irritation rather than a big deal.

The beach club at the bottom of the hill is for the use of the Polynesia, Holiday Village and another hotel who's name I forget. It's big, with some bits to keep the kids amused. Don't go there thinking of exciting water rides, it's more a series of pools with some slides. You can book at the Polynesia (the day before) to eat at the restaurant at the club, it's the same food you get the hotel. If you order food at the bar, you have to pay for it same with ice creams (these are free at the hotel)

We had a room on the ground floor, it was clean, had a large bathroom, very large bed and a sofa bed in the lounge that made up in to two singles for the kids. The balcony overlooked the theatre and kids playground so could be quite noisy until about 11ish but it wasn't a big issue as you could close he doors and switch on the air con.

The staff on reception were really helpful and any minor issues we did have were dealt with promptly and with courtesy.

We had a great time at the Polynesia, with the kids being entertained so well, we were able to relax which is what we were looking for. It's a family hotel catering for Brits, Irish, Spanish, Germans and other Europeans, while the Holiday Village just caters for the Brits and Irish. I would go there again but will probably try somewhere else next time. I wouldn't suggest it for couples or for anyone just wanting a base, but for a family with kids it's ideal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the outside theatre will have noise until 11ish at least 4 nights a week due to en...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank theblackjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Had my doubts, after reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel, but was very pleasantly surprised. If you want to be really picky there are minor things you could complain about, but you must just enjoy moaning!

Most of the previous reviews (Aug 2012) list the MINOR faults with the hotel and the positives, so no need to repeat.

Main issues seem to be:

'Cold' food - there's a lot of choice so just stop walking round with a plateful of food deciding what you want, it's bound to be cold by the time you return to your table!

Cleanliness of room - they are clean but not spotless. Could be improved but they are by no means dirty!

Area - you are out of the way a bit but buses run often to Benaldamena and Fuengirola, and are cheap. If you want to be in the heart of it, find a hotel somewhere more central. The 'hill' - not as bad as you think, gets your heart beating faster, but just use the complimentary bus if you're unfit or have a problem with walking etc.

This hotel is perfect for families. Did anyone mention the lifeguards at the poolside? - put my mind at ease, allowing my youngest (who has only just learned to swim) more freedom in the pool, and ensured no irresponsible behaviour in or around the pool.

Would I recommend this hotel - a definite YES! Don't listen to any moaning, make up your own mind and have a great holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HolidaySmiles9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

This was our second stay based on the brilliant time we had last year. I would say everything was up to same standard as before but something was lacking. The atmosphere of the place has changed. I still recommend this hotel for all it has to offer but we are trying somewhere different next year.

Room Tip: Ground floor by the terrapins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Juliet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
978 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,898 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £49 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing