We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hotel was brillaint staff were fantastic i would defo return i dont much rate the food for the all inclusive but it was ok but we never used it for lunch only for breakfast and dinner but its in a great location so its all easy access to bars and resturants with bus i will be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank auzz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear auzz12,

We are pleased to hear that we were able to please all members of your family.

Your kind words will be shared with all the staff as it motivates them to keep on offering good service.

Thanks for the feedback and hope to welcome you in the future.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,551)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Polynesia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,131 - 1,137 of 2,551 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the Holiday Polynesia. The food was good, too much of it really, and the hotel was superb. Rooms, were so comfortable, clean and roomy; food was good with the widest variety and something different every night. Drinks and service were also very good as we wanted a well organised, no-fuss, no nonsense holiday and we got that exactly. The Thomson holiday rep was informative without being pushy or gushing, the staff were very efficient and as a result barely noticeable, every need was met without any trauma, everything went so smoothly that we were able to completely relax. Surprised really as we hadn't figured beforehand how much of a children and family resort it was. I highly recommend the hotel, I commend the staff, and would definitely go back with grandchildren or as a couple. Perfect for us.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites so doesn't matter but higher rooms are fantastic for views and there are so...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatriciaAPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear PatriciaAPL,

We are very grateful for your recent feedback.

It is always a pleasure to read that we have made our guests happy as it is what we set out to do for all our guests.

Thank you very much for the feedback and we hope to see you soon

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We visited for a week at the end of September and had a great time. First impressions of Reception were favourable, then our room....wow. Simply fantastic, we had emailed ahead asking for a quiet room, higher floor with a sea view, and we were given room 326. End of the block (so nobody passing your door) nobody above (no tap dancing on the tiled floors) and the view was stunning. Large balcony, separate bedroom area, fully equipped kitchen area (microwave, hob, kettle, large fridge) flat screen TV (plenty of English channels),good air con and really clean. Probably one of the best we have had in Spain over the years.
Moving on to other things, food quality and choice good, no issues and we're pretty fussy. Service at the bars was excellent, ok there was a small queue occasionally but the staff are quick (and friendly). You can get served at your table also.
The evening entertainment however was not quite the best, one or two shows were half ok (white party) but overall could be better.
All communal areas are clean, it's a large complex so you need a day or two to get your bearings. Pool area is a bit noisy but there are plenty of beds off to the side which is quieter. After breakfast one day we noticed not one towel on a bed, even at 9.30 am.
The hotel is isolated, the bus stop is at the bottom of the hill for cheap travel to the resorts either side of you, alternatively reception will get you a taxi (€12 into Fuengirola).
In our opinion this is a good clean well run hotel, better than we expected (our room allocation has obviously influenced this review). Would suit families with younger kids but caters for all.
Ps we didn't visit the beach club so can't comment on that. Also don't worry about the train line, if it was a problem I would definitely say so, trains come and go in a matter of seconds, we barely noticed them.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank GoodToBeGas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear GoodToBeGas,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent holiday at our hotel.

Your kind words will be shared with our team as they enjoy hearing from guests and their views.

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments and we hope to see you soon.


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and myself stayed for 1 week 15th to 22nd Sept.2013 All inclusive with Thompson late deals.
The hotel has to be seen to be believed the approach road is guarded by a roundabout covered in models of full size elephants and the reception hall is the size of a cathedral with a bridge covering a grotto pool with fish,waterfalls and fountains. The 7 floors are served by numerous glass lifts.
The rooms are suits consisting of a large lounge/fully equipped kitchen area, bedroom and bathroom. In the lounge there is a sofabed, large wallmounted flat screen TV (remote control costs extra but TV can be controlled by the buttons on the side. Stations include BBC1, ITV 1 +2, Sky news and about 40 other channels. The bedroom has a dressing table and 2 threequarter size beds.
The bathroom has his and hers washbasins, full size bath, separate large shower cubicle.
The huge balcony is entered by doors from either the bedroom or the lounge.
The main restaurant is buffet service and you can eat either in or outside on the large terrace overlooking the pool and the sea beyond.
The two themed restaurants which you have to book in advance we did not try as the food selection and quality in the buffet was so good we were not tempted.
The hotel pool is a fair size and you walk into it from the sides to the centre which slopes to a depth of 1.5m
Loads of sunbeds and plenty of sunbathing area.
Down the hill (10 min Walk) but served by a free open top shuttle bus every 15 mins.is the hotels water park. Free entry and free bar to all inclusive.The huge lunchtime buffet restaurant is closed from Sept.15th so if you want lunch you have to return to the hotel.
Meal times are excellent...Breakfast 7.30 - 1030
Lunch........1.00- 3.00
Dinner........6.30 - 9.30
The hotel has everything you could want on all inclusive but is quite a way away from other attractions. A taxi to Belenmedena centre or Fuengerola is 11 euros.
All in all we had a wonderful holiday and would definately come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gallatas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear Gallatas,

We are very grateful for your recent feedback.

It is always a pleasure to read that we have made our guests happy as it is what we set out to do for all our guests.

Thank you very much for the feedback and we hope to see you soon.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed at the Polynesia for a week on a package holiday.
Overall very good hotel with excellent food, the apartments were very clean, modern, spacious, everything you'd expect from a real 4* hotel. Also great value for money what we paid. Food was abundant, with plenty of choice and excellent fresh fish and seafood served twice a day.

Location: mixed, 30 mins to airport but rather in the middle of nowhere - no real promenade, shops, restaurants nearby. Taxi to Benalmadena or Fuengirola about 10 euros. The hotel does not have a beach, what they try to compensate for with the beach club (free shuttle but expect to walk quite a bit anyway), a water club with pools, etc. There is a beach (Carvajal) about 15-20 mins walk, but it's public so one pays extra for the beds etc. Mind there is only one pool near the hotel which gets rather busy when the hotel is full - sunbeds were abundant and no 'booking with towels' issues at all.

Facilities: plentiful. huge complex with a pool, entertainment (good), a playroom with billiard, kid's games etc, minigolf, table tennis.

Cleanliness: excellent.

Rooms: perfect - we had a one bed apartment, lounge was huge and well appointed, there was a kitchen (a dinner had been left in the fridge for us on arrival - thoughful!). Bathroom is huge and useful. Bedroom was spacious with comfy beds. We had a big terrace, nice.

Staff: Helpful and polite. Front desk staff mixed - some very keen to help, some too used to 'sorry, I don't have any' etc. At 4* and above I think there should be more aptitude to deal with unusual situation - we had nearly missed dinner due to unforeseen issues with the rented car and asked reception to call restaurant to confirm if still fine to come (we were told it's closed and will need to pay 20 EUR each for room service, which is pretty steep on a package holiday with all inclusive). Restaurant was still open and dinner in full swing - the staff were more understandable thankfully.
Also no free wifi or a safety box (a ripoff at a 4 star). Free parking outside hotel was useful when we rented the car.

So overall, a great experience! Minor issues (mainly due to extras for most common things) could be solved very easily. I would definitely recommend and would come back.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room or a room facing the pool where the evening entertainment goes on until about 1...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank honest789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear honest789,

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday.

Your kind words will be shared with all the staff as it motivates them to keep on offering good service.
Thank you for your comments as we take on board all comments to help improve where necessary.
We hope to see you again soon.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Me and my partner and 2 year old son have just recently visited holiday polynesia recently on 26th sep. After reading other peoples reviews I was rather worried about taking my young child here adding to the stress of my fear of flying. But I was pleasantly surprised as we pulled uo on the transfer bus the hotel looked amazing. We walked into the hotel and couldnt believe our eyes it looked stunning and was so big and clean. We waited 5 mins to be greeted by a lovely spanish woman whos english was brilliant. And as requested got a low level room 106. We had turtles living outside our room and was realky nice to walk past every morning. The hotel has a great open feeling about it and floors are like balconies insted of the hospital corridor hotels. The room was lovely and clean and just the right size for us, the balcony was huge and the bathroom and kitchen was very clean. All very modern, the maids were friendly abd even made an elephant out of towels for my little boy. In my opion the food was amazing and even my little boy whos a picky eater ate loads. There was something for everyone and we ate breakfast lunch and tea and never got ill. The staff work really hard and turn tables over quickly which didnt bother us. The alcholic drinks were strong especially the cocktails ans there was a good variety of drinks on offer for all inclusive. The pool is big and clean but we spent most of our time at the childrens pool up a small hill overlooking the beach club. There was a small pool and play area and a jacuzzi pool. The beach club was fantastic my little boy loved the pool some parts were deeper so we stayed in the pool that was most shallow. Life guards very assertive and all staff had good english. The only negatives I could find with the holiday which will not include the petty things which other people seem to comment about is the night time entertainment could do with some more work and organisation and the coach transfer from the hotel to malaga airport. There was no rep present insted there was an angry spanish driver that didnt know what he was doing and tried to split my partner and me up to go on seperate coaches. In the end we ended up on a jet 2 coach yet we booked a thomson package. Other than that fantastic holiday especially for our first family holiday and will be returning next year already looking at prices

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kellyp337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear kellyp337,

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.

Your kind words will be shared with our staff as it motivates them to keep giving the good service.

We appreciate you taking the time and leaving your feedback.

We hope to see you again soon.

Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. Our first impression was very good, the reception area is huge and impressive. Check in was swift and there was a very chilled vibe. Rooms are spacious and modern.

My only negatives with this hotel are:

1. Pool scene.
The pool is very small for the size of the hotel although there were plenty of sun beds available. Also as the title states we were confused how the hotel was trying to portray itself. During our stay the majority of guests were couples or families but the pool scene sometimes was more like a Club 18-30 holiday. Background music is fine but the volume level was far too loud!

2. Evening Entertainment
This takes place outside and doesn't end until 11.30pm so if you don't want to watch it but if your room overlooks it, as ours did, you have no choice but to listen to it. Not great when pregnant, tired and can't snooze around the pool due to noise levels there. In hindsight we should have asked to move rooms straight away so a word of warning.

3. Toilets
Only appeared to be one toilet for use around the pool which wasn't cleaned very regularly and could end up quite dangerous as people where using while still wet.

We did have a nice break but feel that this hotel would benefit from re-addressing what type of hotel it wants to be. Staff all very friendly and speciality restaurants very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMS782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

Dear JMS782013,


Thank you very much for taking the time and leaving your feedback.

We appreciate the feedback as we can use the information to improve our services.
We have taken on board your comments and these will be passed on to the various departments who may be interested.

We hope to welcome you back in the future


Josefa Corbacho
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
956 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £56 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing