We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel but food was cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
melling merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“lovely hotel but food was cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

we have recently stayed at the hotel 26/11/13 till 03/12/13 the hotel and staff were so lovely they tried to help in any way they could some of the food was cook for you by a chef and the rest was held in the hot plates I do not think these keep the heat In and they do need changing. I do think it is a shame that this is not put right for it is lovely hotel only for they certain foods but there is still plenty of choice and something for everyone I did leave my bag at the hotel and went to the airport and they sent it after me :) thank you to all the staff from Mrs Hulme

Room Tip: please ask for sea view for the other rooms are dark and we had to up grade which cost 80 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciahulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, General Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mrs. Hulme,
We are very sorry that your holiday has not been entirely satisfactory and we appreciate your positive comments about our staff and facilities.
We promise you, it will investigate the incident and will be solved if necessary.

We thank your comments and hope to visit again soon.

The new General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    873
    432
    171
    93
See reviews for
1,472
455
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our first family holiday with my daughter (5), after reading some reviews I was a bit worried, especially about the food. I am picky with my food, I like it hot, and given I have worked as a restaurant manager, I sensed I would be complaining a LOT! We were greeted with helpful and friendly staff who were very knowledgeable. Hotel was clean and tidy throughout. The rooms were spotless, there was a broken latch on our door which got fixed within the hour. A 10min wait for a 2min bus ride to the water park was well worth it! Water park was clean, had friendly staff and our daughter loved every minute of it! Boards are opposite the reception with daily activities/excursions which were varied. We went to Fungerola (which was awful) and Belamendena (which was so good we went twice!), short bus journey into either. Again the staff knew prices of bus. FOOD was sooooo good! We went every evening at 6.30 and the food was hot. I will state though that it is a buffet (although some food is cooked to order), so if you leave it later of course the food isn't going to be piping hot! All in all, brilliant hotel, brilliant variety of food, clean, and would defiantly go back!!!

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor, very quiet! Great for young families there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fantastic hotel however Many facilities closed due to under occupancy. We had access to one restaurant only and during the 7 days did not receive one meal hotter than Luke warm. Many were cold. Rooms were lovely, balcony with jacuzzi was worth extra cost. Not good for people with fear of heights. All elevators are glass. Railings around balconies are glass and drop over railings is a worry for children. Attractions in decor eg fish, birds, turtles encourage people to look over railings which increase risk of fall over. They were a standard height (waist height) and some we're loose. Staff offer minimal interaction and whilst they are not rude they are not particularly friendly.....especially man on reception. All inclusive included trips to other resorts but we weren't told this and did not find find out until last day. Fuengriola is approx 1 1/2 mile walk. Benalmedena is double this. Taxi 9 euro each way. Would recommend hotel if wasn't for food. Shame really as quality and selection was great but temperature made meals unenjoyable......we ate out at least once every day due to this. Staff were unable to explain it and did not seem to have any plans to address. Beds were particularly hard.

Room Tip: Suites worth upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

All the staff were very friendly and efficient,the buffet dining provided a wide choice which catered for all tastes.Steaks and fish were cooked to order.Rooms were spacious and clean.
Only downside was the hotels location, bus or taxi had to be used to get to the main resorts on the coast.We normaly take the car to Spain and this is one time when it would have been handy.Rooms with sea views would cost 16 euros /day extra otherwise rooms had partial sea views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odiham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

Had a wonderful stay here when on a recent golf trip with the "lads". I was very impressed with the décor, the cleanliness and the facilities, including the rooms.

We stayed "all-inclusive", which did NOT mean only local beers etc. The food was great (shame the Chinese restaurant was closed), the staff were friendly and attentive, and the rooms were very well equipped.

I would definitely recommend this hotel, whether for couples, groups or families.

Room Tip: The higher numbered rooms overlook the aviary, which can be a little noisy in the mornings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_Skinner_PKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

We went to Hotel Polynesia through a senior voyage program. We were very satisfied with the apartment (the hotel only has apartments), cleaning, the diversity of the food and the entertainment. The only aspect that we believed should be changed was connected to the additional services which we considered that they should be included with no extra charge like: internet, swimming pool and gym.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Female0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clackmannanshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Stayed here Mon/Fri, just returned tonight. Check in quick and friendly. Room great as expected. Bar staff super, friendly and cannot do enough to make you feel welcome. Food: great choice and plenty of everything. You surely know before you go its not 'gourmet' dining. Hotel is huge and it is end of season so of course parts are closed. Weather was lovely and at times we had the pool area to ourselves. Only down side, I was the victim of a pickpocket on the bus on the first morning of my arrival ( nothing to do with hotel). Spent the rest of my time at the hotel and tried to put this behind me. I would visit again but the pickpocket incident is still too fresh in my mind. If you have booked don't worry you will love it. Special mention to all staff they are all great.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,705 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#15 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing