We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless Christmas vacation”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Flawless Christmas vacation”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I stayed at this hotel with my mother over Christmas 2013.
The check-in when we arrived was a bit slow, we arrived via transfers from the airport and 29 people were getting off at our hotel. It took a while to be seen even though we were second to the desk as only one member of staff was serving to begin with.
Everything else however was almost faultless. The hotel when you arrive is massive, there are eight lifts scattered about which help to provide access to all floors but it does take a while to find your way around. Rooms were massive, even without upgrading. The beds are bigger than your standard single, two sinks in the bathroom, a bath and separate shower with a fixed shower head, plenty of room to move about. You need to pay a deposit for a TV remote but we never bothered as the choice of English channels didn't look great. The maid comes in to clean every single day - even Christmas Day!! Very friendly and hardworking. We did have trouble with the safe at first but upon going down to reception the staff were very helpful with sorting it out.
The buffet restaurant is massive, no trouble getting a table (although Summer season may be another matter). Staff show you to a table straight away and take an order for drinks - the drinks choice is rather limited as not all are included in the "All Inclusive" and some you have to pay for but as we only wanted fizzy this was never a problem for us. Coffee, Sangria, water and non-Alcoholic beer were all available in the bar for no extra cost. Plenty of choice of food, burgers, pizza and chips were available every evening if you wanted them but we never touched them! Variety of breads, two soups each day, salad items, cheese and meats, pasta and sauce - I'm a fussy eater but I always found something! My mother cleared her plate every day, she thought it was all delicious. Desserts included different cakes, rice pudding, bread & butter pudding, small tubs of ice cream and on Christmas Eve there was a chocolate fountain with marshmellows. There were also two tables FILLED with sweets on Christmas Eve and a rather slim Santa paid a visit where kids were able to go up and get a present (appeared to be colouring books). You do need to ask if you want another drink but the waiters and waitresses were fantastic, very friendly and hardworking, most appeared to be there at all meals (though we were out for lunch the majority of the days). Breakfast had the usual fried stuff, pastries, pancakes, churros, chocolate sauce, yoghurt etc. We just about got a table in the bar each evening after leaving dinner at 9:30 when it ends (but the staff don't rush you out, if you're still in there 15 minutes after the meal end times it's no matter). We didn't use the extra entertainment facilities but there is a bowling alley, indoor swimming pool and one night we saw "Twilight" being shown in a room with a projector.
The location is the only flaw, the surrounding area doesn't have much at all. It's a 5 minute walk down a pretty steep hill and then if you walk another 20 minutes there is a train station (the nearest called "Carvajal") with trains running every 20 minutes in each direction towards Malaga and Fuengirola. Trains are always on time and even ran on Christmas Day!! Be warned that you need to walk up 94 steps to reach the station! However, we caught the train each day and it was around 5 euro for an adult return to Malaga, a journey which took around 35 minutes. Fuengirola is only three stops away but too far to walk. It was 2 stops (or 5 minutes) to the actual Benalmadena station but if you visit make sure to walk through the massive park that's a few minutes walk away. Play areas for kids, places to eat, goats, ducks to feed (1 euro for a massive bag of bread!). The main area of Malaga had plenty of shops including H&M, Claires, Zara etc.
We'd recommend the hotel without a doubt and I'd love to visit again though not in the summer season - maybe Christmas 2014 it will be!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackSargeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Director General at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear Mr. Sargenson,
We are grateful for all your comments and we promise you that we will consider for our future upgrades.
Thank you very much again and hope to see you again soon.

The new General Management Holiday Polynesia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    891
    440
    175
    96
See reviews for
1,508
462
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

My wife and I along with our two children and grandparents came away for 4 days to the Polynesia and found it be an absolutely fantastic hotel. We were initially worried about the food after reading the reviews but found the food tasty, hot and a good variety. My wife and I are also part time mystery shoppers so are naturally critical of places and know what to look for and with this place there is very little to be critical of. The only we found as we went on holiday over Xmas the outside pool was too cold and we could only visit the indoor facilities once for free then it would be 5euro per person per hour.
The kids club was brilliant and everyone had a fun-filled holiday.
Highly recommended and I imagine this hotel is even better in the warmer months.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dj3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, Director General at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
Dear guest,
we are happy to know you enjoyed your holiday with us.

We will consider your comments to improve our offer in winter.

Again we appreciate your comments and hope you again soon in our hotel.


The new General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

The rooms (suites) in the hotel were great, above all there was plenty of room and even the balcony was more like a private terrace. The room staff kept the rooms and bathrooms beautifully clean. The reception staff, all spoke fluent English and were very efficient and helpful.
The overall ambience was very well done with lots of water features and again lots of space,
BUT
and there are lots of buts, the food was DIRE, I have read all the comments on here and most mention the food temperature, but it wasn't just tepid/cold it really wasn't good, and there was only one restaurant open when we were there so I can only comment on the buffet.
All children's entertainments except the games room (like an amusement arcade, each thing costing money) were shut, in fact while we were there there the only things open were the shop, the main bar, and the buffet restaurant. The couple of nights when there was entertainment in the bar, it was like something from a 70's working man's club.
The one thing that constantly went through my mind while staying at the hotel was what would it be like with a 1200 people in it? I think the facilities would be totally inadequate, and it must be a nightmare during the summer season.
Would I stay there again? Nope, not even the really nice room would persuade me, and the absolute deciding factor on this is it's location, too far out to easily get to other places, yes the bus service is half hourly but even that is a fair jaunt, just to get to the bus stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jetsam95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, General Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear guest,
first of all thank you for your positive comments about our staff, cleanliness and facilities.
Regarding your comments:
We are very sorry that you did not like our food. FYI: we have a varied menu of 14 days of international cuisine, looking for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
Also, we will confirm to you, we had all the local open depending on occupancy (reported in our winter catalog).
Obviously in the months of more employment we have, more services are offered and we assure you that most of our guests are going home back very satisfied.

For us, your feedback is very important, because they help us to improve our future service.

Thank you very much and hopefully come you back again as guest at our hotel

The new General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melling merseyside
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

we have recently stayed at the hotel 26/11/13 till 03/12/13 the hotel and staff were so lovely they tried to help in any way they could some of the food was cook for you by a chef and the rest was held in the hot plates I do not think these keep the heat In and they do need changing. I do think it is a shame that this is not put right for it is lovely hotel only for they certain foods but there is still plenty of choice and something for everyone I did leave my bag at the hotel and went to the airport and they sent it after me :) thank you to all the staff from Mrs Hulme

Room Tip: please ask for sea view for the other rooms are dark and we had to up grade which cost 80 euros
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patriciahulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JOSEFA C, General Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Mrs. Hulme,
We are very sorry that your holiday has not been entirely satisfactory and we appreciate your positive comments about our staff and facilities.
We promise you, it will investigate the incident and will be solved if necessary.

We thank your comments and hope to visit again soon.

The new General Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portadown, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This was our first family holiday with my daughter (5), after reading some reviews I was a bit worried, especially about the food. I am picky with my food, I like it hot, and given I have worked as a restaurant manager, I sensed I would be complaining a LOT! We were greeted with helpful and friendly staff who were very knowledgeable. Hotel was clean and tidy throughout. The rooms were spotless, there was a broken latch on our door which got fixed within the hour. A 10min wait for a 2min bus ride to the water park was well worth it! Water park was clean, had friendly staff and our daughter loved every minute of it! Boards are opposite the reception with daily activities/excursions which were varied. We went to Fungerola (which was awful) and Belamendena (which was so good we went twice!), short bus journey into either. Again the staff knew prices of bus. FOOD was sooooo good! We went every evening at 6.30 and the food was hot. I will state though that it is a buffet (although some food is cooked to order), so if you leave it later of course the food isn't going to be piping hot! All in all, brilliant hotel, brilliant variety of food, clean, and would defiantly go back!!!

Room Tip: We were on 5th floor, very quiet! Great for young families there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lynsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Fantastic hotel however Many facilities closed due to under occupancy. We had access to one restaurant only and during the 7 days did not receive one meal hotter than Luke warm. Many were cold. Rooms were lovely, balcony with jacuzzi was worth extra cost. Not good for people with fear of heights. All elevators are glass. Railings around balconies are glass and drop over railings is a worry for children. Attractions in decor eg fish, birds, turtles encourage people to look over railings which increase risk of fall over. They were a standard height (waist height) and some we're loose. Staff offer minimal interaction and whilst they are not rude they are not particularly friendly.....especially man on reception. All inclusive included trips to other resorts but we weren't told this and did not find find out until last day. Fuengriola is approx 1 1/2 mile walk. Benalmedena is double this. Taxi 9 euro each way. Would recommend hotel if wasn't for food. Shame really as quality and selection was great but temperature made meals unenjoyable......we ate out at least once every day due to this. Staff were unable to explain it and did not seem to have any plans to address. Beds were particularly hard.

Room Tip: Suites worth upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

All the staff were very friendly and efficient,the buffet dining provided a wide choice which catered for all tastes.Steaks and fish were cooked to order.Rooms were spacious and clean.
Only downside was the hotels location, bus or taxi had to be used to get to the main resorts on the coast.We normaly take the car to Spain and this is one time when it would have been handy.Rooms with sea views would cost 16 euros /day extra otherwise rooms had partial sea views.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,660 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#27 of 45 in Benalmadena
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,164 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#14 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing