We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Break”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed here in April this year and the standard is still fantastic!

Room

We had a ground floor suite with sea and pool view.
The hot tub on the balcony was fantastic for those cold nights.
The bathroom was fantastic with a double basin a power shower and the most luxury large bath.

All Inclusive

Breakfast had a large selection from continental, full English and a selection of fruits and pastries.

Lunch was lovely although we only had lunch the one time as we were in our hot tub through the day or sunbathing on the 3 hot days we had out of 5.

Evenings were great and the special meal on Christmas eve was delightful.

Staff were fantastic and spoke English fluently.

All in all I will definitely be back and hope to book for February or April .

Room Tip: Suite Upgrade at 55 euro per night fab and worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ksg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,114 - 1,120 of 2,576 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

Due to flight delay we had missed the transfer bus from the airport but were met by a taxi and quickly on our way. Our enthusiasm waned as we sped further out of town, and we realised that the Hotel was rather a long way from anywhere! First impression on entering the foyer was a massive 'WOW !' Unfortunately it stopped there- it was 10pm and the hotel seemed deserted! One lady on reception- politely greeted us and we were told that, no, there was no food available, 'dining closed'. The bar is open though, great, but it closes at 11pm, not so great! We were given our room card keys and pointed in the direction of one of many lifts, no offer to assist us, despite being the wrong side of 60. We struggled with our cases and located our room - quickly dumped everything and made a dash for a much needed drink, arrived to find just 4 people in the bar! Hardly what we expected on a Friday night, just 5 days before Christmas! With just 10 minutes to go before 11pm, we were told 'bar closing now' - and the lights were dimmed even as we left. We both agreed that the junior suite was great and well equipped. The beds were huge and very comfortable. The bathroom had twin basins, bath , bidet, loo and big powerful shower. The kitchenette was clean and functional, we only used the fridge for bottled water though, as we were all inclusive and ate in the restruant every day. Maintenance man was very quick to respond to our request of help with the tv remote,it was broken but replaced immediately. NOTE: you need to get the remote control at reception and pay 10 euros returnable deposit. Food seems to be a major source of discussion on other reviews...the main issue was that the meals were often no where near hot; best tip I can offer is to take advantage of the 'live grill' and get a lovely hot omellette made to order for breakfast!
The choices were varied and I cannot believe some of the moans I have read about the food. There was so much to choose- from 'full English' to croissants, pastries to waffles, fresh fruit, yogourt and cereals, great choice of bread and rolls, cold meats and cheese etc etc! My absolute favourite was the salad bar, which often included smoked salmon,asparagus, plus lots, lots more. As it was December we expected some things to be closed, but as it happened, the Polynesia was the only hotel in the group open- the wonderful looking water park with the huge elephants at the waters edge, was closed and padlocked. The Oriental and Polynesian restruants were both closed....the pool, which must be fantastic in the summer, was icy cold and only used by a few hardy souls during the 2 weeks we were there. On the other hand the spa was super! But surely the entertainment would make up for the lack of facilities? Sadly not!
It was laughable, a huge, undecorated congress room with a stage and chairs set out more like a theatre than a pleasant sociable area to sit and enjoy a drink with friends. Bearing in mind that the 'entertainment' mostly consisted of bingo 9pm-10pm and then the 'show', usually the same 3 dancers in different costumes prancing about! Everything finishes at 11pm. One night, the male singer went for a break after just 20 mins on the stage and when he returned the entire audience had left!! . Christmas day was not really celebrated, apart from Carols piped through every orifice right up to Jan 1st. Santa visited with a gift for the children, but a skinny santa without a beard was not very convincing! The Christmas show appeared to consist of the same 3 dancers - dressed in santa suits. I appreciate that 'when in Spain' and all that, but the majorithy of guests were British, many with children and everyone we spoke to agreed it was very disappointing. New Years Eve was ok...started with cocktails around the indoor lake in the foyer-a large influx of Spanish for this event and the whole evening appeared to be 'stepped up' to accomodate the locals. ( although the bar remained open, all inclusive rights stopped at 11pm). Same as every other night. All in all, the entertainment desperately needs improvement, and it wouldn't be difficult, just a few decorations on the totally bare stage, would make a big difference and offer a bit of atmosphere. The 'acts' were almost embarrassing to watch- a lady singer with a beautiful voice walked on to the bare stage, set up her own gear, changing the music between songs herself, very kareoke like, did her bit, packed up and left the stage un aided, then nothing, total silence under bright lights...not even canned music, show over, boom ..everybody out, doors locked!! AND.....no dance floor anywhere, no where to boogie away the 'free drinks' and create any sort of fun atmosphere. All the staff were friendly and helpful, unfortunately badly let down by the hotel management who seemed blissfully unaware of the many shortcomings. Will definetely NOT be returning, and advise anyone who is considering a Christmas in the Polynesia not to bother and certainly not if they expect anything remotely like a British celebration. On the other hand, in full summer season, with everything open, I imagine it to be a wonderful place to holiday in. The saving grace for me was definetely the excursions, (free if all inclusive), and positively 'Wow' decor in the hotel.

Room Tip: we had 3rd floor suite, overlooking entrance of hotel. Nice view of hills and side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Z5136KCChrisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is an older review but I have been looking at recent reviews and this hotel still seems the same standard as when we stayed here. We stayed at this hotel in May 2011 and had the best holiday ever. As we arrived in the amazing reception area we were welcomed and had our luggage put onto a trolley for us and took to our room. We got a corner room over looking the pool and sea,it was beautiful.
It doesn't matter what floor you stay on, we were on the 3rd floor and our little boy has mobility problems but there are big glass lifts everywhere, it was never an issue. The rooms are a great size for a family,and it was good to have a kettle,fridge etc also in the suite .The balconys are big too. All the staff and hotel kids team were brilliant and our then 9 and 3 year old loved every minute of our stay as did we. We always had something to do around the hotel.
The beach club is down the hill from the hotel, which you can get a shuttle bus there and back every 15 mins but we walked it every time as it was only a little walk away.
We have just booked to go back here in May this year and we all can not wait, our 11 year old is so excited to come back here and our 5 year old can't wait to go back in the games room which he still remembers:) We are looking forward a lovely stay in a this spacious modern hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suz852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Myself and wife and two daughters stayed here for Christmas and New Year and we thoroughly enjoyed our winter break at this lovely and quite quirky built hotel. The weather was a bit hit and miss but we got plenty of days around 16 degrees and one or two even hotter days. The resort was busy for NYE with the typical Spanish event. I like how people make an effort to dress up for the occasion. The food was very acceptable and quite varied. We even had yorkshire puddings and beef on the menu! Proper back bacon for breakfast would be cooked for you on request. The staff were polite and friendly. The hotels spa was lovely and only cost 5 euros per useage. Lots of live entertainment and an inhouse cinema which my children used to watch The Smurfs. The kids club was excellant and there was also a good sized arcade and a 10 pin bowling alley. Really plenty to do although myself and wife generally prefer to languish, read, play backgammon. Benalmaden was lovely and the hotel provides a free coach service to Benalmadena marina which was amazing, never seen so many live fish. I did'nt like Fuengirola and watch for gypsies selling flowers, they stung me for a couple of euros. I thought this was however a good holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laird Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This hotel is so big and offers so many that I will spend some more text on it and divide it into small chapters.

THE HOTEL

The Polynesia hotel is part of a big hotel complex, with various themed hotels on a big piece of land, surrounded by fences. The inside of the hotel is paved with marble and there are different themed areas, with objects and artifacts, (fake) plants etc. that should give you the feeling that you are in a different part of the world but to be honest it looks a bit fake. During the day a strange mix of music is played through the hotel corridors, varying from songs for children, to ever greens to classical music. This music is so loud that it can be heard inside the rooms.

FACILITIES AND SERVICES
The hotel offers all kinds off facilities, from various restaurants, to a shop to a hairdresser and from a cinema to all kinds of entertainment. In the winter however a lot of the places are closed and not all services are offered.
The hotel also offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. We only had breakfast once and despite the huge amount of choices, the food was not that good.
This hotel can be booked with or without all inclusive rights, in both cases you still have to pay extra for some basic services:
- Extra costs for WiFi (EUR 12,50 per device for 5 days)
- Locker (EUR 2,60 per day)

THE ROOM
We had a junior suite and the room itself is quite spacious, with a separate bathroom, bedroom, ‘living room’ with a kitchen and a huge balcony. When you first enter the room you’re probably amazed by the space and the way everything looks. Upon second glance however it is not that great and it is hard to believe that the place is built only 4 years ago in 2009. A lot of things are damaged (like doors en cabinets), the sealant in the bathroom is very poorly reapplied, and the ceiling contains mildew, while a small shelf in the shower for soap and shampoo almost falls off the wall.
The living room itself is quite good furnished with a sofa and some chairs that give you just the comfort you need. The bedroom contains some horrible beds, with uncomfortable spring matrasses.
The kitchen is just what you need and contains:
- Spoons, knives, forks, canopener, pans, plates and cups
- Electric kettle
- Microwave oven, electric hot plate and fridge
However it doesn’t contain:
- a coffee machine or tools to make coffee
- any ingredients (pepper, salt, sugar, tea, coffee)
- towels, cleaning cloths

THE STAFF
The staff is very friendly and speaks English very fluent. Whenever you have a question or an issue they will solve it within minutes. Cleaning and maintenance however doesn’t seem to be part of the core competencies. Our room was far from clean, with stuff from previous guests in the fridge, stuff and dust underneath the bed and some stuff that was found on the beaches underneath our sinks in the bathroom. While the dishes were done every day, the bathroom was never cleaned during our 8 day stay, only towels were replaced. Some walls were dirty and sticky.

CONCLUSION
Although this hotel has some great potential and a wide range of facilities I wouldn’t advise to visit it in the winter. If you don’t care about hygiene, good beds, good food and you just want a place to sleep, relax and have fun, then Polynesia is a great place to stay. If you’re expecting some more luxury there are probably better alternatives.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Martijn_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Glad to get away at all, hard to find flight 2days after Christmas and most of the guests going home after a dull sounding Christmas and we had this huge hotel with not many rooms occupied though most of the facilities available. We were joined by many Spaniards for the celebrations for NewYear, four courses of rich food, party bags loads of drink and a live band playing mostly Spanish pop but I could dance to that! Reviews about food being cold was sometimes justified and the food offered out of hours in the bar was very poor for an all inclusive tariff, though this would be hopefully better when all the snack bars are open. A nice break but not nice enough to sign up for next year.

Room Tip: They wanted an extra €16 a night for a sea view and the balcony we had was fine with a view over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alysonteapot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Polynesia for Xmas and new year. The hotel itself is great, very spacious, child friendly and lots to do on site such as bowling, birds, fish, fountains etc... The location is bit out of the way, but there are trips included if you book all inclusive, although many people we spoke to didn't know about them and they do get booked up quick. The hotel lacked Xmas spirit and atmosphere and the evening entertainment needs to be revamped. There is a lovely kids club but my daughter was too young but could use the facilities with her.
The food was a good variety but could be hotter, they could also do with some spicy dishes, but on the whole not bad.
New years was bit better than Xmas lot more effort made but food was not great, most people had to pay extra which did not go down well. The entertainment was good. On the whole a great hotel but needs bit of improvement here and there. Staff are also helpful. Although one night we were woken up by a loud bang and cracking noise which was pretty scary. Reported to reception but they did not seem too bothered, for that reason alone I would not return, but we had a nice time away and met some lovely people.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chickenburger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
968 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing