We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Oldham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Just returned after a week staying at this hotel It certainly has the Wow factor !! Based on Polynesia Islands , has an aviary and turtles in indoor pools Décor fantastic , never seen anything like it before I e mailed holiday world and asked for a quiet room and a high floor , had an immediate response saying my request had been noted .We were in Room 403 and it was just what we had asked for .
Room was a Junior suite , very spacious and comfortable Cleaned daily and sheets changed 3 times a week Towels daily .All Inclusive best option , wouldn't recommend self catering due to remote location , for shopping Suites do have a kitchenette with a fridge, microwave and hob .

You do have to pay 10 Euros deposit for the TV remote control but its returned when you check out Wi Fi reasonable 5 Euros for 5 hours or 12 Eoros for a whole week I used the 5 hours over the week as you logout after each use and retain the rest of your time allowance Adequate for sending and receiving e mails

Hotel is remote , 20 minutes walk to Fuengirola Bus service on main road and train station at Caravajal 25 minutes walk away Train to Malaga 5 Euros 30 cents return , every 20 minutes The Hotel do free excursions daily , brilliant We enjoyed our trips to Mijas and Puerto Banus
Spa fantastic and we enjoyed the Spanish lessons Excellent value for Winter Sun , wouldn't go to this hotel in the Summer Season , would be too busy and is a Family resort. Hotel half full when we stayed and Beach Club closed .
Thanks to all staff who worked so hard to make our stay enjoyable
Last comment . NO Thompson reps at this hotel !! Not good enough Thompsons to expect guests to phone or e mail you !!!!

Room Tip: E mail hotel direct and request the location of room that you would like We did and were given a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeraSOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    891
    440
    175
    96
See reviews for
1,508
462
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed her last may. It will be very hard to beat it very clean spacious rooms, cleaned everyday. Pool lovely. The beach club at end of road is a great way to spend a few hours and shuttle bus goes up and down frequently. Bis at end of hill can bring u into benalmadena 10mins away and this goes very often. We rravelled in every nite and a taxi from tje marina bak to hotel was bout 13eur. Couldnt fault the hotel. We were self caterin because we prefer to eat out in diff places but most p were all inclusive. Wat it lacks in location, it definetly makes up for in everythin else!!!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

just returned from a weeks holiday. Hotel as stated a bit remote wouldn't recommend if self catering. But we stayed all inclusive. Great value for money. food was good and plenty of choice with options of having various choices of meat grilled to your liking. Including bacon and omelettes at breakfast. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Hotel layed on trips daily to various parts of costa del sol daily all free of charge. Rooms were clean and large. Because we went out of season the water park was closed so not many families so if your going with kids it could be a bit boring for them as pool was to cold to swim in although weather was ok. can't wait to book next years hol back there.

Room Tip: If you can book a suite with whirlpool was told by fellow holiday makers that it was worth the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steviesonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Don't listen to the bad reviews, Ive been here twice now and it's outstanding it's amazing, it's up hill so a bit of walking but it's a nice peaceful walk and plenty to do, beach you can walk too, plenty of swimming pools and the food is fantastic great variety, ignore the bad comments if your going here trust me your have a lovely time.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank ZackyZackZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The positives - Was lovely the room, 1 bar man was lovely and kind to us and dropped on great weather, 2 reception women were lovely and there was plenty of room around the pool area cleaner was lovely and did a very good job! The things to look at in the hotel are fab, turtles and birds plus all the water features ect.
Negatives - The hotel is part of one big complex and you must remember to take your key to get back into the complex past the barrier. 1 member of staff was rude to us as we mistakenly went into a Spanish private party without any notification that was what happening and we did apologise but held that against us for the rest of the holiday. if you don't go all inclusive it costs 5Euroes for a pint of pop so I would hate to think how much the food is. We managed to get into the spa twice but wasn't aware you had to book before you can go in and if not all inclusive it will cost 5Euro per person for a hour, this includes swimming, showers, sauna and steam room ect. If you need internet to contact family at home ect. It runs ok at times but cuts off midway or staggers and slows down.

Overall I do like this hotel and my stay, has lovely people to talk to when you arrive and its quiet as we did not go in season but if you want a relaxing break away like we did this is one hotel you can do this in. :)

Room Tip: go all inclusive get one closer to the sea for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The positives:
- The room is good sized and is of acceptable quality.
- The Hotel Staff are very helpful
- Good for families with small children in high season

The Negatives:
- The location of this hotel is bit remote, it is built on a hill so there is a bit of an uphill walk back to the hotel, there is shuttle from the hotel to the bis stop between 10 am to 6 pm, we were usually back after 6 so missed it most of the time. There is a bus stop (Called Holiday World) just outside the hotel, there is a good bus service to torremolinos and fuengirola (service 120). There is train station around 20 minutes walk from the hotel (called carvajal), you could catch the train C1 if you wish to go to Malaga centre. Due to the location, I only recommend this hotel If you plan to sit and relax instead of going out every day.

- Everything needs to be paid for, the wifi is 12 euros/week/PER DEVICE so not so good if you, like me, carry multiple smart devices wifi connection is a bit unreliable as well. The locker costs around 2.5 euro per day, there is an indoor pool which costs 5 euros for 1 hour.

- Not a big issue but there are no English channels apart from news

Room Tip: Get At least Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaurav_Katiyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As stated, the hotel is impressive to drive up to and to walk into. But then you check in. Friendly enough staff but provide little personality to the place. One pet peeve, charging a deposit of 10 Euro for the TV remote control. Feels like I am in a cheap hostel so it is an immediate turn off. Then internet was very expensive. Probably so people don't go to Tripadvisor to review the hotel or look for other ones.
It is far from any restaurants and the ones there are very expensive. But on a positive note they have birds! There is also a rumour of a turtle.
The rooms were fine. Clean enough and functional enough. Really it would not be that hard to find something better on this stretch of coast. From the sounds of it the full holiday package hotel might be ok but certainly not for a one night stay.
Bring your own TV remote and food!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatcraigguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,665 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,167 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sol Principe
Sol Principe
#12 of 71 in Torremolinos
3,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340) P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#5 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing