We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 8 June 2014

To summarise.............food pretty good although I've been to better all inclusives, the pool was great for small kids as it has plenty of shallow areas, beware your wristband only works in your hotel even though this is a village complex. Location terrible as you are stuck in the middle with a 12 euro ride to either resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nel640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sending us your feedback. We are glad that you have spent some nice holidays in our hotel.
We are sorry because the location of the hotel were not to your expectations but we are a few kilometers between two of the main towns on the coast of Malaga (Benalmádena and Fuengirola). Also near the main gate of the complex have public buses (€ 1.20 per person and trip) to go to them.
Yet we note your comments to improve the satisfaction of our future customers.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,032 - 1,038 of 2,583 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Polynesia from 15th May for 2 weeks. As soon as we arrived at the hotel our first impression was WOW.
The reception was a little slow in checking in and as a previous comment suggests, there only ever seemed to be 1 member of staff. The accommodation was fab, clean comfy and the view of the pool and sea was great!! (Room 536).
The food was lovely and always had lots to choose from! My boys tried most things! The kids club was ok, however our boys only went twice. The spa was lovely and relaxing!
Our only problem with this hotel was the evening entertainment, it was awful! We must if spent a fortune in the games room trying to keep the kids entertained. In the end we went to the Holiday Village to watch theirs. Feel as though we were mis lead by Thomsons!!!
The water park is great for young kids, and the food in their restaurant was great too! Location was ok, able to walk to the beach but do need to catch the bus into benalmadena (number 120). The marina was lovely wasn't too impressed with the town itself. Would defiantly recommend a boat trip! All in all we had a great family holiday!

Room Tip: Request a sea, pool view room with sun on balcony in afternoon! Great when kids are having an aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clarkes98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Check in: as usual only one rather unfriendly member of staff on the desk. Room not made up for our 4yr old despite it being 9pm when we arrived.
Family friendly?: we were amazed at the lack of drinking water and small spoons for the little ones. The glass balconies were quite low and our 1yr old could easily open the door of our room. Li-lo's were not allowed in the pool but rings, bought from their shop were allowed. Many parents were miffed at this.
Rooms: no clothes driers for wet beach wear but apart from that really lovely rooms, very modern and nice and dark at night with black out curtains.
Entertainment: we booked all inclusive because our daughter so loved the mini disco last year at a different hotel. This was rubbish. Glorified ring-a-ring of roses really. The sound system was always screeching and nothing seemed very professional at all.
Food: not bad at the main restaurant and the 'uru' wok a la carte food was amazing. A few people said the other place, 'ahima' was awful so we went to the uru twice.
Service: overall not great especially at the main restaurant. I like it when the waiters interact with the kids but none of these did. In fact they were only there to clear the hoards of left over food more than serve. lack of staff at the bars meant constant queuing.
Beach: I think the first choice info is mis leading. This hotel is NOT on the beach. The beach is grey sand but kids loved shell collecting. It takes about 15 minutes to walk there down steep cliff. This hotel does not even have all the pools on site. You have to walk or get a shuttle bus there. Personally I want it all on site but the short journey to the beach club, where the pools are, is fine. The pool at the hotel is nice but the ugly rough concrete floor is lethal for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea or pool view if you want morning sun on your balcony. If you want the evening sun ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear customer,
Thank you very much for sending us your feedback.
We will give to each department feedback to further improve our services and safety of our customers in the rooms and pools every day.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Four of us chose this hotel for a nice sunny break away, the hotel is beautiful and unique and the rooms are really really nice!! We went for all inclusive and although it was good value for money there were a few disappointments!

The plates in the restaurants were always dirty , the rooms were always dusty and the floors were filthy - the cleaners just change the bed sheets then leave! We were left with no clean towels, no soap so we had to call reception on numerous occasions!

The reception staff are rude and not very helpful however the bar staff were lovely and friendly!

The food was disappointing as well.... You go to Spain to eat and try Spanish food not British food. There were no real Spanish cuisines at the restaurant....

We spoke to the Thompson girls at reception to see what we could do, we decided on doing the dolphin integration at Selwo however the girls did not have any knowledge of the times the interaction were on... We went to Selwo and had to wait 4 hours ! Why sell excursions when you know nothing about the times and costs?? Surely they would have full training ?? The Selwo park is really small and you could pretty much see everything in 1 hour! It is really expensive as well, 18 euro for entry and then 64 euros for the interaction and you don't get a free photo that's another 15 euros!! The interaction is not swimming with the dolphins it is simply touching them!

Good things about the hotel, our room had a nice view of the mountains , rooms were big and spacious, the hotel Spa was lush, it's not far from the beach and the entertainment in the evenings were good , the pools were nice and the weather was great!!

That is just some of the things I thought I would share!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerSA201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects you weren`t happy with it.
We will use all the comments you made to improve our services.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner has just returned from a weeks stay 29th May-5th June and had a thoroughly good time.
The lobby of the hotel is very impressive and unlike any other hotel we have been to. The room was much better than expected, open plan lounge with a large sofa, coffee table, flat screen tv, dining table, kitchen area with breakfast bar.
Bathroom was lovely, very modern, bath and separate shower, two sinks, toilet and Bidet, very tastefully decorated. Bedroom consisted of two small double beds put together, please be aware the beds are very much in the hard side. Built in wardrobe in the lounge and bedroom. Great sized balcony. Cleaner came in daily, this seem to just consist of making the beds and replacing towels. We were overlooking the outside entertainment area which can be quite loud especially if you are wanting an early night, but the entertainment mostly finished by 11ish with a disco carrying on inside after. Balcony was in the shade until late afternoon- but this seemed to be when the temperature was at it hottest anyway.
Pool area was good and a well stocked bar.
Beach club very good, swimming pools on the cold side though! be aware the beach club is not on site but at the bottom of the hill. It's a 5-10 min walk down, a little steep going back up but doable. The hotel supplies a free shuttle bus between the hotel and beach club if you don't fancy the walk.
The hotel location is a good few miles from the town, we were aware of this prior to booking but as we had organised a hire car for the week it was not an issue to us. Alternatively there are taxis and buses located at the bottom of the hotel.
The buffet was 'ok'. A very large selection, not the best quality but I guess they are supplying on mass. We didn't really have too many complaints about it. We were not too impressed with the themed restaurant on site though, food not great, no atmosphere and little interaction from the staff. The opposite if the buffet restaurant.
We spent very little time in the hotel during the day so can not comment on the daytime activities. Again we only attended two evening entertainments. One was terrible but the magician was fantastic.
Benalmadena itself is a mixed bag, we weren't that taken with the main road through Benalmadena which was aimed at tourists. The typical tacky seaside shops aplenty, however we discovered the marina (by the sealift centre) which is lovely. A lot more upper class, nice restaurants, lots of trips out on boats to do dolphin spotting (we took several trips out). The Old town is lovely too, white washed houses, small alleyways, restaurants. It is high up the mountain though so you will require some sort of transport to get there. Whilst trying to find the old town we discovered the newer town which again is up above the main tourist area. We spent a nice evening there and it's very busy with locals and very few tourists.
We did a excursion to Morocco on one day. The hotel was offering this however we decided to go with a tour company found on the main road as much cheaper than the hotel could offer. It's a long day 6:30am - 8:15pm but well worth it.
Would definitely return back to the hotel.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel has a big wow factor when you arrive. Hotel is lovely and airy and generally clean although we did notice a couple of spillages on the stairs that were there for the whole holiday. Reception did seem a little short staffed at times (usually only 1 person). We stayed in a suite with a hot-tub. Room was lovely and fairly spacious though only one 2 seater sofa-bed which was awkward as there were 4 of us. There was a small kitchen area (you might want to pack a cloth and tea-towel as these are not supplied) with a fridge, kettle & microwave. We had to pay EUR 2.60 a day for the safe, EUR 12 per week per device for WIFI, a deposit of EUR10 for the TV remote! You can also hire beach towels which is free for all-inclusive guests but requires a deposit of EUR15 per towel.
The pool is lovely, although like most places in Spain not heated so was absolutely freezing but I think this is the first hotel I have stayed at that no matter what time of day you get to the pool there are sunbeds available!!! Very few people get up at the crack of dawn to reserve sunbeds ... and those that do are frowned upon!!
The mini golf was in a terrible state of dis-repair in fact looked like someone had taken a hammer to it in places.
The beach club was nice but again pools were freezing. Slides not that great and didn't really interest the kids. You have to pay to hire the tubes. Kids enjoyed the different pools.
The most annoying thing about both the hotel pool and the beach club was the extremely loud, extremely rubbish music that blares out from 10am onwards. Mostly europop and Spanish! I felt this was unnecessary, especially at the volumes they were playing it at. To add to this also had some very selfish guests who had their own stereo which they were also playing by the pool!
A well stocked shop on-site. Considering there was nowhere local to walk to I thought the prices weren't bad at all. EUR 1.20 for a large bottle of water. NOTE bottles of mineral water were not included. They had jugs of water out on the bar but this tasted disgusting.
Food in restaurants was ok. Plenty of variety. Could have been hotter. Queues weren't too bad.
Did get very samey in the end though. We got a cab down to Benalmadena Harbour a couple of times (approx EUR11-13 each way) . Worth the visit and can highly recommend BAR OLE if you like a mojito - they have 36 different flavours.
If you like all-inclusive this is a good family resort.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank neets2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Gerente at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects you weren`t happy with it.
We will use all your comments to improve our services (especially the music in the pool)
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My husband and two children and I have just returned from hotel Polynesia. Overall we were really pleased and felt it was good value for money. The reception was welcoming and there was never too long a wait for attention. The pook on site was ok but if you wanted variety then the water park down the hill offered more but not necessarily more exciting choice. My daughter spent a few hours in the kids club each day and loved it. The bar service was good but you could wait a while for service. The all day snack bar was regularly replenished but was limited in choice. The restaurant was nice and we found the choice of food fine. The activities laid on were run of the mill but enjoyable. The evening entertainment was decent. I think the hotel could improve by adding another pool and also having some shaded or in door play areas for toddlers as the kids club is the only in door play space and mum and dad are expected to leave, fine for the 5 yr old less so for the 1 yr old. I also think that some free access to the spa and gym could be included. Only criticism is lack of communication, e.g activity location was moved several times with no warning or information as to the new location.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thebabsinsoton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
972 reviews
1.1 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,284 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#11 of 45 in Benalmadena
374 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#7 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £47 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing