We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet”
Review of Holiday Polynesia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Polynesia
Ranked #20 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Internet”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Life depends on a good wifi connection. Currently staying on room 222 the Internet is the worst speed I have ever use totally rubbish value for money. In a hotel that costs this much I would expect I decent connection.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Steveramsey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to hear that you had problems with the wifi connection. We are working on improving the quality of this service in the future to make it faster for all customers even many people connected while being. We especially check the room that tells us.
We will use all the comments you made to improve our service.
Thank you for leaving your review and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,511 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    840
    921
    458
    190
    102
See reviews for
1,590
468
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are staying here as a family of four (children aged 10 & 7) and can not fault the accomodation, food, entertainment or staff. Rooms are cleaned every day and towels/bed linen are also changed daily. Lots of activities around the pool in the daytime and bowling, games, shows etc.in the evening to keep kids of all ages entertained. The buffet restaurant has fresh seafood, salad and meats cooked to order. Staff are constantly cleaning spilt food from around the buffet area and plates are cleared away promptly. We have stayed in a few Thomson family hotels and this one is the best by far. We are having a brilliant time and will be back.

Room Tip: Email ahead and ask for a room away from the pool/entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Debbie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel Polynesia on arrival is a bit daunting as it is huge, we were very impressed and after a few days u do get to find your bearings. Hotel room was ok quite dark and depressing as we were round the back near to the entertainment stage but we were hardly in it, only downside when we first arrived in our hotel room the floors were not cleaned or brushed up there were hairs and god knows what on the floors, when we were first entered the bathroom it had a strong smell of urine so obviously the bathroom hadn't been cleaned until we complained, towels were replaced each day. Food was lovely plenty to choose from kids lived off hotdogs, chips, pizza e.t.c. Alcohol was very watered down, the drinks were good for the kids as they had the branded pop. Never had an issue with sun beds which was great plenty to go around and lots of space, the pool is quite small considering how big the hotel is and one issue I felt with the pool it wasn't cleaned properly and on the tiling at the bottom of the pool there was black mildew in between the tiles not one to be fussy but you really could not miss it, so I dread to think what bacteria the pool had in it as my 5yr old was poorly for a few days with sickness as he swallowed the pool water. The kids club in the hotel is great my son loved it the Beach club is lovely, went to the beach and the marina which you could get to on the bus as the hotel is a bit out of the way of everything. We went on the Gibraltar rock trip which was fantastic well worth a trip to see the monkeys. Overall holiday was nice would I go back to the Hotel Polynesia No!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chalene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Chalene,
Thank you very much for send us your feedback about our hotel.
We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects you weren`t happy with it.
We will use all the comments you made to improve our services.
However, we are happy to read that you had a nice holiday and we hope that you change your thought and see you again in our hotel.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We travelled as a family of 9: my husband, myself, our children (6 and 4), my parents, my brother, his partner and their son (2). We were looking for a holiday with the main requirements that the children would be happy, we could enjoy some nice food and drink and decent entertainment at night. Most of our requirements were met.
Although we booked with Thomson, our flight was with Monarch and they were absolutely fantastic to fly with, speedy check-in, roomy seats and pleasant staff with (outward and return). We had a private taxi rather than bother with the coach transfer as it didn't cost a lot between us all. Possibly as a result of this we beat the queues at the check in at the hotel and so we found this was very quick and efficient. All the staff in reception were friendly and helpful and we all felt this continued for the whole week.
Our rooms were all clean and plenty of space even when the sofa bed was pulled out. There was a kettle, toaster, microwave and hob in the room although we didn't use these as were all inclusive. Air con worked fine and I was particularly impressed with the amount of wardrobe space and hangers we had as have found on other holidays this has not been so good. The beds weren't the comfiest but were fine. Balcony was huge although we only really used it for getting towels dried on.
Food and drink were absolutely fine. I think considering the amount of people the hotel caters for it was good. British are not the only guests there, there were lots of Spanish and French too. There were "samey" things such as burgers, hotdogs, pizza etc but there was a different meat every night and lots of different salads. Lots of choice for seafood fans. I'm not a big drinker but did have a few glasses of sangria which went down a treat, other members of my family drank beer, cocktails and wine. My parents like a decent glass of red with their meal and were not keen on the all incl wine on offer so bought themselves a bottle for around 13 euros which lasted them a couple of nights. No complaints about the soft drinks, lemon fanta, orange fanta, sprite, diet coke and coca-cola.
The pool did get busy but people always managed to get a spot. People are not allowed to put towels down on sunbeds and leave them until after 9am so no need to be getting up at 6am like other places we've been. A few families (us included) would go down about 8.30 but you have to stay with the beds (fair enough) our youngest liked having the pool to herself! The entertainment around the pool was pretty annoying mainly due to the music (which was loud and repetitive on occassion) and the PA system which meant you could not hear what the staff were actually saying. Reading other reviews I really do not understand the complaint about the train. The train possibly causes a disturbance for 5 seconds once an hour, seriously, not a problem!!!
The whole hotel was spotless and constantly being cleaned.
The evening entertainment was pretty poor. The mini disco which didn't start til 8.30 was just half hearted and the same every night. Our girls jumped ship and went to play in the park. The following entertainment was just as lack-lustre so we didn't actually stay up after 9.30 at all. That said we then had to sit a listen to the entertainment from our room as it overlooked the outdoor theatre. Most nights it did not cause a major problem but on one night it kept me awake until 11.30 (not a problem for some but our children our early risers).
I don't know if we would go back to this hotel or not! It was good on the whole and maybe if we had a room away from the entertainment it would be a definite yes. I would recommend if you have young children to specify you would like a quiet room. We were in room 419. There are lots of positives about this hotel and the price I feel was quite reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. 419 overlooked the entertainment :-(
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and do not hesitate that we will use all the comments you made to improve our services.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Currentlŷ still at The Polynesia. Other reviews seem extremely picky and could put you off what is a great holiday. Good distance from airport. Reception was very efficient. The hotel inside is beautiful. Spacious and very clean. The hotel is continuously being cleaned, bins emptied, windows cleaned. Food is excellent and lots of variety. Maybe those who complain about the food should try and have a meal rather than stuffing same plate full of fish, meat, chips, pasta, sauce etc. Drink on tap. Beach club 10 mins walk. Book day before and you get all inclusive and the buffet is even better. The junior suite is lovely. Spacious and clean. Kids club is great. Crèche clean and good soft play. Entertainment is ok - if you want to watch Robbie Williams etc - go and book to see him - the entertainment is fine!!! Choice of two extra restaurants. If you want to go shops they have two great inventions - taxi and bus.
Nobody is on top of each other, lots of space around pool. Animation team available all day.
Train line is very quiet. Entertainment loud but you are on holiday. If you don't have kids- book elsewhere.
Not too expensive- you get extra quality.

Room Tip: Back of hotel. 253.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank JamiePritchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel in Trip Advisor.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and know all the things that we offer to all guest.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wicklow ireland
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Just back from 14 nights here and we had an excellent time .3 families altogether, 5 kids ages ranging from 1 to 7 . Reading all the negative reviews about this hotel had us worried for a while but i dont know what all the moaning was about the only thing we could fault this hotel on was the location . We checked in late to this hotel and was very quick the ladies at the reception were very helpful , they do ask for a credit card as their is a mini bar in your room. We asked about the all inclusive as we were told over the phone it was €50 a day per adult and €30 a day per child over 3 we were delighted to hear if you stayed over 11 days it was only €40 per adult and €22 per child. the hotel lobby is just wow . apartments are immaculate with a nice size balcony , air con , flat screen tv ( dont rent a remote tv works and channels are on the side of tv) radio, you have to pay for the use of the safe €2.60 per day .
food is like any buffet lots and lots to choose from we had no issues kids loved going up and getting their own ice-cream etc.. at the poolside they had hot-dogs,burgers,pizza, nuggets ,chips,toasted sambos and you could take these as you pleased most of the day , then cakes etc would be brought out in the late afternoon.
the pool gets a little overcrowded sometimes but you had a choice to go to the beach club which is a nice walk down a steep hill . a shuttle bus brings you up and down every 15 minutes either. kids loved the beach club . games room is also good fun for the kids as is the bowling, there is also a small cinema.
taxi's into benalmadena were approx €14 each way and €11 each way into Fungeriola.
the sealife in the marina is a waste of time and money in benalmadena . go to the selowa marina it is a great day out you can get to play and touch the dolphins for €66 adult €33 child.
tivoli world is another great day out for the kids .
we will be returning here as we had a ball.

Room Tip: sun sets on the front of the hotel which is a pool view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jamesWicklowIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear James,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your big family enjoyed your stay with us during 14 nights.
In addition, we are glad that you have had the opportunity to visit several of the attractions that we have not only into the hotel complex but also around like Sea Life or Tivoli in Benalmádena.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I have just returned from a week at this hotel and enjoyed it. travelled with my partner, my son aged 4 and my mum. My room was spotless and the beds and towels were changed daily, the balcony was huge! Do ask for a quiet room as we were kept awake by the excessively loud music in room 316 which overlooked the stage, asking for a sea view or a room by the turtle area should solve that. The staff in the hotel are lovely and really helpful, I read about the slow check in and made sure I was at the front of the queue and it didn't take more than 5 mins and we were off to our room. Facilities in the room are fab our kettle leaked and was replaced the same day. Shop on the ground floor is great for supplies and souvenirs. There are 3 Thomson reps at the hotel, the 2 girls are useless and more interested in sitting around talking to each other, when they are there. Danny the young lad is always around and is lovely and really helpful.

The food is ok, I never experienced any long queues. There is plenty of choice with a different theme most nights. The Chinese "uru wok" is amazing! You pick your raw ingredients and the chef cooks it to your liking with your choice of sauce in front of you. There was duck with pancakes, sushi, loads of other dishes and it was amazing, def the best meal of the week. The staff even bought my son some chips as he wasn't keen on the Chinese. The snack bar is constantly being replenished with hot food, then sarnies and toasties for afternoon tea, pastries and cakes, cant really ask for more. If you are going out and want a packed lunch they will sort this for you as well.

The pool gets very busy but there is always the beach club. Just make sure you book first thing the day before at reception if you want to eat in the restaurant, otherwise take a pack up and snacks as we sometimes did. The beach club is brilliant, drinks are free with your room key and there are several pools to keep little ones busy. Be aware the minimum height for the slides with rings is 120cm, there is a 6 euro deposit and fee for the rings.

Trips - we did the cable car which is brilliant - its just opposite Tivoli world - about 12 euro in a taxi or you can get the 120 bus from the bottom of the hill. It take 15 mins to get to the top and is not for the faint hearted but the view is amazing. The birds of prey show is a must see vultures flying free and eagles is fab, beware it gets very hot up there and there is little shade, not great for less mobile.
We also did Selwo marina to see the dolphins, sea lions and other animals, we spent the day there and it was brilliant. We would have loved to have done the dolphin experience but at 66 euro felt it was too expensive, but we enjoyed the dolphin and sea lion show. Also catch the bird show and penguin feeding. It also worth a trip to benalmedina marina, lots of boats, restuarants and shopping, the sea life centre is also there. 15 euro in a taxi but worth it.

Downsides - the hill - not great but there is a shuttle bus to take you up and down and also one that goes to the beach.
WIFI - 12 euro for a week for 1 device - excessive.
Entertainment - poor. Mini disco is 2 entertainment staff dressed up in cheap outfits doing the same songs every night. There was a parrot show, reptile show and birds of prey show that my son enjoyed, but he didn't want to stay for anything else as it was too loud.
Trampolines and mini motor bikes are 3 euro and 2 euro respectively per go, mounts over the week and if you have more than 1 child.
It feels a bit far out - its quite a trip by bus or taxi to get anywhere if you are young is fine but with kids and older relatives not so good, we made use of the taxi's which was no more than 15 euro to get anywhere.
Malaga airport is very busy and very hot so bear that in mind.

We enjoyed our holiday but felt a week was enough if we went back we said we would try holiday village.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room. Asking for a sea view or a room near the turtle area should help you escape th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DireccionPolynesia, Manager at Holiday Polynesia, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Jessica,
Thank you very much for send us your extensive review. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us during one week.
We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects you weren`t happy with the entertainment.
We will use all the comments you made to improve our services.
However, we are happy to read that you had a great holiday and we hope to see you again here or in Holiday Village.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
939 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
360 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.6 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Polynesia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Polynesia

Property: Holiday Polynesia
Address: Avenida del Sol, P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Benalmadena
#6 Spa Hotel in Benalmadena
#16 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Polynesia 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Polynesia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Polynesia Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol
Holiday Polynesia Hotel Benalmadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing