We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,091)
Filter reviews
1,091 results
Traveller rating
250
324
246
152
119
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
250
324
246
152
119
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshuttle busbeach clubkids clubfamily holidayevening entertainmentall inclusive guestsmini discoopen top buschildren agedwave poolspanish familiesgreat for kidsgreat holidaylarge balconychocolate fountainall inclusive drinksliving area
Filter
Updating list...
453 - 458 of 1,091 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Great hotel,, lovely rooms with lounge bedroom and a kitchen,,what I liked about this hotel is you didn't have to get up at silly o clock to get a sun bed which for me is a bonus,, the food was great I thought catered mainly for the Spanish which wasn't a problem for me,, I think it was mainly a hotel for Spanish because entertainment was mainly in Spanish but they are really nice people which is why we chose Spain for our holidays, entertainment in the day time was great for everyone,, would definetly be going back to this hotel,,,,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Dear Marie,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
It is a pleasure to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see again very soon and have the opportunity to welcome you personally.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Just returned Saturday after 10 nights and thought it was ok but not worth the money we paid. £1450 for half board for a family of 3. Food was ok but not good for the baby, was warmed up a lot from the previous day/s, catered a lot for Spanish tourists, staff polite at times and ignorant some times also, they all looked very stressed out covering all areas of the hotel.
Is in Mijas so expect a good 20 minutes on the bus to both main strip of shops and bars.
Beach club available to all inclusive clients but we had to pay €12 per visit which I thought was unfair, but great for the kids, really nice atmosphere and 2 bars/ food huts on site.
Only really bad downside was the entertainment was not outside by the pool area but in the bar inside, really really really loud, the last 2 days we were there a lot of Spanish people arrived and was very loud up until 12! The baby was up till then and shes 19 months!!! Had to have the air con machine on till 12 to drown the Spanish singing or shouting not only in the bar but outside it which was in the communal area downstairs. Overall would I stay here again, no but would consider the hotel Polynesia over the road, catered for children with entertainment and mixed English, Spanish and German not just Spanish!
Enjoyed my first hol with my baby but wouldn't advice for a young family.

Stayed: September 2013
2  Thank Jose1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to write your comments about our hotel. We feel that your stay with your baby was not so quiet what you and your family expected.
All your feedback will be consider for each department.
We look forward to have the opportunity to see you again in our hotel in the future.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We are staying in this hotel in late September... Hence maybe why it is a little quiet, but that's nice as I can imagine that in peak summer it will be very busy as geared towards families. It's not really a hotel for couples. If you are staying here it is best to go all inclusive as the nearest supermarket is approx a hours walk away. The on site shop is expensive and doesn't open all day. The food did not impress us whatsoever ever.... Breakfast and lunch were ok but dinner was the same leftovers pretty much.... (Fried eggs and hash browns out at dinner?) if you are a fussy eater or even vegetarian you will struggle to find something. The pool snack bar however was much nicer and the best snack bar we have ever used at a pool. However when the weather was dull one day they didn't open the outside bar. The entertainment was a fail.... Very geared towards Spanish and very late, some not starting till gone 10pm. There is no communication of local amenities or excursions and you are pretty much out in the middle of nowhere so you might want to hire a car. We used the bus service which was cheap (the 120 or 128 bus) but even then you had a big walk up to your hotel. The handy shuttle bus stops at 6pm but it was a handy tool in the day. The wifi was €8 per device for a week which only worked in the bar area, so this was frustrating. Overall we got slightly bored and wouldn't recommend to young couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give your opinion about our hotel. Is possible that this hotel is more for families than couples but we tried that all our guests enjoy their stay here.
We get each of your comments to the departments to which it refers.
We hope to see you again here.
Thank you
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Like I say not sure where to start... Check in did not really go according to plan, very slow and almost condescending with us. We were not impressed with the first room they gave us, I have been in brighter cellars. Anyway our new room 106 was ok, it had its faults, when it rain the balcony flooded and the water built up in the opposite direction of the grid, they were dirty, in need of a paint and the should be flowerbeds filled with stones are full of ants, we also had ants in the bedroom near the door where a tile is coming away from the wall. The bed however is one of the best I have ever slept in and the inside of the room and bathroom were spotless, we could not sleep with the door open as we had seen a large rat on the balcony when we went in early one afternoon. When we reported it to reception they sent a maintenance man 15 minutes later with a brush!!!! by that time it had well gone back into the bushes, there were no signs of rat traps anywhere, we did not bother reporting the second time we saw it. The food is not cold when you get it, but it is by the time you sit down to eat it, by the time you have got everything you want and the air conditioning makes the restaurant very cool, which is a good thing, the best times to eat is when the restaurant first opens for each sitting as after the first 45 minutes they are queuing at the door, because the Spanish eat late and this hotel definitely caters for the Spanish, everything is late, especially the children's entertainment, our 4 year old grandson never saw the show once, because he fell asleep before it ever started - always after 9pm. The Polynesia across road entertainment is so much better in every way, its worth a look. They are short staffed and they were laying staff off whilst we were there, one of them was the best we had serve us in the restaurant, he was new and he smiled and greeted you at your table, whereas what I can only assume are the regulars were very very miserable most of the time and did not try to engage in conversation with you. The lady cook at the pool was fabulous and was always smiling, she makes the best paella we have ever tasted, she never stops working all day long, she is an unsung hero. The pool bar staff were the friendliest and very polite, they looked and acted like they enjoyed their jobs and they certainly earned there wages. The English speaking children missed out on a lot of the entertainment due to it being 99% Spanish and they couldn't get involved and they were not encouraged by the reps either. The Dino rooms are definitely not worth the extra money you pay, so avoid, you are not missing anything. I am sure the best rooms and the best views were allocated to the Spanish clientele with out fail. I asked why my room was not like the one in the brochure and was told they were 30 euros a night more, very misleading and unfair, that the brochure and the website show you these beautiful balconies and rattan loungers, but, that is not what you get. The floor area around the outside of the pool is filthy and the sun beds and tables need a good scrubbing, they were not cleaned once whilst we were there (2 Weeks). I can't see us ever going back again, you just did not feel welcome. I hate writing negative reports, but I think it is only fair you get a true picture of how we felt.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra for a dino room, its not worth it and the kids were not impressed.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PoloWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Lynda,
From Holiday Palace are surprised by the bad impression of our hotel. No doubt that will inform all your comments to the managers of each department.
As you know the hotel is situated on top of a hill next to the field and may be able to see any animals, but we use all the means at our disposal so that this do not affect our customers.
During the last eight years we are working with all nationalities and try to adapt all the time to get to satisfy all customers, even as on this occasion there are times when we fail and we`re sorry for this situation.
In addition we are going to review the brochures referred to ensure that the information provided for the agencies is correct.
Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write your opinion about our hotel. This information helps us to work every day.
Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Upside: Clean; plenty of lifts; indoor pool and spa; decent sized room; good sized hotel. Good security. Balcony lights out policy and tv sound restricted.

Downside: COLD food most of the time! Even when just put out,hot food was lukewarm, plus the food was always a bit 'samey', lentils this and chickpeas that.

A couple of key members of staff were a bit 'tetchy'.

Poor shower design-a lever and not a dial which meant you kept knocking it off as you moved around. Kids nearly got scalded a few times.

Internet Cafe should have been accessible 24-7.

The pool had to be evacuated twice due to baby accidents. Why don't they insist babies wear nappies designed for swimming pools.

Lifeguard missed a young girl in trouble. Had to be rescued by a customer.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Allan,
Thank you very much for taking part of your time to write a review on our hotel. Your feedback helps us to improve every day.
We will pass this information to all affected departments.
I wish you enjoyed your stay and come back soon to visit us. We will be happy to meet you personally.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews