We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cheap family all inclusive”
Review of Holiday Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Palace
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good cheap family all inclusive”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just got back from a week away. Facilities good, children loved the pool and the water park though were disappointed that the water slides were closed until mid april after we left. The older teenagers in our group were unimpressed with the buffet food on an evening so instead ate at the pool bar. The hill everyone is complaining about is really ok! takes 5 mins or there is a free bus but my littler ones 5 and 7 ran up and down no problem! Only thing I would advise is only go if you're prepared to eat out which is a 10 min drive or all inclusive as the people who were self catering were spending a fortune! Gibraltar is an hours drive away, advice is to park in Spain walk over the border, go to market square and hire a taxi to take you around,100 for 7 of us, definite value for money, kids loved the monkeys, caves, views etc an added bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louriddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    282
    201
    129
    96
See reviews for
679
79
1
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jersey channel islands
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The location is definitely a problem. We hired a car for the purpose of getting to the golf courses which saves loads of money on taxis as car hire in Spain is so cheap. However this doesn't help if you want to visit the nearby towns, Fuengirola and Benelmadena, as parking is so difficult or in the evening you may want to enjoy a drink or two. Both towns are some walk away so you have to be prepared to set aside 25-30 Euros for a return journey to either location. Having said that the Hotel is very comfortable and clean, and I can imagine that in the summer the entertainment will be a great deal better than we experienced and you may not want to stray to far from the resort. There was of course a charge for the room safe and WiFi, but to end on a positive note the staff were very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for one week, lovely, clean hotel but location wasn't great. You had a bus to take you down the hill but still wasn't anywhere but the water park to go. Taxi into centre was about 10 euros and marina beautiful. We stayed all inclusive and there was always plenty to eat and a good variety. Just felt a bit trapped by end of week, but if you don't mind staying in one place I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

we went to this hotel last year,i have a 7 year old son who loved every minute of it,we read reviews before we went and people had said it was at the top of a very steep hill,which,yes there was a slight hill but took 5 mins to walk down to the waterpark,a shuttle bus ran every few mins anyway,there food was delicious plenty of choice,rooms fab,staff fab,couldnt fault the holiday in any way and would defo go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank clair c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel with all of my family as we were going to Spain because I was getting married, upon arrival we had to wait 4hrs to get keys for our room, after the 4 hours we were asked to wait even longer at this stage the while day was gone and we still hadn't got I to our rooms to change. Anytime we needed anything from reception the staff were extremely rude and I fled they didn't want to be there. The food out by the pool was reheats and when we were in the pool we weren't allowed splash or have fun. The water park with the elephants in the pictures is not in this complex but is across the road and you have to hire the rings if you want to use them. Anyone with small kids I would highly recommend to go somewhere more suitable as the hill up to this hotel is very steep. There is a shuttle bus that goes up and down but does stop at a certain time. It is also a good bit away from the town so you are quite isolated from everything and can cost a fortune on taxis. I really wish I had done some research on this before I booked as it was extremely frustrating. The rooms were kept clean and fresh towels everyday.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Mollyjv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benalmadena hotels

Ashford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Just returned from a 1 week last minute stay, our first experience of all inclusive, which surprisingly was very impressive. Lots of food choices for both adults and children, even fussy eaters!!! Also access to two other restaurants the Mexican and the Italian which are included within your stay one visit to each restaurant per week. The buffet restaurant chefs must be constantly cooking, but still to a good standard even though it was coming to the end of the season. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We requested and extra chair on the balcony and by our return to the pool it was there, however they failed to replace the bulb in the bathroom, but we put that down to the hotel closing up for winter and this would be done on the maintainence list, along with the repair and replacement of the curtains in both the rooms!!!!
The water park was amazing, although it was only open threes times throughout the week and you had to hire the rubber rings at 6 euros each and 14 euros returnable deposit. I feel that this should be available to all under all inclusive deals. Especially as it was only open between the hours of 11am - 3pm.
We used the bus service, the 120, which I would recommend, into Benalmadena only 15mins journey to a lovely beach and fantastic marina with some good restaurants and bars if you want a change of scene. Bus fare price 4.65 euros eash way for 2 adults and 1 child. By taxi its appx 11 euros.
Also going the opposite direction from the hotel to Fuengirola its still a short journey. You can save money this way rather than booking one of the trips. Which when we were there were not all running.
We used the poolside snack bar, but there is only so many times you can face ham n cheese toastie chips chicken nuggets etc. Having said that there was the same tuna salad and melon and plenty of fruit available. The Beach club across the road provided good facilities however drinks and food had to be paid for. Kids entertainment crew fantastic!!!! Very amusing and doing a great job. plenty for the younger ones but mine is 12 so not much available unless your a boy. There was access to the escape den but not her thing!!!! Not sure I would like it in peak season, as I could see it being very noisy!!!
The rooms are spacious, and beds very comfy. Toiletries provided in a large bathroom and water in the fridge when we arrived. I liked the piano bar very relaxing but the evening singers/groups were much to be desired.I would recommend this hotel for families and friends you could easily have lots of fun, we managed a late booking and the price was reasonable.
We also took advantage of the spa and gym facilities, be warned equipment in spanish and desperately needs replacing, also the spa area you need to wear swim hats (spanish law) we paid 2 euros for each hat!!!

Room Tip: When booking we asked for sea view/balcony which we got and the view was brilliant also away from a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kri510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 15th-22nd oct 2013. There was myself, partner, our nearly 3 year old and my parents. The hotel spec was most certainly a 4* very clean and adventurous however other areas were more of a 3*.As you can see by my other reviews I am a fair reviewer. The food was average certainly not 4* quality, there was plenty of choice but a weird mixture, no real meals for example there was a chicken tikka masala which was nice but then no rice etc to go with it. Food was never hot more warm often cold.
The hotel was in shut down mode, which is understandable as it was coming to the end of the season however for the price we paid to stay we would have stilled appreciated the 4* service we should have received. I can imagine this hotel to be packed in peak season which I personally wouldn't have liked as the restaurant for such a big hotel is very small.
The pool bar was shut even though most days it reached 30degs.
There were 4 hotels on the complex, all of the same group but you couldn't use the food and drink if you are on the AI basis but you can use their other facilities. The beach club was down the bottom of the hill and across a bridge but there was a free shuttle bus which was provided.
The hotel is advertised in brochures as being 700m from the beach, if you class a bit of sand as a beach the yes but to reach the nearest proper beach you need to catch the free shuttle bus to the main road, walk right out of the hotel and walk for about 45min to get to the main beach of fuengirola, turn left and walk for a good hour to reach the main beach of benalmadena. There was a bus stop on the main road, if you catch the 120 it takes you to either towns each about 15mins and cost 1.60euro per adult.
The beach club was good but I would say more suitable for kids over 5 so they can use all of the facilities it has to offer, you can use the AI on drinks here but you need to pay for food.
There was hardly any entertainment, kids disco(when on) didn't start until 9.30.
Rooms were very spacious and clean. We were on the 2nd floor in 213 could not fault the rooms. We did see the dinosaur rooms on the floor below which looked to be fun for kids to go into but didn't see inside them so can't comment if it would be worth the extra for these.
Would I stay here again............. Probably not unless it was very cheap.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank sunshine003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HPalace, Manager at Holiday Palace, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear guest,
We are sorry to hear that there were several aspects you weren`t entirely happy with it.
We will use the comments you made to improve our services in the departments that you mark.
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about our hotel.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,469 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Los Patos Park
Hotel Los Patos Park
#3 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,718 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Hydros
Holiday Hydros
#15 of 45 in Benalmadena
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
3.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Palace

Property: Holiday Palace
Address: Avenida del Sol (antigua CN-340), P.K. 215,6, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel for holidays in family, couple or friends. Quiet, face to the sea on the andalusian coast, and a large program with diversified and diverting to enjoy it with the all inclusive formule. So get ready to test the Spanish Sun, tapas and Sangria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Palace Hotel Benalmadena
Holiday Palace Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing