We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Hotel La Fonda, Benalmadena Pueblo, Spain

A car is essential as this pueblo is not very near to Benalmadena Costa, although there is a local bus service. The hotel is wonderful in Moorish/Spanish style and is built on several levels with lots of outdoor terraces and patios. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which was buffet style but with the option of food cooked to order also.
Only a few steps away in the square, are two very good restaurants - La Fuente, which is rated 1 out of 3000, and La Plaza which is also very good.
The staff in the hotel were exceptionally hospitable - nothing too much trouble and very friendly.
I left a small tip for the chambermaid, and she came to thank me personally as I was leaving, and hugged me and kissed me! That was a first!
I think the hotel is suited to short stays - we were there for 2 nights only.
Nearby attractions include the Buddhist Temple and the Butterfly Park

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 368 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

Just back from a weekend at the lovely hotel La Fonda and loved every minute of it! This wee gem of a hotel deserves every bit of high praise it gets! Its staff are so friendly, helpful and go out of their way to ensure you have a pleasant stay. Its interior is beautiful, its peaceful, the rooms are lovely, the food is fantastic! its also located right next to a lovely square of little shops and restraunts, perfect for sitting watching the world go by, but we also booked a special dinner at the hotel for one night ( has to be booked the night before at least), it was 35 Euros each, but 7 courses of amazing food and being spoiled by such helpful staff . Really cannot rate this hotel highly enough, amazing amazing place. Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alisonmac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We used to live in this village and returned for a short visit. Room was lovely, bathroom huge and spotless. Great choice for breakfast and all cooked to order. Sitting on terrace looking out to sea, perfect. Small but great pool and roof terrace is just the icing on the cake.

Would return again and again.

If you visit try La Plaza, great restaurant in the village square, also La Perla is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view and Juliette balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronbon01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Few places are perfect, but this is one of them. Positioned on a hillside with wonderful views to the sea over Benalmadena, in a beautiful village. The decor and facilities in the hotel are perfect. Stunning views to be had, whilst taking breakfast either inside or on the outside terrace.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Most beautiful village and this hotel is a gem.....amazing location and been tarted up in the last few years. Has loads of character and although quiet, oodles of atmosphere. A MUST stay if you're in the location. Walking distance from everything in the village!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lesley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife & I stayed at the Hotel La Fonda in mid-October for 2 nights & wished we had stayed longer as it’s an exquisite hotel (if a little oddly shaped) with excellent professional friendly staff!
The hotel is situated in a picturesque cobbled whitewashed street with the immediate area surrounded by a small number of excellent bars & restaurants - great place for people watching
We flew in from the UK with Ryanair & caught the train from the airport to Benalmadena then jumped in a taxi from there, the driver said “the Hotel La Fonda is the place he would stay in Benalmadena given the choice as it’s so relaxing & all you can hear is the waterfall in the square” and he wasn’t wrong so praise indeed!
Our room was very clean & functional with a comfy bed what more could you ask for, the breakfast is also worth a mention as it was first-rate with a great selection & very attentive sociable staff; the hotel does have a small sun terrace on the top floor with sunbeds which again is very pleasant with excellent views although when we visited all the sun beds had already been claimed with towels with not a person in sight! But you do come across these sad folks sometimes, but all things considered if you can’t chill out here there is no hope for you! Overall it’s a real gem!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank bigden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I would just like to state that the hotel is lovely, but the pool is very cold, this said it will not deter me from visiting again as the people in the hotel are lovely and can not do enough for you. Someone is always cleaning around the hotel and it is immaculate. The breakfast is unbelievable & Gabriel, Jose & Julio made you feel right at home, lovely food and service with a smile. Beautiful views from the restaurant completed the experience.

Room Tip: Pay for a balcony, the views are stunning. Lovely restaurants withing walking distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HilaryC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#4 of 45 in Benalmadena
222 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,958 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
2.1 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: Calle Santo Domingo 7, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £73 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing