We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful La Fonda” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful La Fonda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed for a week in La Fonda and loved every minute of it. It is a truly beautiful hotel in a picturesque small town well away from the high- rise horror of Benalmadena Costa. The hotel couldn't be situated more conveniently for restaurants and bars; I would recommend La Fuente, El Muro, La Nina and La Pala d'Oro as being exceptionally good in terms of quality and value [the hotel restaurant also serves food of a high order]. All are within a stone's throw of La Fonda.We can not fault the 5 star service we received from all the hotel staff- and I wish to thank them in this review for making my wife's birthday so memorable. Highly Recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in108 which was spacious and comfortable but we had to keep the curtains closed permanentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dermod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    58
    9
    5
    5
See reviews for
33
207
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed at the hotel for three nights and thought it was wonderful. The room was lovely and they serviced it promptly every morning. The pool was really cold but it the sun was hot...and we're British, so it was fine with us! The upper sun terrace has fantastic views over the coast and the sun beds are comfy and freely available. The square near the hotel is a great place to eat and watch the musicians under the orange trees - there is also a good restaurant just along from the hotel that has a terrace overlooking the sea. We walked to the castle, butterfly farm and temple, which are all worth a visit. Overall the hotel is a chic, moorish hideaway in the hills. I wouldn't take young children or go there if I wanted lively night life. We didn't try the restaurant as it was too quiet looking for us with only a couple of people dining when we were there (ignore my rating underneath as I cannot erase it).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

I booked La Fonda via booking.com for a short honeymoon after our wedding in Alora, Spain. The hotel were fantastic. They let me take my car down the day before and use the car park and also drop off a bag in advance for my room. They also arranged for champagne to be in the room with rose petals etc.

We did not arrive until after 11.30pm and they provided us with food. The pool is fantastic. Anyone complaining about it being too small is missing the point. This property was originally a house and the pool is perfect for the small number of rooms in the hotel.

The tapas bars around the hotel are superb. We would definitely stay again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Loved the hotel & the location (Pueblo, not Costa), but beware if booking through an agent, not direct with hotel. At least one agent (olotels.com) use photos & descriptions of the hotel but book you into La Fonda Apartments ( a separate company). Luckily, 3 days before travelling I discovered this by contacting the hotel for some information, only to be told that they had no reservation for our party of 4. The hotel sorted it out, managed to squeeze us in and couldn't have been more helpful. BEWARE of agents, & book this hotel; a wonderful experience in a lovely village.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 258frankr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A lovely unique hotel in a stunning location. The secret door reveals an amazing homely yet beautiful terrace which leads into the central focal point of the pool. A well kept secret gem of a hotel!!
Breakfast is a treat with home cooked breads , cakes and pastries , homemade jams and preserves. Hot breakfasts are cooked to order , all overlooking spectacular ocean views . Amazing village location with the livelier marina a 10 minute drive away. Will be coming back again without a doubt !!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jokeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
647 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,492 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Visited on a Sunday with my wife for a relaxing night after walking past many times. On first entering the hotel it is apparent just how clean the place is. The reception is simple with its own little bar on the opposite side. Our room was on the third floor with a very small balcony overlooking the rear of the hotel with a beautiful view of the sea. The room itself is clean and well decorated but just missing something! There is a small pool that is technically inside the hotel however the sun does hit parts of it. There is a loverly little terrace that is communal for sunbathing on the third floor offering spectacular views with peace and tranquility mixed in, very pleasant.
We had however the most fabulous meal, we choose one of the tasting menus that to fair take about three hours to complete. The setting is yet again offering fabulous views in a very pleasant surrounding. The quality of the food was unquestionable and that view was also shared by some other dinners, who may I add completely wolfed the lot and sure ordered more :). The breakfasts are also perfect.
All in all a very pleasurable stay with friendly helpful staff, just something missing but not sure what, we will however return. Excellent .

Room Tip: Sea views are worth the small extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MULCASTER2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoetermeer
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Actually we didn't liked the hotel at all!
We even tried to cancel our 3th night but they told us, they would charge
it anyway
Room was very small, didn't recognize the pictures on their website.
Rooms were very noisy as well and hardly any storage.
Swimmimgpool extremly small and to cold.

Staff at breakfast and reception very kind. Breakfast was good.
Housekeeping arrogant!

Indeed the La Fuente restaurant arount the corner was great

So we won't return La Fonda.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dutch2721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.6 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#7 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,650 reviews
2.4 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,879 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Property: Hotel La Fonda
Address: Calle Santo Domingo 7, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing