We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Hotel La Fonda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Fonda
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We had four days staying at this beautiful hotel located just steps from the village square of Benalmadena Pueblo. The staff were friendly and the service excellent. Breakfast was really good offering a buffet style with the option for a cooked breakfast to order.
We will be going back again soon.

Room Tip: We upgraded to have a room with a balcony which had fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

STayed in this hotel for 4 night break mid August 2014. What a gem, Fantasic hotel and Staff amazing the little town of Pueblo is just perfect.

Staff really can not do enough for you right down to the cleaners. Rooms and the hotel spotless clean. I am in my early 30s and travelled with my mum mid 50's and it was great for 2 females always felt safe and away from the lively beach resorts. I would suggest that you use the local bus to export we went to Benalmadena marina one day it is approx. 1.55 euro per person each way its very busy and lots of shops. I was very glad I had picked to stay in Pueblo. Also went to Mijas by bus again only about 15mins by bus and a few euros pp each way. Lots to see and do . You can take a trip on donkey and cart or house and cart round the town of mijas and if you like shops you will be VERY happy. The leather items are amazing!!!!! But at the end of the day it was lovely to know that we would be returning to our little hotel of calm and relaxing . Hope to return in the very near future

Room Tip: We had room 105 it did not have a balcony but was right beside pool and very handy for the pool and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoAntrimGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This was out third (or is it fourth?) time at La Fonda. As always everything was exceptional; the views, pool, sun terrace, happy hour mojitos and staff.

The staff in particular can't do enough for you; unfortunately I needed an emergency doctor one morning. My partner rang reception and they organised it all for us and bought the doctor to my room. In addition, as it was a Sunday, the staff also helped my partner locate the nearest open pharmacy for my prescription, ordered him a taxi and had already told the taxi man where to go in Spanish when the taxi arrived. The next day and every other day of the holiday, the reception staff asked how I was doing and how I was feeling. We bought them some wine on our last day to say thank you.

I have written reviews on this hotel before and there is soooo much more to this hotel but, this time, I think the staff at La Fonda deserve my rave review!!!!!

Thank you La Fonda..

Xx

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank KB202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Having been completely ignored at the highly rated La Fuenta restaurant for 30 mins, moved next door in the hope of a decent lunch - and was delighted that we did. Entering the hotel reception it is far from obvious where the restaurant actually is - but having ventured down the steps was firstly surprised by the spectacular view and then a gorgeous shady whitewashed patio full of lime and pomegranate trees. Was served quickly by the hugely friendly waiter and ordered a sizeable selection of really quirky tapas dishes. All but one were spot on - really tasty, unusual and incredibly cheap for a four star hotel - most were only a couple of Euros. Include a lovely miniature hambuger with tiny little chips that delighted one of the children. The 'red prawns' were described as grilled - but appeared to be raw so left those alone - but that was the only dip in an otherwise terrific selection of food. I believe this is a cooking school - so maybe the unusual nature and low prices is a reflection of new chefs learning their trade - either way we loved it and highly recommend it. They also do a choice of 6 course 'tasting' menus - so plan to go back one evening to give those a go - they look fantastic.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Had a great stay in La Fonda in early august. This is a fantastic hotel, the staff were amazing, nothing was a problem for them. The breakfast was really good and as a coeliac I was well catered for, which was great. It's very well located in the centre of Benalmedana Pueblo.
It's a very clean hotel with a nice pool and sun terrace to sun bathe on
We also had dinner in the hotel on one of the nights and it was absolutely top quality, we had the taster menu ( there was 3 choices ), it was great value and extremely tasty, again as a coeliac I was well looked after.
There's no doubt I return again if visiting the area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scallioneater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Just back from our 6 night stay. After a Rocky start to our holiday we booked into this hotel at the last minute & the receptionist was more than accommodating for us (I never got her name). Staff are absolutely fantastic &will go out of their way for you. We had a lovely poolview room which was cleaned every day by the lovely cleaning staff. Breakfast was first class & plenty to choose from. We sunbathed on the terrace which has spectacular views of the coast. The only downside was we had to go home!!! We are already planning our next visit. We ate in el muro restaurant on our last night & it was the best we had all week. Its just a short trip from hotel approx 100 yards.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but the sea view is the most spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kaz2326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

we both stayed at this hotel brillant staff breakfast excellent loaction lovely please god we both will be back every year or twice a year the la fonda hotel is set in the old town of benalmadena with amazing views

Room Tip: booked room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gertie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Benalmadena
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
Hotel Pueblo - Boutique Hotel
#6 of 45 in Benalmadena
228 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
2.7 mi away
Vincci Seleccion Aleysa Hotel Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,999 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
1.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Resort & Spa Reserva del Higueron
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Fonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Fonda

Address: Calle Santo Domingo 7, 29639, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £74 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Fonda 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Fonda Hotel is situated in front of Mediterranean and in the most charming village of the cost of Málaga, Benalmádena Pueblo. Designed by famous artist Cesar Manrique canary, with which we can experience the sensation of being in an oasis La Fonda Hotel is your starting point to discover this charming Andalusian village, the mountains, sea and all the peoples of the coast. After a full restoration and decoration with the most advanced techniques, your new property has got a magical hotel. The use of wood, the harmony of spaces and the soothing sound of her sources have created an atmosphere present in every detail of the hotel, this is complemented by personalized service is key to his philosophy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel La Fonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Fonda Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing