We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Los Patos Park
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were very disappointed with this hotel - it was not a "cheap" holiday, yet it felt like a two star hotel. Crowds and queues all the time - the staff seeming to feel they needed to keep everyone in line - bossing you around as if you were a child at school! The restaurant was a bit of a bun fight - noisy, and competitive to get food! If you want a sun bed you need to queue for 45 minutes until they "kindly" open the gates and let you in! It felt like being back at school in many respects. Staff seemed to favour Spanish guests, and would merrily serve any Spanish in front of the British, even if they had only just appeared and you had been queuing for ten minutes! Quite stressful on many counts. Will not return! And... they do not provide towels for the pool, so if you do go, make sure you bring yours - not quite what I expected from a supposedly 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    884
    564
    216
    60
    44
See reviews for
1,323
189
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked this quite last minute, and having read some other reviews we were a bit apprehensive - however we were absolutely thrilled with this hotel. The water slides were the biggest attraction for my 2 boys, aged 7 and 10, and they made good use of them. The lifeguards were really lovely with all the kids, and very friendly. The rooms are a bit on the small side for a family of 4, but they are clean, towels are changed daily and there is plenty of hot water. We booked half board, and the choice of food was amazing - there were typically 4 or 5 meat dishes, 2 pasta dishes, a couple of rice dishes and then an enormous selection of cold meats, accompaniments and desserts. For breakfast, there was the usual selection of hot food ( with a microwave to warm it up), cereals, fresh fruit, breads and pastries. The food was delicious, and the service friendly and efficient. Another highlight for us was the Happy Hour in the bar, from 5-6! Despite what others have posted, we found the bar staff to be polite and helpful - in fact all the staff in the hotel were really great.
In conclusion, for the price we paid we thought the facilities and service at this hotel were absolutely superb. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in 403, which had a fantastic sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Samantha,

Many Thanks for sharing such a positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read comments like yours which clearly show the effort we daily make to offer the best possible service.
Thanks for pointing out the good disposition of our staff, the quality of our facilities, cleanliness and our wide variety of food at the buffet.

We would be delighted to welcome you and your family again at Los Patos Park in a future holiday.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

If your expecting a 4 star hotel, don't even look at this hotel.

friendly staff but this hotel is defenetly not a 4 star, it is maybe a 2 star hotel.
A hotel for elderly, they roll their eyes at the restaurant if your children making noise or taking food from the buffet.
Rooms are horrible and small, not cleaned properly, very old TV, not even working properly, I am sad that I have booked this hotel, wasted money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank a n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to send you our apologies for the bad experience you had at our hotel. Although we made a strong effort in changing you to a different room but you refused to do so; then you demanded to have an extra room but you only made the reservation for one, as a result of that we couldn´t fulfill your demand.

Regarding the TV, our maintenance technician came to your room straight after you complained, (advised by myself), stating that it had to be switched on before you could see any programs and that it works perfectly. Problem solved!!

Many thanks for your kind comments about our staff, I agree that they are very efficient and also many thanks for taking the time sharing your opinion about our hotel with us.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Queensferry, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Hotel stay 11-18 October 2013
Arrived evening with a request for as low a floor as possible as I have vertigo, only to be told we were on the 9th floor, this was soon rectified and put onto the first floor, great service.
This hotel definitely warrants the 4 stars, family of 3, spent most days by the pool, amazing pools, pool at the bottom by snack bar usually used by mature adults, second pool used everyday by my 4 year old son, fantastic pirate ship in the pool with slides and not too deep to worry about him with 3 lifeguards on duty who did an excellent job of keeping an eye on the kiddies, then onto the 3rd pool with slides who needs a water park when this is available in the hotel for free, again lifeguards on duty for safeguarding those big kids (men).
The food was good, breakfast not a varied selection but enough, we were half board - breakfast and evening meal - (we would have preferred evening meals to start from 6pm) - they start at 7pm - (but that's our personal preference having a 4 year old), thanks to Salvo for being such a great host in the dining room.
We had hoped there would be free Wi-Fi - but there is Wi-Fi available for one euro for 15 mins not too bad.
Hotel I agree needs updating but if this was done the price would have doubled, its clean and like the other reviews the maids do a great job of cleaning the rooms to a high standard.
Thanks for a lovely stay and we have recommended the hotel to everyone since coming home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Georgina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Georgina,

A Big Thank you for your review.
Reception staff was very pleased by your comments obviously.
We have a staff meeting tomorrow and I will use your review to show again how much our guests are happy when we help them during their stay.

Also I have noticed in your review that you would have liked free Wi-Fi, the things is ... We have!!!. Haven´t you noticed the Wi-Fi sign on the public area, next to reception? You only needed to ask any of us or at reception for the password and we kindly give it to you....

I hope next time you come and visit us you are able to take full advantage of it.

My best wishes for you and family and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This was our first stay at Los Patos Park, chosen for its location (close to the airport), as well as value for money. Although it was out of the main season, the hotel was reasonably busy with a mix of nationalities.

The hotel was spotless throughout with very clean rooms and an excellent maid service. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, with particluar mention for Floren at the bar, Salva in the restaurant and Lola on reception.

The food was good with a good salad selection and a mixture of main meals (red meat, chicken, fish, paella, pasta, pizza), which was more than enough for all the family (2 adults and a 10 year old).

We chose the all inclusive option and this was good value for both meals and the bar. The selection of drinks was good and the all inclusive was available from after breakfast through to midnight.

As things were a little quieter we didn't have to queue at any point and service was very good all round. The lifts were ok but I can understand why this may be a problem during busier times.

The waterpark was very good and provided entertainment throughout the day for all the family. This is a great feature and we used it everyday during our short stay. The hotel is around a 5 minute walk to the beach and 20 minutes to the main areas.

Overall a very good stay and we hope to return again at some point.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Short but Sweet !! Thank you for your very kind words.

It´s always great for the team to see that all their hard work is recognised!!

Best Regards


Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We have just this minute returned from our 4th holiday at Benalmadena this year and the 2nd holiday at Los Patos!
Everything was excellent....definitely 4 stars!!
We had a brilliant room on the 8th floor and had amazing views and a good sea view from our balcony. We had an initial problem with the door not locking and after we had mentioned this to reception....within the hour there was a knock on the door from maintenance to fix it which they did no problem!! Such was the efficiency of how this place is run!
Our room was cleaned every day. Our bed was made everyday and we had clean towels everyday. The cleaner worked her socks off and our room was always immaculate upon our return from a day out exploring!!
The food was excellent.We chose half board which was more than adequate. Breakfasts AND evening meal always lots to choose from and buffet type. We were spoilt for choice. The deserts were excellent!!!
Evening entertainment every night until 11.30 kept everyone entertained and not bad either!!.
The Waterpark within the hotel.....you have to see this to believe it...it is amazing..YOUR KIDS WILL LOVE IT!!! Whats more it is completely free!! It was in the throws of being built when we visited Las Patos in May and it was nice to return to see the waterpark finished. In the hotel there are 4 pool areas with 3 designated for the kids...and 2 within the water park....Lots of kids enjoying the park with the pirate ship and the chutes....lots of kids very happy with smiling faces having loads of fun whilst their parents were able to relax in the sun on loungers . No problem with sunloungers...always lots of them.
This is an exceptionally well run and well managed hotel and all the staff are extremely polite, helpful and professional.
The beach is about 10 mins walk from the hotel
We had a lovely time at Los Patos and our weeks holiday was simply not long enough!
We will definitely be returning in the future!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
What an amazing review!!

We rely heavily on word of mouth so we would like to thank you for sharing your positive experience.

Can´t wait for your third visit where we will certainly be pleased to show you our new improvements to our hotel.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strabane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Our pleasure at getting a rooftop terrace was marred by a smell , apparently from the sewer system , which was present there throughout the week . The antiquated tv didn't work at all for 24 hours and then only provided muffled sound and a grainy picture on two English-language channels . Room was small , lacked a bathrobe or slippers ( this is supposed to be 4-star ) , and I was surprised that there was a charge for using the safe . Food was poor : at least from a vegetarian viewpoint , but the menu seemed to change remarkably little for anyone from night to night . So every morning it was chips and beans for breakfast ! In the evening what vegetables there were , were almost always ruled out by the addition of miniscule amounts of meat , and dishes that might have been suitable were not labelled as such . Cleanliness and location , while not a major problem , were just fairly good . We didn't pay that much and if they were only claiming 3-star status , I might be less severe .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasound220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear customer,

I would like to apologize for your disappointment with the room you were allocated. We do have a rolling programme of refurbishment for our bedrooms starting on the 1st of November aiming an improvement of our standards.

Regarding our buffet, I accept that we don´t always get it right and that we will never please everybody but I am confident that on the whole we offer a quality product and service; however this is a department where we are continuously working on and has already shown a great improvement.

Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future then please contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally ensure we provide you with a more positive experience.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Quality Coordinator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
1.6 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Polynesia
Holiday Polynesia
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,877 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,083 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#13 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Patos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Patos Park

Property: Hotel Los Patos Park
Address: Calle Torrealmadena, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Patos Park 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the residential area of Benalmadena Costa, 250 meters from the beach and 8 miles from Malaga Airport, the Hotel Los Patos Park is situated in the perfect location to enjoy a wonderful holiday. Our water park offers a wide range of leisure facilities with an area measuring 3,000 m2 and a total of 4 swimming pools, offering guaranteed fun for the entire family and an unforgettable holiday. The water park consists of a lake, irregular shaped children'spool of and 750 m 2 of water surface, with water games for children: pirate Galleon with a double straight slide, extra wide shoot and a twisting slide tube, masts, sails, diffusers, water cannons and sandy beach. For the enjoyment of the little ones, there is a snake marina and shark slides, a mushroom shower, and a tower with two slides and a tipping bucket. One swimming pool for adults of rectangular shape, measuring 300 m2 of water surface, has a waterslide multitrack (4 tracks), a tube slide and 3 curved open and enclosed body slides in a themed area and a rock garden with Palm trees. To complete our water park, by the pool bar area there is a swimming pool for adults and another children's pools measuring 300 m2 of water surface. Kids and adults will also enjoy a varied daily and evening entertainment programme. Children aged between 5 - 12 years will have a great time at the Pirate themed Mini Club while adults relax at the sun beds area. SPECIAL GIFT FOR CHILDREN: Free themed Los Patos Park pool/beach towel for each child hosted. Fun guaranteed for all the family and an unforgetable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TravelUp, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Los Patos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Patos Hotel
Hotel Los Patos Park Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing