We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but there are issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Los Patos Park
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We spent 12 days in this hotel, with my wife and our daughter (2,5). We got a room at 3'rd floor from the pool side. We went half board. First of all, I am glad we were put on the third floor and not higher. A lot of people are mentioning this but the elevators in this hotel are really terrible. They are very small and can only fit 4 people inside or 5 if you really squeeze in. With a stroller no more than 2 adults will fit in. It can take you 15-20 minutes if you want to get down at rush hours. There are 9 floors in this hotel all served by 3 tiny lifts. Use the stairs if you can. During our 12 days stay there were times one of the elevators was broken which makes things even worse. Another issue is the rush hours. All the meals are served at certain hours so if you want to avoid waiting for the lift or a crowd in the dining area make sure you arrive 8am for the breakfast and 19pm for the dinner. Having breakfast at 8am gives you the benefit of being free at around 9am which is perfect for taking your place in the queue for the swimming pool. This is another thing. You really need to be down there not later than 9am (and wait until 10am when they open the pool) to get your sunbed. Once they open the gates the sunbeds are gone within 1-2 minutes. It's really crazy, people are running to get the best sunbeds. I don't think your holidays should be about that, it should be a time of relaxation and not having to rush for anything. Once you get your sunbed then you can relax a bit and use the pool. This is really great about this hotel, the pool is worth its money. Your kids will love it, so did our daughter. The only issue can be the water temperature. It's not heated so it might be a bit cold in the morning. It gets better as the day goes by. Our room was at the 3'rd floor which was just ok for not having to wait for the lift and carry our stroller down. The room itself was a bit worn and it could use some refurbishment. So could the hallways, the carpet on our floor was really dirty and old. Our room was looking over the pool side. It means that in the night time with the bar open it was noisy. I am guessing the street side would have been better. Very strange thing was that the room was missing a kettle. I have never been in a hotel room without a coffee/tea making facility. And this supposed to be a family hotel where people come with small children who eat/drink milk which requires warm water to prepare. I ended up buying a kettle form the gift shop for €12, you can also go to the bar every time and ask for some hot water. The food served in the dining area is good quality, everything is fresh and tasty. However it gets boring after a week as there is not enough variety in my opinion. I was also surprised that being half board I had to pay for drinks at dinner time. I understand wine or cola but can’t understand paying for water. The hotel Staff is really helpful and nice, that and the pool are the strongest point of this hotel. Overall we have mixed feelings about our holidays. On one hand our daughter loved it and you could not take her out from the pool. But the little things like the lifts, or standing in queue for one hour every day, or running for hot water to the bar leaves a bitter taste. I would probably not go back to this hotel and would look for something smaller and quieter the next time in in Spain.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PolakMaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your detailed review and sharing with us your experience.
I can actually understand the points detailed on your review and I can confirm (I´m not talking for the sake of talking) that we are actually working on it. The lifts will not be a problem anymore, during the winter coming we are going to build two more lifts with capacity for 10 people each; as for the queues in the water park I´m not too sure …. As the reason why people do queue is to get the best placed bed, not just a bed, and that will make people queue, even thou for next summer we will also have 200 sunbeds more apart from the 400 ones already existing.
In just one year … this hotel has suffer a dramatic change in all aspects (for the better) and it will not stop here…. You are the kind of customer that I would like to welcome back when most improvements are done and receive a new feedback, the most important matters are already in place (staff and pools) now we just have to better the minor ones and be perfect!!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again.
Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,898)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 1,898 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Returned on Sat 19th after 1 weeks AI with immediate family including my 2 grandsons age 7 &3. We deliberately chose this hotel because of the water slides and my eldest grandson was not dissapointed and yes if you want a pool umbrella and to be near to the water slides (to keep a check on your children) you do have to queue for the sun beds in the mornings but at least it is at a reasonable time (around 9 o'clock) and not like other hotels we have stayed in where you have to be up and out at the crack of dawn to get a bed. The pool guards did a really good job as at times, particularly late afternoon, the pool could be extremely busy with both adults and children using the slides.
The hotel although a little dated is immaculately clean and the cleaners do a wonderful job with clean towels every day and on a couple of occasions when the children slept late and we had the do not disturb sign on the door they came later in the day and cleaned the room.
The restaurant staff were lovely (Fernando) and there was very little, if any, waiting to be seated, the food was plentiful and stocked up regularly with quite a good choice, and for those who complain about the choices being repetitive how much variety do you have at home?
I did e mail Soraya to request a pool view on the 3rd / 4th floor and to her credit she did manage to arrange this for one of our rooms and the second room was on the same floor overlooking the car park, but to be honest we didn't mind so thank you for that Soraya.
I didn't visit the bar very often, but my daughter in law did find one or two of the staff to be quite ignorant in that they tended to serve the Spanish speaking guest more promptly.
Overall we had a lovely holiday in a really nice hotel and would not hesitate in recommending it to family and friends.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lynhoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Lyn,

We would like to Thank you for choosing Los Patos Park and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our hotel.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product and the efficiency of our staff to the needs of highly appreciated guests like you, thus offering the best services and facilities.

We are sorry about the down thing that you have stated, we are going to verify what happened in your stay here because this kind of complain is very unusual in our Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for mentioning the positive sides of your holiday and I´m very pleased that overall you all had great fun.

We hope that you return to Los Patos Park soon and we are able to show you the level of service we aim for.

Kind Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Went here in august. 2013 if was absolutely brilliant staff where friendly.food was amazing at breakfast and lunch not sure about dinner recommend this hotel to everyone also has an amazing waterpark and adults pool

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Bethan,

Thanks so much for your comments about our hotel and the friendliness of our Staff, we will transfer your positive comments to all our Team, and we love knowing that you enjoyed your stay in Los Patos Park.

Looking forward to your return where we can show you all our improvements.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just got back from 8 nights here with my Husband and 2 boys (7 & 5). This hotel was perfect for us, we stayed breakfast only which was good and staff work hard to seat u quickly at the busy times.
Pool - this is perfect ( having looked at some hotels where it's like a theme park ) it's not a huge area which suited us as u can always watch the kids. Never a queue for the waterslides, might be 1 person in front of you if that ! Yes, people queue for sunbeds, pool area opens at 10am and watching the queue from my balcony from 9am always made me a bit nervous but we found these people always wanted specific areas and had the same beds everyday. We always walked in at 10.05 once the queue had all gone in and never had a problem getting beds together.
Hotel- spotless, maids daily, all staff friendly.
If you speak to Soraya ( in her office ) you will find she is soo approachable and willing to help with any query you have - thanks for room request Soraya !!
We have really enjoyed staying here and would go back again !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank sunloverwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the time to provide us with your feedback about your recent stay with us at Los Patos Park****. We are delighted to learn your trip was fun. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast where the team at the restaurant works really hard and we are pleased that you found our hotel to be great for families.

Our goal is to make each one of our guest's holiday memorable and we look to please them by making sure they receive all the benefits they are expecting to enjoy during their time with us.

It will be our pleasure to have you as a guest again.

Best Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Outstanding in all respects. The water park is fabulous, great fun for all ages. Food was varied, plentiful and of good quality. ALL the staff were friendly, helpful, courteous and polite. They always smiled and Fernando "oh my god" such fun, always had a laugh with kids and adults alike.
Lifeguards were extremely vigilant. Kids club looked very well organised and well attended.
Rooms were cleaned to a high standard every day and towels changed daily. Hairdryers in the bathroom were great. Plenty TV channels on a good flat screen. Free Wifi (worked best in areas close to reception). Aircon was most appreciated.
There is the usual rush for sunbeds and parasols but it's like that everywhere.
I spoke to the Manager twice who thanked me for assisting a girl who had taken unwell and also for giving the hotel my business. I thought that was a lovely comment.
I highly recommend this hotel.

A MUST FOR THE LADIES - Visit Carmen Cova Terapias Naturales- 5 minutes walk from the hotel. A manicure plus nails painted only 8 euros and a back massage 18 euros. Fabulous.

Room Tip: I opted for a low floor pool view which was lovely. Sun on balcony most of the day until sundown. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Taitfamilyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear guest,

Allow me to express my gratitude for your detailed review and recommendations which help all the TripAdvisor community. I am glad to see that your experience was a positive one, highligted by the excellent service we pride ourselves on.

It is very motivating to read comments like yours, where we can see that our efforts are causing such a great impact on our guests and their experience, and in this particular case, voluntarily you helped us through with a customer in need of assistance. So We Thank You!!!!! We also recognize the great customers we have! Thank you very much for your lovely review and for going out of your way to help others.

We would really like to have you as our guest again.

Warmest Regards,

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Recently returned from a 10 days full board.
Good things:
-It's really good fun for the kids, even the small ones, My two years old loved it. The kids club was very good, a lot of activities and very enthousiastic people organising it.
-The beach is 2 min walk if you want a change from the swimming pool.
- People are very friendly and helpful,

Down things:
- If you have a car, you may have problems finding space to park and then you will get hassled by the security guard 'Juan' for money while parking in the hotel .
- The room is basic but clean

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2014

Dear Linda,

We would like to Thank you for choosing Los Patos Park and for bringing to our knowledge important impressions related to your visit to our hotel.

Your comments are our tools to improve and to adjust our product and the efficiency of our staff to the needs of highly appreciated guests like you, thus offering the best services and facilities.

We are sorry about the down thing that you have stated, we are going to verify what happened in your stay here because this kind of complain is very unusual in our Hotel.

Once again, thank you very much for mentioning the positive sides of your holiday and I´m very pleased that overall you all had great fun.

We hope that you return to Los Patos Park soon and we are able to show you the level of service we aim for.

Kind Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just recently returned from a 10 night all inclusive stay at the Hotel Los Patos Park and i must say we had a brilliant time. My 6 year old girl says its the bestest fun holiday she "ever" had. The pools are excellent for all ages and there is loads of lifeguards around at all times. The kids club was great and the girls in it do a fantastic job of keeping the kids occupied with lots of activities and pool games etc. The food was better than average, there was always something we would like and loads of pizzas for my little girl, so that kept her happy. The rooms were spotless and the maids were in every day. We would like to say a big thank you to Soroya who helped with our room request and made our stay even more special. All the staff were very friendly and welcoming.
Drinks were great and were all branded names not local, good choice of cocktails.
Only one little negative was the fact there was no shop in the hotel to buy newspapers, sweets etc and had to walk the whole 5 minutes down the road :)
Would definately recommend this hotel as it was superb for kids and big kids alike :)
Hoping to book up again for next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calidad D, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Los Patos Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Peter,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at Los Patos Park****.
We were delighted to welcome you as our guest and glad that you had an ejoyable time with us.
Your kind acknowledgment of our staff is much appreciated as it is nice to hear that our constant effort to provide efficient services reflects in our guests experiences.
We look very much forward to welcome you back next year for another Fantastic Holiday.

Kind Regards

Soraya Brown
Hotel Los Patos Park****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,999 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Benalmadena Palace
0.9 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
1.6 mi away
Playabonita Hotel
Playabonita Hotel
#17 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,295 reviews
2.8 mi away
Holiday Palace
Holiday Palace
#28 of 45 in Benalmadena
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Patos Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Patos Park

Address: Calle Torrealmadena, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Benalmadena
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Benalmadena
Price Range: £68 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Los Patos Park 4*
Number of rooms: 270
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the residential area of Benalmadena Costa, 250 meters from the beach and 8 miles from Malaga Airport, the Hotel Los Patos Park is situated in the perfect location to enjoy a wonderful holiday. Our water park offers a wide range of leisure facilities with an area measuring 3,000 m2 and a total of 4 swimming pools, offering guaranteed fun for the entire family and an unforgettable holiday. The water park consists of a lake, irregular shaped children'spool of and 750 m 2 of water surface, with water games for children: pirate Galleon with a double straight slide, extra wide shoot and a twisting slide tube, masts, sails, diffusers, water cannons and sandy beach. For the enjoyment of the little ones, there is a snake marina and shark slides, a mushroom shower, and a tower with two slides and a tipping bucket. One swimming pool for adults of rectangular shape, measuring 300 m2 of water surface, has a waterslide multitrack (4 tracks), a tube slide and 3 curved open and enclosed body slides in a themed area and a rock garden with Palm trees. To complete our water park, by the pool bar area there is a swimming pool for adults and another children's pools measuring 300 m2 of water surface. Kids and adults will also enjoy a varied daily and evening entertainment programme. Children aged between 5 - 12 years will have a great time at the Pirate themed Mini Club while adults relax at the sun beds area. SPECIAL GIFT FOR CHILDREN: Free themed Los Patos Park pool/beach towel for each child hosted. Fun guaranteed for all the family and an unforgetable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Patos Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Patos Hotel
Hotel Los Patos Park Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing