We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel andgood location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Hotel is very clean, maid service daily, restaurant is good too, range of different meals, spanish and english. Hotel is literally across from the beach. This area is very hilly therefore people with walking difficulties may find it difficullt to get around. Boat rides to Fuegirola, day trips to Gibralter and a short bus ride into Torremolinos. Overall fab holiday and would definitly return.
Aug 2010

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank angell173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (627)
There are newer reviews for MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 627 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Stayed here with my friend and her 4 year old son last year for a week. When we arrived we waited 20 minutes in a queue - which didn't bother us but they then served a spanish person who was stood at the back of us first! We were then told we had to wait for our room as it was not ready (waited almost 2 hours - not great for a very tired child). Bar staff & maids were very nice, food wasn't the best we'd ever eaten but there was a great wee restaurant called the horizon round the corner - great food at reasonable prices. What really annoyed us was the ignorant holiday makers (mostly spanish) who continually pushed my friends 4 year old out of the way at meal times when he was trying to get something to eat - several occasions he dropped his plate!!! We always found spanish people to be friendly but the people in this hotel were the execption to this. Certainly wouldn't reccommend this hotel but benalmadena was great plenty to do and see

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Sorry to say but this hotel really was not worth the price my friend and I paid. I was there for 11 days half bored. Although location wise it was perfect the actual state of the room me an my friend had was horrible. There were holes in the curtains and sheets and when you stay in a hot country you kind of expect air conditioning. I was shocked we had to pay for it (although you got your money back)...I was not told this and it did not say in the brochure, wasn't even told at reception. There was no hairdryer in the room, they expected us to pay for that as well (you do not get your money back). I ended up buying one for much cheaper than they wanted at a little store round the corner. The evening entertainment wasn't really up to much but the bar staff were really friendly (about the only staff members that were!). And as for check out, it was horrible. We were told 12pm on our reservation, the reception told us 11am but we were asked to get out at 10.30am. Our flight was 9PM !! I would not recommend this hotel and it is safe to say I won't be back. I recommend going further down the coast towards marbella and fuengirola.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illusion08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed at Hotel Balmoral in Benalmadena 28th July 2011 for a 4 night stay. Was a little nervous as hve not stayed here before.
We arrived late at 10.30pm to check in & the staff had prepared a cold meat dinner for us, we weren't that hungry but was very surprised that the hotel had done that.
Rooms are perfect really. VERY clean, nice bathroom & our room balcony was over looking the pool (527).
Breakfast was lovely, don't get there after 9am very busy.
Pool area is clean & has a lifeguard for the kids etc. Pool bar was reasonable prices and the hotel had free Wifi Area in the lobby.
Dinner was limited BUT was nice all the same.
Tip for u: the air conditioner in the room needs a remote control for it to work, at reception u can get one if u leave a 20 euros deposit, u get this back when u leave....I would advise in high season you need it as rooms get very hot.
This hotel is majority Spanish, but to be honest it didn't both us and a bonus to it is they arnt bug sun worshipers so the sun lounge beds are empty until about 11am so you have the choice of the whole pool.
The hotel is literally a 20 second walk to the beach & the same to lovely restaurants and even McDonalds.
Don't let the fact that it's mainly Spanish put you off, for the money this hotel is great if you compare the run down hotels that wanted the same money at high season. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ukjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on 17th June - 20th for a friends 40th Birthday. Paid around £75 each for half board. Hotel was spotless clean. Rooms standard hotel style with aircon which was 20euro deposit which was given back on return of the remote.
Showers were ace and had a great balcony (room 301) overlooking the pool. Lifts a bit annoying only 2 tiny ones but nothing to really moan about.
food was just average, breakfasts good (sausage, egg, bacon, tomatoes, beans etc standard full english stuff as well as cereal) evening meal was a different story i would class it as edible not enjoyable. Generally 1 fish dish 1 meat dish a potatoe dish and 1 veg choice then salads. If your a very plain eater you would struggle to find something to eat. To be fair its a 2 star hotel and was what i expected so can't really complain for the price.
Hotel location is great, towards the far end of Benalmadena plenty of local bars around for food and drink and right next to the beach. Taxi to the Marina (which has excellent nightlife) is 7 euros.
All in all i would recommend this hotel to people as long as you don't expect anything exciting on the food front.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank misscalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Just stayed for 1 week in this hotel. Great location as its very near toshops, restaurants and the beach which is great. Room was very clean, as well as the hotel. Service was good however staff were not the friendliest, they weren't rude, but just did their own thing and got on with it, which is great but its nice when the staff make a bit more effort. Food was the biggest let down for us as it was very basic and pretty much the same every night. It's what you would expect for a 2* so cannot complain about it too much, but if you like great restaurant service and nice food and variety on your holiday then this hotel may not be for you. Entertainment was what you would expect bingo, dancing etc not everyones cup of tea as it was more geared towards the Spanish as they get a lot of Spanish tourists that go there. Pool was good enough sunbeds etc.

Just a warning though there were A LOT of Spanish pensioners on holiday, as the Spanish government offer a cheap holiday to all Spanish pensioners and it has to be taken between October - June and this hotel is a popular one that they use, so the majority of people were elderly Spanish people who can be a bit rude, no manners, stare at you blatently, very loud, don't move out of the way when they can clearly see you.....but you just have to remember they are a different generation and don't have the same politeness as we British so we will notice it more, therefore try not to let that put you off as you can still get on with your holiday just fine as I did. There were also 2 groups of Spanish school children who were really loud and took over the pool area and hotel quite frequently. Kids will be kids of course, but nobody seemed to control them, and it did spoil it a bit when they were allowed by their teachers to run around screaming and shouting playing games outside past midnight...not good when you have an early start the next day!! Maybe we were unlucky in that respect as I don't know how often kids are at the hotel but just a warning!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nats_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We have just returned from a weeks holiday in the Hotel Balmoral and had a wonderful time. We have stayed in this hotel before and would certainly stay in it again. There are a lot of elderly Spanish people staying in this hotel which ensures that you have a quiet evening.
The food is basic and not a huge amount of choice however we always managed to find something to eat.
The hotel was very clean and the pool area well maintained. The staff were helpful and knowledgable about tourist attractions in the resort.
The location of the hotel is excellent, very close to the beach yet set back from the main road so you don't get any traffic noise.
All in all, a good value family hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, for maximum sunshine
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Clare3829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#21 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,912 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
846 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#14 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Arenas Hotel
Las Arenas Hotel
#2 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral

Address: Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £34 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing