We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

A good base. Excellent locatiion for Beach and bars. very basic but very clean. pool area is lovely and spacious. The biggest let down for us was the food. sorry to say even the breakfast was poor.If it was room only with a fridge i d return. They just need to get it right with choices of food. very much in favour of their spanish customers.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 660 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently and would have to say that I found it to be spotlessly clean, conveniently located near the beach, with buffet style meals available which consisted of good quality basic food. Staff were more than pleasant and helpful to me. The clientele consisted mainly of Spanish and were very friendly. The only negative thing I found was that the street from which one entered the hotel contained large rubbish bins from neighboring restaurants which were overflowing at night. All in all I found this hotel to be great value and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vesuvius52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

just to say how me and my partner enjoyed our 5 night stay at the balmoral food was good and the staff were friendly and kept the rooms clean and tidy can't wait to come bk myb in the summer of 2013 or myb for the new year

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cconroy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

just returned from a great week in Benalmadena. Balmoral hotel excellent for 2 star. Spotlessly clean and rooms cleaned and towels changed every day. negative side was the food - same food two nights on a row all week. not much choice on the dessert side but I suppose for a 2 star it was ok. Lots of Spanish and entertainment was really only for them, On the plus side it is very near the beach and lots of restaurants nearby including Mcdonalds. Bus stops just outside hotel, Had to hunt for somewhere for entertainment and found a bar called BUZBYS which provided excellent live entertainment every night and we were made very welcome by Mad Terry and Tommo{on the way to the marina just past the windmill roundabout}Benalmadena . Got fed up with the food in the hotel and found a smashing restaurant called Crumbles just round the corner from the hotel where the food is excellent. Benalmadena is a lovely place and a visit to the marina is recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing pool which also gives a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janettemccall46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just returned today from a short break stopping at this hotel.
Before I start I'm not a snob by any means.
The location of this hotel is only 100 yards or so from the beach...
The cleanliness of this hotel is spot on, no complaints...
That's it for the good....
The food is very poor very basic very bland.
The room is less than basic old tv only 2 english speaking channels. Air Con is extra if you want it plus you have to leave a deposit for the remote.
When leaving the hotel out the main entrance your met with a strong stench of over flowing waste bins and piles of dog sh_t...!!
We went into the hotel restaurant twice a day but ended up eating elseware... We've been to this resort many times and stopped at different hotels everytime and this was by far the worst were just glad we only stayed for 3 nights...
We hope this helps.

Brad n Wendy....

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Madbrad1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed here August 2012 for 7 nights. 2 Adults.
We were originally looking for room only in the Benalmadena area but this hotel is only a few pounds more for full board so opted to try that.
The rooms have been modernised recently and are basic but very comfortable with excellent aircon. Bathroom nice with bath with shower, toilet and bidet. Room cleaned very day, towels and bed linen changed every 3 days.
Pool view room on 6th floor with great see view and sun all day.
Would avoid the rooms the other side of the hotel - especially anything lower than the 4th floor since you are overlooking a rather dingy back street.
The hotel inside is pretty modern which is nice - it is classed as 2 star but is more like 3 star.
The food in the hotel was a basic buffet, with limited choice and a canteen feel. Then again this is all you can expect for a 2 star. We only went there for one evening meal and one breakfast and unfortunately were not impressed. So we had breakfast and evening meals at one of the many good value for money restaurants near the hotel (breakfast 4 euro each and 12.50 euro each for 3 courses !).
You pay a deposit for the safe and the aircon (plus 2 euro per day for the aircon - which you definitely need !).
The hotel is predominantly Spanish, as is the entertainment, so is definitely not for British families.
British adults looking for a convenient base is fine.
The hotel has a kids pool and a main pool. Neither are that big, nor the hotel grounds.
The sun beds are never full but a lot of them need chucking out since they are worn out and appear to have been buckled by an elephant.

The main drawback is that the hotel entrance is on a small, quiet dark road behind a few restaurants - one a McDonalds which means the hotel entrance is on a poorly lit road directly opposite the rear of those restaurant's bins . So the hotel doesn't have a grand entrance and can be a bit scary place to be after 12 at night. So would strongly suggest you always make sure you don't come back to the hotel after midnight on your own, definitely only when there are 2 or more of you.

Of course, the upside is that the hotel is very near the Playa de BilBil beach (its across the road) and the hotel is near lots of restaurants and bars. A very short walk away is the beach promenade with even more bars and restaurants.
You can walk on this promenade to the Benalmadena Marina which has a lot more bars and restaurants in around 30 minutes.

The area is not suited to those looking for a lively nightlife but is good for those looking for a family resort with a nearby beach and a reasonable amount of bars and restaurants.
However, we went to the 24 hour square on the main Torremolinos to Benalmadena road one night which is a collection of very lively pubs, nightclubs and strip joints for those looking for a clubbing type experience. It takes about 30 minutes to walk there from the Balmoral or 5 minute bus trip for 1 euro 40 cents, taxi is about 6 euros.

Another option is the Benamadena marina which is a mixture of higher quality restaurants and bars and shops beside a marina. As I said before you can walk to this along the busy beach promenade from the Balmoral in around 30 minutes - however I wouldn't walk this way after 1am when it becomes deserted.

We went for a trip to Benalmadena pueblo which is a traditional town in the mountains which also has a Buddhist temple nearby. 3 euros on the bus next to the hotel takes about 20 minutes. Lovely little streets and a square to sit and have lunch while watching the world go by.

If you do stay in the hotel then you will feel a bit like you are invading a Spanish holiday.
The hotel entertainment at night is Spanish so do not expect evening entertainment.

The bars in front of the hotel overlooking the beach charge 1.50 euro for a pint of lager, the hotel pool bar charged 3 euros - so you know where to go for a beer !
We asked to keep our room until 5pm and this cost 30 euro which was convenient,
We just got Taxi transfers to/from airport - 25 euro each way. Far better than bus transfers. There is a taxi rank around the corner from the hotel.

All in all had a good value week's holiday for 2 adults.
Sure there are better more expensive hotels in the area but if you are looking for a good value base and don't want a hotel based holiday and want to go out in the evening and eat out then you will have a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickHurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed there this year for the third time. It is listed as 2 star, don't know why? We love this place, it is very reasonably priced, spotlessly clean, very peaceful, no rush for sunbeds , loads always available, perfect for couples, overlooking the beach and some fab restaurants , almost entirely adult guests on all our trips, excellent food but can be busy at breakfast time if you are late down,Mike.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,998 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
THB Torrequebrada Hotel
#16 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,277 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral

Address: Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £34 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing