We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Las Arenas Hotel(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Betania(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
El Greco(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Velazquez(Benalmadena)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
148
265
180
57
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
265
180
57
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardspanish pensionersstar hotelair conchanged everydaybars and restaurantssky newsfresh fruitclean hotelminute walk to the marinarooms are basicbus stopplenty of choicelovely walkclean towelsporksea front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
290 - 295 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

First time at this small hotel just outside the centre of Benalmadena.. Very close to the beach, shops and restaurants and for anyone who enjoys promenading perfect for a 20min stroll to the marina and centre of the resort. The interior and rooms are immaculately maintained, and although not the Ritz, this is a pleasant place to stay. Meals are typical of many in Spain, ie varied and not "English" but of good quality, with sufficient for most tastes. Perhaps a little more choice of mains but ok for our palate. Not a lot for the kids, apart from swimming pool and table tennis, but this could be due to our visit being late October. Probably more going on summer months. Good value for money and having stayed at several hotels in this area pleased to say rooms etc are amongst the cleanest. As stated not the RItz but very well turned out.

Room Tip: All rooms overlooking the pool have a good side view of the sea and mountains and have a balcony.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lancslads4917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have just returned from the hotel balmoral,we read all the reviews before going and decided to give it a go,the hotel is spotless,the position is really good as well,thats where it ends,the reception staff are really friendly but hardly any english spoken,the cleaners were also very friendy and went out of their way to be helpfull,there was a fantastic barman,a big jolly fellow,but the rest of the bar staff and all the dinning room staff were positvely hostile,they didnt want the english there,the food was so so,but i have to say the breakfast they serve is on oif the best on the del sol,real sausages,as soon as all the older spanish left the hotel,the food became sloop,really discusting,the sun beds were unusable just one position and very saggy,hardly anyone used them,There are some really friendly bars just round the corner who cant do enough for you,its a shame becuse we wanted to like the hotel,but will most def not be going back.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank devondave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The first thing to note is the misrepresentation of the hotel front photo on your trip advisor page for this hotel as it bears absolutely no resemblence to the actual hotel. The hotel is tucked in a street behind the main promade road with smelly public litter bins only yards from the main entrance and the facade is far the modern one displayed in the photo. We spent last week in this Hotel- which we understood from travel agent was a 3 star but turned out to be a 2 star - and were not happy with anything about the hotel really. It was 100 yards from beech but that was of no interest to us preferring to stay beside a pool. The place was obviously refurbished (badly) in the last couple of years but we had plaster chipping off the room ceiling and woke up every day to our balcony littered with paint/plaster coming off the balcony ceiling. The room was basic but cramped between beds and dressing table, no fridge or room wi-fi and had an old TV with remote that didnt work . We were on half board but found the food was very poor every day and a real smash and grab. The lawns area around the poolside were grassless for the most part and cigarette butts littered all over. The sun loungers were years old, discoloured and feet & bum dented. On top of all this we never saw a TCook rep from one end of the week to the other and found out at airport on way back that Rep visits were by appointment only for that week. Most of residents were Spanish or Italian and only a handful of english speaking. All in all we will certainly not return to this hotel again and would not recommend it to middle aged or senior people.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

A good base. Excellent locatiion for Beach and bars. very basic but very clean. pool area is lovely and spacious. The biggest let down for us was the food. sorry to say even the breakfast was poor.If it was room only with a fridge i d return. They just need to get it right with choices of food. very much in favour of their spanish customers.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed at this hotel recently and would have to say that I found it to be spotlessly clean, conveniently located near the beach, with buffet style meals available which consisted of good quality basic food. Staff were more than pleasant and helpful to me. The clientele consisted mainly of Spanish and were very friendly. The only negative thing I found was that the street from which one entered the hotel contained large rubbish bins from neighboring restaurants which were overflowing at night. All in all I found this hotel to be great value and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vesuvius52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews