We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such an underrated hotel.... worth more than 2 stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 25 June 2010

great hotel. worth well more than 2 stars. i would rate it 4 stars maybe but would definitely stay there again. the food was somewhat awful but. we went to restaurants around the local area almost every night. one of the nights we stayed there was a "san juan" festival on the beach which was pretty rubbish as we were with school. malaga is a short trip and i would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michaelconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

Hotel is in great location just off the sea front and a short walk to the marina with all the shops, bars and restaurants. Room was OK, walls very thin so can be a bit noisey at times, cleaned daily and had central heating which we needed as the weather was awful, torrential rain the whole time we were there.
The food left a lot to be desired. It was all aimed at the majority of visitors who were Spainish OAPs. Everything was sloppy, tasteless and lukewarm and not much choice.
Hotel was clean and pleasant and a good base, staff were helpful provided you were over 65 and Spanish !
Good hotel for price we paid but you really need to eat out.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LadyPMancheser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2010

The Balmoral is situated in a good position, just across the road from the beach and near to local bars and restaurants, bus stop and taxi rank. It is also clean and modern. We did not eat there so cannot comment on the food but the bar prices seemed reasonable.
However we found out that it was part owned by the Spanish government and as such plays host to large parties of pensioners, schoolchildren and special needs groups. Whilst we were there we had parties of the two latter and as such could not use the pool facilities as it was too crowded and the grounds of the hotel were at one point used as a football pitch.
It did spoil our enjoyment and we felt that this policy should have been made clear in the hotel information.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank helena55southeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

Returned yesterday after a week long stay at the Hotel Balmoral. It is ideally situated at the quieter end of Benalmadena, only 1 minute from the beach and bus stops to Torremolinos and Fuengirola. Also a taxi rank around the corner, and on the flat !
The bedroom we had overlooked the pool and sea, and got the sun all afternoon and into the evening, with good views from the balcony of the sea and mountains. The bedroom itself was well furnished, spotlessly clean and modern, with a modern en suite bathroom and air con should it be needed. All public areas of the hotel were spotlessly clean, including outside areas and pool, which was cleaned every morning. Internet access and a hairdressing salon are located on the lower ground floor. The hotel caters for mainly Spanish guests, many of them in the older age bracket. In my opinion, this was much better than being surrounded by 'lager lout' Brits who have little or no respect for the fact that they are actually holidaying in SPAIN and not BRITAIN. Reception staff were exceptionally helpful, informative and pleasant with good English spoken. Items such as kettles, fridges etc can be hired for a very reasonable charge from reception should they be required. Remember, tea making facilities in rooms are very uncommon in Spain, even in hotels with a larger star rating. The food was plentiful, with the restaurant again being very clean. Full choice at breakfast, bacon, eggs, cereals, fruit etc etc. Evening meal consisted of a salad bar, cold meats and cheese, numerous hot dishes, vegetables etc, with a complimentary drink of water or red or white wine with every evening meal. The entertainment was mainly geared up for the Spanish, but the seperate bar lounge and outdoor pool area provides a comfortable place to sit and enjoy a drink after dinner. If you fancy a change of scene, many small restaurants and bars close by offer reasonably priced dinner menus. We ate one evening at the 'Last Resort', which provided an excellent inclusive dinner menu. For anybody that can find a genuine complaint with this hotel, considering what they pay to stop there, they must be VERY hard to please.We have previously stayed at the 4 star Alay Hotel in Benalmadena, and it was awful, not a patch on this fantastic, value for money hotel. Would stay there again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ballroomlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2010

After reading the bad reports for this Hotel from a number of people all i can say is GET YOUR MONEY OUT. This hotel is crazey cheap, location is perfect, Its clean and the staff are friendley. Yes the place can be full of elderly Spannish but there no different to elderley English. I look at the food at this hotel as being free as the cost for a room is cheeper than most self catering hotels in the area. Ive been three times to this hotel and yes ive only ever eaten toast or the odd boiled egg with a cup of tea or coffee, but then again i dont like the way 90% of spannish hotels prepair English food so allways eat out. an elderley couple who were with our party ate in the hotel every mealtime and liked the food, as i say not to my taste but there you go, Im lucky enough to go on holiday about 5 times a year and have stayed in some 4 star hotels all over the world that dont match up to the Balmoral, I sugest the tight wads who moaned about this Hotel dip deeper into there pockets and look at 4 or 5 star Hotels in future.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
5  Thank stevieboyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

A 2star hotel that does exactly what it says. Predominantly used by the older spanish tourist but don't let that put you off. The staff on reception speak English amongst a number of european languages and are happy to help. The rooms are spotless as is the whole of the hotel and when we needed extra pillows - not aproblem. The food is basic and sometimes not what your used to but when in Rome. Juan/Pepe some of the barmen will help you with your spanish and reciprocate in english. Mila the entertainments guru encourages english people to participate but few actually go which is a shame because we won four glasses of champagne in the quizzes and nearly won the bingo. Bottom line is it's quiet, it's friendly and if you participate with just a smattering of spanish they will welcome you.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinjoLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2009

I like to spend Christmas away and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Thank goodness I didn't read reviews before I went as it would have put me off. The cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional, our room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. The food was excellent with something for everyone, cooked breakfast, cereals, cold meats and cheeses with a choice of juices and lots of breads/rolls. Lunch and dinner were similar, there was always soup plus three or four choices and loads of fresh fruit. how anyone could complain is beyond me. On Christmas night we had a gala dinner which was table service, the menu was perfect, there was unlimited wine and we all had a glass of champagne, this was included in our price, many other hotels had additional charges for their gala dinners. It was mostly Spanish people in the hotel but as I was in Spain that didn't surprise me!! We made friends with many people and enjoyed each others company. The week we were there it totally poured down, however that didn't spoil anything. The location of the hotel was perfect for the bus up and down the coast there is a taxi rank just round the corner from the hotel and the beach is across the road. The staff at this hotel do an excellent job and are very friendly and helpful. It is one hotel I would not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScotlandMyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,014 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Siroco
Hotel Best Siroco
#8 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,354 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#9 of 45 in Benalmadena
3,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Best Triton
Hotel Best Triton
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,888 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Ibersol Alay
Hotel Ibersol Alay
#18 of 45 in Benalmadena
454 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral

Address: Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £38 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing