We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must try the Bal moral”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed for 4 nights 13/707 to a7/07/07. as a 2 star, the only thing that stops the Balmoral from being a 3 star, is in our opinion, the food. I thought the food was acceptable, but Lucy wasnt keen. Not a lot of choice, and always chaotic at peak meal times. Get in early. Food aside, our rooom, 729 on top floor,was excellent, with a cracking view of the sea. It was spacious, very clean to a high standard. Staff friendly and helpfull, not much happening in the evening, but there plenty of bars within minutes. Tends to cater for the spanish tourist. Will definately go again. Thourghourly enjoyable break.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank perrylucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2007

We stayed at the Balmoral and there were 6 adults and 2 children. The hotel itself is very close to the beach, literally across the road, however there is a McDonalds just across from the front entrance and they gather rubbish there, so as you walk you can smell the lying rubbish. The hotel itself is VERY clean and we give all credit to the cleaning staff. The receptionists arent very welcoming and the hotel is really mainly for Spanish. We came to the conclusion it was a holiday place for spanish who come from inland to come to the coast. The rooms are fine, comfortable and have all the necessities. The food however is another story. The plates, cups, cutlery are not very clean. The food os not of a wide variety. You get chips every day and the meat is not presented in an inviting manner, ie fish with eyes, chicken on the bone, well at least we assume it was chicken! The dining hall or "canteen" was not air conditioned so be preapred to feel like you are fighting your way through to get any food. They serve you baps which are stale and the juices served with breakfast are like syrup. We really felt very limited to our choices especially with children. I do have to say that we stayed full board and if you really want to stay I would stay half board, as there are lovely british cafes litreally 5 minutes around the corner at the front, which for very cheap you have a wide choice. We ended up eating out for at least one meal a day as that was our highlight regarding food. The Bar staff are very nice and water etc costs around 1.50 euro per drink, so bring plenty of money as you drink all day. The lifts to all the floors are tiny, we actually had to send our luggage up and one of us stayed to collect it. In fact one of the lifts broke down and your chance of getting it then was minimal. The reception staff really do not understand english very well, in fact when we ran out ot anything and phoned down they would put the phone down as they just didnt understand. The pools are cleaned every morning, however the lifeguard was hopeless, in fact during our stay and 18month old child fell in the baby pool and the dad had to get them as the lifegurad was no where to be seen. Also a majority of the spanish residents were very cold towards any tourist especially english speaking, as they would literally walk through you or steal your sun loungers in our experience. overall the hotel is a cheap option to be cntral as there are bus stops, beach, cafes, some shops, supermarket and a chemist all around the corner within walking distance, but I would recomment that if staying you stay half board or if you can self catering, do not pay full board as you will not eat the food on offer every day all day of your stay.

Stayed: July 2007
6  Thank susanstevenson2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

Stayed: June 2007
6  Thank mollietrix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2007

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank Deb_Bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2007

Stayed: July 2005, travelled with family
6  Thank angelrose2k6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2007

Stayed: January 2007
7  Thank Julisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank burky1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benalmadena hotels
0.6 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
MedPlaya Hotel Bali
#20 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,976 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Beach Club
Sunset Beach Club
#10 of 45 in Benalmadena
2,988 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Villasol
Hotel Villasol
#29 of 45 in Benalmadena
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Best Benalmadena
Hotel Best Benalmadena
#12 of 45 in Benalmadena
1,364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel San Fermin
Hotel San Fermin
#26 of 45 in Benalmadena
860 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mac Puerto Marina Benalmadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral

Address: Calle Albatros 1, 29630, Benalmadena, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Benalmadena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Benalmadena
Price Range: £33 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral 2*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Balmoral is located in Benalmadena on the Costa del Sol, just 50 metres from the beach and a short distance away from the Port of Benalmadena , which is a fantastic complex of bars, shops and restaurants surrounding the marina . Nearby is also the Paloma Park which is a wonderful green large park ideal for strolling through or relaxing in the lovely climate of the Costa del Sol. The hotel is ideal for both families , friends and couples, and has 210 rooms distributed over 7 floors , with the vast majority of the rooms having excellent views of the Mediterranean sea. The Hotel Balmoral has two swimming pools, one for children and the other for adults. The attractive swimming pool area has sun beds for guests along with tables with umbrellas for relaxing by the pool and enjoying the bar service available. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas of the hotel. The hotel's restaurant offers buffet style dining with a wide range of regional, Spanish and international dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
MedPlaya Hotel Balmoral Benalmadena, Costa Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing